Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rainbow Dreams Academy

Charter | K-5 | 239 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

165 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 12, 2014

My boys are very unhappy at this school, they do not give the kids recess if they talk during lunch, there is no principal at the school just an assistant principal. I went to the school one day and they did not have either one of my kids health records on file. This school needs someone to come in a really clean it up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

This my daughters first year at Rainbow Dreams Academy and we are both excited. I can count on my hands how many schools offer all day kindergarten. I do not understand our school district in Nevada because Head Start is such a vital key element to a child's education. By learning the early stages of learning all kids can have a jump start and are less likely to have difficulty's. The school district does offer all day kindergarten for the price of $375.00 which is unacceptable in my book. Public schools are not private so I do not understand the outrageous fee charged for a free education. I will close by saying that Great Schools produce great leaders and that is why I have chosen Rainbow Dreams Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2012

All about the money!! No real leadershpi. To many cheifs and not enough indians. Very cliquish... constant staff turnover?? Principals and teachers??? When that is going on you really need take that as your clue that something is wrong and save you and your child the headache. (See the comment below also). The best thing that ever happended to this school was Roxy Davis but they couldnt see it..smh! God Bless them.... Signed former parent !


Posted October 28, 2012

Withdrew my son from this school this year...No consistency w/ the principal or teachers at this point. Hopefully they can turn it around soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Wonderful teachers who push the students to always go beyond the norm.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

I love Rainbow dreams Academy because it has been a real treat to see them prepare the students for brighter futures. Rainbow Dreams scholars will be our next politicians, lawyers and doctors. Great Job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

This is a great school. The leadership is great and they inspire the children to believe in themselves.


Posted November 3, 2009

They are focused on using education as a vehicle that fuels tomorrows success.


Posted November 3, 2009

Give at risk kids opportunities and opens their eyes to the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

The teachers and staff are like family! Each child is made to feel safe,respected and supported to do his or her best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

I love Rainbow Dreams. Diane Pollard does a lot for our commuity and Rainbow Dreams. I have faith in the school and Mrs. Pollard. I have had the first hand experience watching the children perform. This school and it's teacher are amazing!! I believe in the mission and philosophy! Great Job to Diane and her TEAM! My God continue to bless you with your VISION.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

Rainbow Dreams focuses on raising the expectations of all of its students. Studies have shown that when children are told they can succeed and are treated with expectations of great performance, they rise to the expectations. Rainbow Dreams teaches children to believe in their capacity for greatness!


Posted November 3, 2009

The staff is very dedicated and it shows through the eyes of the students.


Posted November 3, 2009

Rainbow Dreams is a wonderful school. Rainbow Dreams inspires each child to reach for their dreams. Thanks Rainbow Dreams Academy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

Rainbow Dreams Academy provides our community with an educational opportunity that surpasses any other school. Children are nurtured to believe in their ability to excel and succeed!


Posted October 25, 2009

Everday the studets recite the RDA creed and I think it's a great motivation to start the day.The school is very culturally enriched and the teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

I love Rainbow Dreams because it provides a quality education in an intimate setting. My child has been ther for 2 years now, and is excelling in leaps and bounds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

Because of the 'vision' the founder has for these children to suceed in life. The care and learning they get reminds me of what school once was and should always be.


Posted October 20, 2009

Rainbow Dreams has been a wonderful school to our family. My little cousin attends there and she has made great strides in her education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

I commend the efforts of staff and administration of Rainbow Dreams Academy for their commitment to educational excellence and smart growth based upon the educational needs of the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
Female46%
Malen/a
Black/African American57%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch55%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities54%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English54%
Not migrant53%

Reading

All Students45%
Female46%
Malen/a
Black/African American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch48%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities46%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English46%
Not migrant45%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
Female72%
Malen/a
Black/African American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch65%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities67%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English67%
Not migrant67%

Reading

All Students72%
Female84%
Malen/a
Black/African American72%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch78%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English72%
Not migrant72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female67%
Malen/a
Black/African American68%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch71%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English68%
Not migrant68%

Reading

All Students54%
Female58%
Malen/a
Black/African American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch50%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities57%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English54%
Not migrant54%

Science

All Students54%
Female50%
Malen/a
Black/African American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch50%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities57%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English54%
Not migrant54%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 88% 10%
Two or more races 8% 5%
Hispanic 4% 40%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
White 0% 37%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/A54%
Male 38%N/A51%
Female 62%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

950 West Lake Mead Blvd
Las Vegas, NV 89106
Phone: (702) 638-0222

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT