Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
48 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 70 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Nevada Virtual Academy
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
The school needs to take into account the invidual needs of each student instead of basing on a whole. The teachers work from home for christs sake, why not?

Nevada Virtual Academy 2

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
Definitely has gone down hill over the years. Both my wife an I work nites yet still must conform to public school hours with home school. Kind of defeats the purpose of home schooling. Mandatory class connects now? Where a lot of gibber gabber of the teachers with pointless rants and waste of time that could be use as productive learning. 2 teachers for one classes make alot of things confusing. Loss of funding is completely understandable as weve seen a steady decline in the homeschool as a whole. We have been with nvva for several years. Im starting to doubt the excellence the strive to portray vs public school this year.


Nevada Virtual Academy 5

Posted March 13, 2015
- a student
I love this school and there is no better school.I've been at this school for a month that is enough to know how great this school is. The teachers there are nice, the staff are amazing i love my school. Plus im a kid i know what kid want their school to be like.

Nevada Virtual Academy 5

Posted February 11, 2015
- a parent
As a 7 year veteran Learning Coach with with 2 students, 4th and 8th, I am so thankful for the school choice option NVVA provides! The admin and teaching staff has showed our family tremendous support. Parents interested in virtual learning need to understand that the role of Learning Coach is as a Teacher working with and on a team with other Teachers. Your success is determined by your commitment.

Nevada Virtual Academy 5

Posted August 08, 2014
- a parent
I love this school. My son is about to start fifth grade, his third year, at NVVA. The field trips during the school year are organized by the teachers,and there is one every month. At least for fourth grade there was one every month. The school district here in Vegas has placed 50th for the past three years and I know for a fact that they do not have the resources to teach the students anything close to what k12 curriculum offers. I know the time the students have to put into the lessons can be overwhelming and challenging, but I would prefer that for my son over going to a school that can't provide a curriculum with high expectations. I have always encountered encouraging teachers and staff always willing to help in any way they can.


Nevada Virtual Academy 1

Posted April 20, 2014
- a parent
This school is not good. There was a bullying incident where the Staff and Faculty did nothing about it. THERE ARE A LOT OF DRUGS THERE!!If you do not want your child to become involved with the wrong crowd and hate bullying, I do not recommend sending your child there.

Nevada Virtual Academy 1

Posted April 05, 2014
- a teacher
The Nevada Virtual Academy is currently attempting to phase out their Foundations courses that are taught by special education teachers for special needs students, who need extra support. The school is becoming extremely academic focused and is losing sight of the fact that these heightened expectations, while beneficial in the long run must be effectively and smoothly transitioned to students. There are a number of very effective measures that have been instituted, including but not limited to face to face tutoring and more CRT/HSPE preparation available in live tutoring setting and virtual. It is my impression from working with Nevada Virtual Academy, that despite taking full federal and state grant funded programs that its administration and school board are very private in their practices. It is my belief that a public charter school should be open to public board meetings, where parents and teachers are invited monthly. One of the challenges that many failing students will face next year is the inability to return. It is with great hope that these students who view Nevada Virtual Academy as their best chance of graduation are seen as much more than just a number.

Nevada Virtual Academy 1

Posted March 15, 2014
- a parent
This used to be my daughter's school. We were satisfied and even encouraged another student to join. Now I regret recommending the school. I am a math teacher tutoring this friend's daughter and NVVA changed the math curriculum at mid-year with no explanation or support. This student went from an A in prealgebra to an F. And I can see why. The Edgenuity videos are tedious and boring. And they don't adequately explain what she sees on tests and quizzes. And the teachers are struggling too. NVVA's response is they are stuck with it for the rest of this semester. So they are willing to toss out this student's past success for a bad contract and program! I am disgusted and will be telling everyone I know about these issues! If you want your prealgebra student to learn then do NOT sign up for NVVA or Edgenuity!


Nevada Virtual Academy 1

Posted March 02, 2014
- a parent
Totally agree with this parent's review: "Terrible teachers not supportive or organized dishonest practices administration not reliable also rude as also staff over low budget mentality mixed with unprofessional mannerisms " Submitted by a parent

Nevada Virtual Academy 1

Posted February 26, 2014
- a parent
Terrible teachers not supportive or organized dishonest practices administration not reliable also rude as also staff over low budget mentality mixed with unprofessional mannerisms

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Nevada Virtual Academy
8965 S. Eastern Avenue, Las Vegas, NV  89123
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 70 reviews.
Last modified Nevada Virtual Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top