Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Centennial Academy

Private | PK-5 | 96 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Las Vegas

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $120,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,240.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 31, 2010

My daughter attended Centennial Academy for Pre-K and Kindergarten. Started out great - but the founder of the school was a builder/developer, and as the economy went south, so did the school. By last year, the curriculum director was gone and it seemed like nobody was in charge full time. One Kindergarten teacher administered the pre-school and the other Kindergarten teacher administered the elementary school when they weren't busy teaching. Either that or they turned their class over to the aide, when they were busy administering. 4th grade teacher was also PE teacher. 3rd grade teacher was also the Spanish teacher. No PTA. Parents not encouraged to participate. Input not welcome. My daughter is much happier and doing well, in her current (public) school. Not surprised to hear that the school was closing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2010

Great school to bad they are shuting it down, and turning it public on the 17 of jun. Now we have to find a new school for my three year old.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

My son was enrolled last year in the 1-yr old class, and this year we have him in the young toddler program. I feel that he's in really good hands. This is not a day-care environment--it's a preschool. There is a low staff turnover rate, and the staff is always friendly and attentive. All the kids usually seem happy in the class, unlike some other places I visited in the area. I also like safety here, and the fact they made accomodations from some of my son's unique medical needs. I really am happy we found this school for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2009

My son just completed the Kindergarten program at Centennial Academy. This is our second child to attend Kindergarten at this school The teacher's ability to teach advanced curriculum in a developmentally appropriate fashion is extrodinary. Mrs. Swartout and Mrs. Carpenter are very good at identifying where a child is and building from there. I have worked with both of them on various issues with both of my sons with great success. When I pick my child up before and after school (not after care) they have been available to answer questions or bring issues to my attention in a timely manner. Extracurricular activities may not be abundunt but I am paying for reading, writing, and math skills as well as promoting appropriate learning and citizenship behaviors. I know many public schools with extracurricular activities but who are not challenging their kids in the core academic areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2009

This school has wonderful teachers and the cirriculum is great. There is no actual principal or vice principal so administration and activities are lacking. Parent communication needs to be improved, more extra-cirricular activites/sports need to be offered and events planned. Safety is a very wonderful feature here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2009

I really enjoyed sending my son to school here. It's a shame we'll be moving away, but hopefully I can find a school as good. Academics: The students here are taught at an advanced pace compared to public schools, which I like. Administration: I believe that the principal also doubles as a teacher, so I can see a potential conflict there. I never had any issues with the school administration. Teachers: Love 'em! My son went here for three years and he always had good teachers. Extra-curricular activities: They have Mad Science, Kids 'n' Motion, Cooking, a chess club, and a few others. Not a real strong point. Safety and Discipline: I always felt that my son was in good hands at this school. There is almost no bullying. My only complaint: I did have a conflict with one of his teachers. She was pretty open about her political views. School should not include political indoctrination!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2009

I have never met who owns the school and the prinicpal they put on their license is also a teacher therefore there is not much leadership. I have actually never met her and I am happy to be sending my child elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

My child is required to go to this school because of a court order that she attend a private school. I am consistantly disappointed on how I am treated. My ex is required to pay the tution because this was their request in court, that she attend a private school. I am rarely notified of ANY activities, school projects and parent teacher confrences, even though I have joint custody. I am treated disrespectfully by most of the staff, including her teacher. There is 1 member of the staff that is always wonderful and she is not a teacher. The educational program is intensive and my daughter has learned alot but I have to say I have not been happy overall with the school and I would very much agree with the other review, it is all about the dollar.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

This school is wonderful. Very caring and knowledgeable teachers, great environment, wonderful cirriculum and great security. Our three children are thriving at Centennial Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

The owners and administrators are the greedy and don't know how to their staff with kindness. After being open for 5 years they still are not accredited?? The staff is wonderful and caring despite the treatment they receive from the owners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2008

My daughter thrived in Pre-K here, and we will be sending her back for Kindergarten. this is a wonderful school, with very caring faculty who made a somewhat shy little girl come out of her shell and thrive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2008

Great School! My daughter went there for 3 years, since she was 2 1/2 years old and she has thrived, great teachers and caring staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2008

Mrs Mckelvey and Mrs Simon Pre-K were the best I could have hoped for as my son began school last year for the first time. I cant say enough good things about the dolpin class. We will bring our daugher to that class when she is of age. K. Bailey
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 46%
Asian 12% N/A
Hispanic 6% 34%
Black 5% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NAPSEC

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6610 Grand Montecito Pkwy
Las Vegas, NV 89149
Phone: (702) 315-3190

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT