Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sister Robert Joseph Bailey Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 6, 2013

my oldest 4 kids attended Bailey and my last baby is entering Kindergarden this year, this school is the absolute best! Mr. Sesto really cares! the staff show they care and have been very proactive in their education. I have stayed in my home mainly to avoid changing their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2011

My children have been attending SRJ Bailey Elementary for the past 4 years. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Bailey. I can't say enough about how wonderful the Principal, Asst. Principal, staff and teachers are. I volunteer there twice each week and have always been so impressed with their love of teaching. The teachers go above and beyond to make each student feel important and wanted. My children have always had excellent experiences (even when they weren't the best behaved). We have a zone variance to attend Bailey and I wouldn't have it any other way. The education is superior, the atmosphere welcoming. You won't be disappointed if you send your child here. I feel that the Principal's leadership can make or break a school and Dr. Mayorga sets an excellent example to everyone. The teachers go above and beyond to help each and every student. They are willing to work with a parent to do what is best for each and every child. They continually amaze me with the lengths they are willing to do in order to help these children learn. It is surprising to find that, especially from public school teachers. It is not just one teacher, but SEVERAL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2011

Ms. Barkley was a great teacher for my daughter. We are were very blessed that we had a teacher who was willing to invest time and speak with us about any needs to improve the education of our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

I can't say enough about how wonderful Ms. Heineken is. She is a kindergarten teacher at Sister Bailey and we feel so blessed that our child is in her class. Ms. Heineken truly cares about the children. Not only the children in her class but the others in the school as well. We have an older child as well and Ms. Heineken is as wonderful with him as she is with the kindergartners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

My child attends Bailey Elementary school this year and is in Kindergarten! Ms. Barkley is a FABULOUS teacher and I would recommend her to anyone who is nervous about a child transitioning from home to school. She always has a smile on her face and is warm and very loving. The office staff is polite and always there if you have any questions. My child is constantly talking about the principal and assistant principal and I know they are very involved in the classroom experiences. I could go on and on! Thank you Bailey staff for making my child's learning experience a memorable one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2010

This schools kinder program is Great! i like the fact that only students are allowed behind the closed fence/playground. however, the counselor for the students is unprofessional & arrogant! i pulled my child from this school as i felt the counselor was trying to have an unhealthy relationship with my child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

I love Sister Bailey. It's a wonderful School. Everyone is so friendly and all the staff at the school. I volunteer there and I love how everyone is so friendly and caring for the kids. The education is excellent. They provide alot of stuff for the kids to further their education. I love this school and I recommend it to anyone. The Assistant Principal is so caring and the Principal she is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2008

It's awesome and has the best assistant principal ever. He knows the kids and parents and is very supportive of the teachers.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
41%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

150 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female74%
Male65%
Black/African American52%
Asiann/a
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch67%
Full price82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Students with limited English proficiency62%
Proficient in English73%
Not migrant69%

Reading

All Students56%
Female70%
Male43%
Black/African American44%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch55%
Full price64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities63%
Students with limited English proficiency53%
Proficient in English58%
Not migrant56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female67%
Male69%
Black/African American58%
Asian81%
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian71%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch63%
Full price83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Students with limited English proficiency57%
Proficient in English72%
Not migrant68%

Reading

All Students73%
Female74%
Male72%
Black/African American67%
Asian86%
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian82%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch69%
Full price86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Students with limited English proficiency49%
Proficient in English81%
Not migrant73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female66%
Male72%
Black/African American41%
Asian77%
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch69%
Full price69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities71%
Students with limited English proficiency55%
Proficient in English73%
Not migrant69%

Reading

All Students65%
Female62%
Male68%
Black/African American41%
Asian69%
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch66%
Full price64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities71%
Students with limited English proficiency31%
Proficient in English75%
Not migrant65%

Science

All Students58%
Female48%
Male65%
Black/African American45%
Asian65%
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch61%
Full price51%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities62%
Students with limited English proficiency35%
Proficient in English64%
Not migrant58%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 43% 40%
Black 20% 10%
White 18% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 13% 6%
Two or more races 5% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4525 Jimmy Durante Blvd
Las Vegas, NV 89122
Phone: (702) 799-7510

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT