Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Coral Academy of Science Las Vegas

Charter | K-12 | 1200 students

Math, Science and College Prep
 
 

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 13 ratings
2013:
Based on 18 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

141 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 10, 2014

Imagine receiving a private school education... for free. That is what Coral Academy offers. The class sizes are a fraction of what they typically are in public schools. Coral nurtures the children's natural abilities and talent. They also just started a new lunch program. Yes, it's pricier than typical school lunches, but then again, processed food is cheap and that's not what they're offering. Overall, it's a great school and really pushing our son every way and he's enjoying it every step of the way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2014

My son and daughter have been at the different campus for the last 5 years. And the last 3 they have been buying their lunch everyday. I am so sorry to say never again. They had such a great lunch program and now it's the worst. We are now bringing our lunch and I would suggest you do the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2014

this school expects nothing but the best; however, make sure you pack your child lunch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2014

I wish I could give it 0 stars.. this school is the most unorganized dirtiest school with the highest turnover (with teachers) any where on the entire US..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2014

To the person commenting on PE requirements: In CCSD, students are only required to take one semester in 6th grade and 8th grade. At Coral Academy, Students take a full year of PE in 6th and 7th grade. Also, it is available as an elective in 8th grade if students want to take it. They may not be required to take it in 8th grade, but middle school students at Coral Academy are still getting double the amount of PE than they normally would in the district, and probably most other middle schools in Vegas for that matter.


Posted June 17, 2014

Coral is not for everyone, but our family has been extremely pleased with our son's education. He had an inspirational 1st grade teacher who exposed him to history, economics, social studies, & science. Her approach to math helped him learn the "number sense" emphasized by the new common core. His teacher promoted independent reading and encouraged him to ask questions. The parents, students, & teachers who comprise the Coral Family at Tamarus also make the community a special place. It takes a huge commitment to attend a charter school that may not be housed in the fanciest structure, or closest to your neighborhood. I like the diversity and parent involvement with each student's scholastic achievements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2014

Am I the only parent that is bewildered that they do not REQUIRE Physical Education for 8th grade students? Yes, education is a priority, but it is equal with the overall health of the students, and with all of the news coverage regarding overweight children, to not even require 1 day of PE for 8th graders is unacceptable!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2014

This school is not someplace that I would ever want my child to go to again! The school is not cleaned daily. The restrooms can be smelled down the hall which is disgusting. The classrooms are too small for the amount of children put in them. The kids seem to get sick all the time because the school is so unclean and illness seems to continuously be passed. The administration has no idea what some of the teachers are doing in their classrooms. It seems that there is no accountability for the teachers at all and it is pretty much a free for all. I have not been impressed with the school curriculum or lack there of. Outside where the children play there is no grass for them to play in, it is all dirt. The school is very unorganized which I believe is caused by poor administration. My child in second grade has had four different teachers this year and I don't understand how a child is supposed to learn with this high of a turnover rate of teachers. From what I ve seen year to year many teachers leave within a year or two and they seem to have to hire many new teachers each year. This should be a huge red flag for both parents and the administration.This place is horrible!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2014

This school is fantastic !! the principal and office support staff are friendly and efficient . The campus is clean and well appointed. But its really the teachers here that shine the brightest . The teachers here go above and beyond for their students. They have given my son the extra time , attention ,and tutoring when needed , to help him excel and succeed . They are always communicating with me , so we can work together to make my sons school experience positive and successful . I am so grateful to have the opportunity to send my son to such a fine school. I would like to express my gratitude to two exceptional teachers at this school, math teacher Annette Martin and reading teacher Danielle Swords . If you are fortunate enough to have these teachers for your child , I am sure I will be reading your positive review here soon
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2014

I love the school. They really do great on every area. The deans are doing great.but there should be one more dean not to be overloaded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2014

To start about this school...1. Education wise is ok but Teachers lack communication with parents. We request over and over to communicate with us about the kid but they don't seems to be doing it. 2. There are many areas that this school lacks behind. For instance, in Sanitation and discipline. After school care is very poor with no maintenance of the playground and leaving the kids outside for hours and hours of play in dirt irrespective of weather conditions. Kids are getting up on Allergies, coughing etc because of this. Poor Kids get a small chips pack snack in the after school care and get an additional one for those who picks up the trash in the playground. This treatment towards the kids is not right... Kids are not Janitors to do this kind of stuff - clean someone else trash etc. we are paying fees to learn stuff. They play a movie every day in the after school care after hours and hours of play. I believe education is very important but at the same time proper health is also important. I feel this part of the treatment towards kids is not right and we are thinking to pull out my kid out of that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2014

I really expected this school to be great. They were very disorganized. I had no contact info for the teachers and did not know what my children were supposed to be completing at home. The teachers skill level was average at best and would regularly yell at the children. When meeting with the teachers to discuss the issues we were having one of the teachers could not even pick her head up off of the desk for our meeting. I thought the curriculum it's self was good but the delivery was not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2014

This school is very disorganize at the beginning of the year. Days and weeks of time are wasted at this time. The Sandy Ridge school principal needs to be more visible and accessible every day. Some teachers need to improve their English skills. I don t have a problem with an accent of any kind but poor basic English grammar and writing skills are unforgivable. They crowd too many kids into one campus. The high school campus is not suitable for high school age students. It was built as a middle school. The PowerSchool is not updated regularly It should be done at least weekly, during each quarter. Not all on the last day of a quarter; the science department is particularly bad at this. Some teachers don t return work and test sheets to kids after they have been graded so they and parents can see strong and week areas. Again the science department is particularly bad at this. They wast time giving endless detentions for ridiculous rule infractions the Dean can never keep up with. Rules are rules but they need a better system. Teachers and staff direct traffic every day? What a wast of their time and it s depressing to see. I have never seen such a thing at any school before.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2013

Designated ''quality school'' by State Public Charter School Authority. This school is a great school and becomes a better one every new school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

I have four children attending this school, and couldn't be happier with the quality of the education they are receiving . We enjoy small class sizes and very high academic standards. The teachers are of a superior caliber, and many have their master's degree in in the subject they are teaching. This makes such a difference in their knowledge and enthusiasm in the classroom. As our school has grown are getting better and better with each passing year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

Coral is the best school and it is a fact. Because for 7th grade i went to Sig Rough and it say s it is 10 state school but it is not. Coral is a competitive school Rough is not. If you are a competitive person coral is the place. like i said i went to Rough for 7th grade it was bad the math teachers cant teach but coral have great teachers.


Posted August 30, 2013

My daughter is a 7th grader and new student at Coral Academy of Science Las Vegas (CASLV). I am very excited that she is here. I had various reasons for applying even though I really liked the middle school we are zoned for in the CCSD school district that she attended for 6th grade. When I got the acceptance notice, I gave her the choice and after thinking it over for a few days she decided to accept. When she completed the 6th grade I was very concerned by what I saw in her Math grade Final Exam and researched further to find out that she was missing several foundational tools to progress, yet her final grade was a "C"... It concerned me that the reports I received all year showed that she was fine... I was excited to learn of CASLV's standards for learning and promotion. My daughter was hesitant over the summer when learning of CASLV's academic expectations and uniform policy, but when I picked her up on the first day, she was very excited and told me how happy she is to be attending Coral Academy and understands the foundation she is receiving to prepare her for High School. I appreciate the administration's focus to prepare the students for success in school and life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

This school is a great school. I do see some of the parents/students bashing the school and I don't understand why. Many of the student that do this come from Public School. Where they are familiar with how Public School is ran, not a Charter School. I've been apart of CASLV for 5 years now. When I first came to the school it wasn't a very pleasant school for me to be attending because I can from a Public School and didn't understand how the school worked. But as time went on the school really started to shine into an academic BOSS that it is today. It's not as bad as some people make it out to be. The Campus is clean, the teachers are getting better and better very year, and the activity's that the school is having, Home-coming and ect, is also improving. This school has classes for everyone. From smart to below average. ( and as for one of the comments talking about how the 10th graders of 2012-2013 school year failed is because of their own attitude towards that test, most of them didn't care or are too lazy to even attempt that test, yet not all of the 10th graders are that lazy )


Posted August 25, 2013

Well,the new school year has begun in a very smooth way. The schedule was ready, school was very clean, everything/everybody was very organized. Shortly, everything was ready for the students for their education. Hope, it will continue in this way and this 2013-2014 school year will be very productive and successful for CASLV. If you are a parent and looking for a very good school, CORAL Las Vegas is exactly for you.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 15, 2013

If you want a great education go to this school. Before I was going to a public school and the teachers treated me like I was stupid. I came to this school in 4th grade and they really advanced me. I'm learning 8th grade science and pre-algebra in 6th grade! This school is knows for their math and science programs but, the do advance you in language art, though not as much. However this school does not have a proper nurse. Most people say that they want to leave this school when the make it to high school because this school doesn't have homecoming or prom. The reason for this is because my school supports diversity. I am bummed out about this however, I care more about my education than school parties. Also, if you graduate from coral, a school that wins math and science competitions all over this United States, it will look really good on your college resume. If you look more forward to the American school dream, go to a public school. If you care about you education, career, and future, this is the school for you.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

128 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 62% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

71 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female91%
Male82%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian94%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian88%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant86%

Reading

All Students91%
Female93%
Male89%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian97%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian91%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English92%
Not migrant91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female96%
Male87%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian95%
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian91%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English91%
Not migrant90%

Reading

All Students89%
Female96%
Male86%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian95%
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian95%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English91%
Not migrant89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female93%
Male88%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian96%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian87%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English90%
Not migrant90%

Reading

All Students95%
Female95%
Male96%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian98%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian93%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities98%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English95%
Not migrant95%

Science

All Students95%
Female95%
Male96%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian98%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian93%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities97%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English95%
Not migrant95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female73%
Male79%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian83%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian75%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English76%
Not migrant76%

Reading

All Students81%
Female84%
Male79%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian90%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian85%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English81%
Not migrant81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female84%
Male77%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian91%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian77%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English80%
Not migrant80%

Reading

All Students72%
Female78%
Male68%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian82%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian68%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English73%
Not migrant72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
Female60%
Male61%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian79%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian60%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price60%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities61%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English61%
Not migrant61%

Reading

All Students64%
Female71%
Male59%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian68%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian65%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English64%
Not migrant64%

Science

All Students68%
Female58%
Male75%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian79%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian63%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities68%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English69%
Not migrant68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English80%
Not migrant80%

Reading

All Students95%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English95%
Not migrant95%

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

Writing

All Students95%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English95%
Not migrant95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 26% 6%
Hispanic 15% 40%
Black 6% 10%
Two or more races 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/A54%
Male 56%N/A51%
Female 44%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school PUBLIC SCHOOLS IN HENDERSON
PRIVATE SCHOOLS IN HENDERSON
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • MATHCOUNTS STATE 3RD (2012)
  • SCIENCE BOWL STATE 2ND (2011)
  • SCIENCE BOWL STATE 2ND (2012)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • JUMP ROPE FOR HEART-MOST FUNDS (2011)
  • JUMP ROPE FOR HEART-MOST FUNDS (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
  • TURKISH
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • ERCAN AYDOGDU
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (702) 269-3258

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
  • TURKISH
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Kickball
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Game club
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


2 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
185
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
1152
Students typically come from these schools
PUBLIC SCHOOLS IN HENDERSON
PRIVATE SCHOOLS IN HENDERSON

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8185 Tamarus St
Las Vegas, NV 89123
Website: Click here
Phone: (702) 269-8512

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Imprints Day School
Las Vegas, NV





Silverado High School
Las Vegas, NV



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT