Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Southern Highlands Preparatory School

Private | K-8 | 244 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Las Vegas

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $165,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,430.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 8, 2014

This school made my child into an excellent student. Each teacher understands my child and seems to be honestly interested in her future success. I highly recommend Southern Highlands Preparatory School to any parent looking for small class sizes and individualized attention for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2014

I attended this school and proudly say I went here. I only was here for my two final years of middle school and it was great. It struggled a little with some political issues when I was there, but I continued to stay involved after I graduated and I wish I could go back. The school is under control of a new, great principal. I loved this school. I don't think this school prepared me as well as I could have been for high school, but I learned a lot. I was very involved when I attended and there is much to do. I think it's just a good school. The small classes may seem scary due to "lack of social skills" but I am so glad I was in a small class!! You make friendships that are special. All schools have flaws, there is no such thing as a perfect school. This school has its flaws, but I had such a positive experience there that the flaws just didn't matter. The teachers are great and easy to contact. Just in general and good school.


Posted October 17, 2013

SHPS preschool is wonderful! Teachers are highly qualified and administration rocks! My children love it here and we are extremely happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2013

This school is great. The administration and teachers are excellent. There is always a respect to any issue. I have two kids attending the school and we all enjoy every aspect of it. The only sad thing is that this school goes up to eight grade only. We wish for them to establish grades 9-12 as well. Thank you, Ms. Martin for wholeheartedly devoting yourself to all our kids and making this school to be the best in the State.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2012

This school could be great but not with this current principal. Too much politics and pettiness - she appears to act vindictively towards teachers and there has been a lot of teacher turnover during the school year. A very unhealthy situation for students and a unfriendly snobby attitude from the administration...makes this place a joke. Put your money and kids somewhere else where they have true professionals.


Posted December 24, 2011

My son started here preK. He's now in 3rd grade. Every teacher has been fantastic, and the principal has been unbelievably supportive. The kids are great, and my son has made some terrific friends. The curriculum is top notch and well presented by the staff. My wife and I are very happy with our choice to place our son here and would happily recommend this school to any of our friends moving to Vegas for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2010

Good teacher, good curriculum, and good staff. The lunch is pretty expensive for what is is. The kids can be rude and vain. Parent's don't seem to participate in school actuvities. The teachers give ALOT of homework...I can't help my kids with it because it is just too much/hard/etc. GREAT P.E. teacher and GREAT Spanish curriculum. This school is better than my kids old school but there are those rich snobs according to my kids. This is still a good school there. I would reccomend this to my friends. Oh! And there is not a really strong dicipline system. Kids can get away with alot of stuff that wouldn't pass at their old school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

My childrens' teachers are wonderful, but I get the impression they are spread too thin. We work hard to keep our children here and want the best education for them, but the teachers should be focusing on teaching- not daycare before and after school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

Smart and supportive principal. Excellent, caring teachers. Well-organized and thoughtful programs. Love the Nobel learning information that reinforces good development. Worth the penny-pinching to keep our child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2010

teachers asked to work long hours for low pay. Causes a high turn over, with many teachers leaving in the middle of the year. Principle does not have positive control of this school. Some awesome teachers, but they are forced to look else where for job success. Makes it a bummer for our kids. Office needs to get it together to keep teachers around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2010

I am highly disappointed with the lack of professionalism and Administration of this school. I would never recommend this school to anyone! Teacher turnover is high during the school year which affects the children. The Administration is very disorganized but represent the exact opposite during a tour. Flat out poor management!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

Great school!!! love their preschool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2009

Great school except for issues with office manager. Leave the politics and gossip out of the school and parents and teachers will be much happier. Let's support the school and facilty and stop the petty immature attitude. A positive environment needs to be maintained for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2009

Our experience with the preschool has been excellent. The tuition and fees are fair and comparable with other schools. The teachers are also very good about teaching the kids to wash their hands and limiting germs. My child has not even had a sniffle since placed him at southern highlands!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2009

Love this school. Compared to all the other private schools in the lv area, they are the least expensive. My son has been at this school since pre-k and as long as we can afford it he will continue going. Great education! way better than public. Worth the money!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2009

Too expensive, lots of add on expenses, education is sub-par. No discipline. Parents are snobby and rude. Kids have foul mouths. Won't send my child there again. My son attended 1 1/2 yrs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2008

Small classes, sports, clubs, great parent involvement, caring teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 6%
Hispanic 11% 40%
Black 6% 10%
Two or more races 5% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NAIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College preparatory

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11500 Southern Highlands Parkway
Las Vegas, NV 89141
Website: Click here
Phone: (702) 617-6030

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT