Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rex Bell Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

This school is great. I understand that some will stay away due to the low ranking but remember that this is in a lower income area and that may contribute to the rankings. The staff is friendly and caring they go out of their way. They are taking great strides to improve this school as well. I have no issue sending my child to this school and think its one of the best elementary schools I have dealt with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2014

I have been really happy with this school. My child's teacher Miss K. is new and is really great. My daughter loves her class. She has come home every day this year telling me new words and is able to tell time and read words I didn't think she would read until 3rd grade! My daughter uses the words perspective, permit, gloomy, and many other words. She loves Art class with Cardenally too. This school has after school programs, book fairs, and tutoring. Teachers care and the new principle is nice too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2014

Rex Bell is a wonderful school not only because i have three children going there. I am also apart of our PTO and we are very helpful with the students,teachers, and the parents. The school is very much helpful with giving our kids and us as the parents the best support we need. Our principle Mr. Aimett is a wonderful,helpful,and very much good with the kids. If there was anything that our kids need. We care alot about our kids safety . Mr. Aimette knows all the kids he treats all with respect and love. We are all family and friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2014

Well, I am a teacher at Rex Bell and I am sad that one parent had a bad experience. However, since the new principal the school is much safer. People are not allowed to just roam the campus and I feel that he is not only looking out for the staff but for the children. Also, I am not a lazy teacher and the parent should be more specific and to put us all in a lazy category is not right. The district has asked a lot from all of administration and teachers, but we all have the kid s best interest at heart. So, don't take this one parents word about the school, come in and meet the principal and get a tour before you let someone make a decision for you about Rex Bell.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 25, 2014

This school has really made an impact on education this year. The teachers strive for excellence every day. They work together to collaborate the best teaching practices that will positively affect the learning environment in the classroom. The administration's leadership and guidance continually influence the faculty to aim for excellence. The principal has instilled an open door policy for staff and parents. All parents are welcomed onto campus when they check in at the office to receive a visitor's badge.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 25, 2014

As a parent of a student at Rex Bell Elementary I love my daughter's school, teacher, and principal. The school always has programs or meetings to get parents involved and keep them involved. My child's teacher is very friendly and I never have a hard time keeping in contact with her. She goes out of her way to help my child. The principal is awesome! He takes a true interest in the children AND their families. He always has a pleasant smile and is ready to help. He is willing to talk to us parents over any of our concerns and listens respectfully. He cares about our children's safety as well. He also has a personal mailbox in which our kids can write him letters. How awesome! He is a breath of fresh air and much needed to CCSD. He is the type of principal the school district NEEDS and the type of principal every school WANTS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2014

I have been with CCSD for 25 years and I hope that I NEVER have to work for another principal! I came to this school last year and can honestly say that I love my job again! I am treated with respect, as are all of the staff at Rex Bell. The kids adore the principal-he is non-judgmental, brilliant, caring, and the hardest worker I have ever known. Every day at school is an adventure and I truly believe that we will have some amazing test results to show CCSD and the community this year. The teachers are incredible-they love the kids and give 100% of themselves each and every day. To the parent who didn't have a good experience, I would ask these questions-how involved were you at Bell? Did you volunteer? Get your kid to school on time? Check the homework every night? Help with fundraisers? ASK the teacher how to help your child? Judging from your horrible grammar and awful spelling, I think you should at least proof read your comments before hitting the "send" button.....
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 5, 2014

This school from 2012 and now has gotten down hill since this new principal took place here 1 yr ago...it's horrible..parents are not allowed inside campus with child..teachers here are lazy and rude..there old, with no intention of putting there best...I hate this school, hope the school district fire's that principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2011

This school has wonderful teachers that communicate with parents on an ongoing basis. The students all have a caring attitude towards each other. I noticed how everyone at Rex Bell seems to work together to achieve student success.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
29%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

106 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Female61%
Male70%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch65%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
Students with limited English proficiency61%
Proficient in English71%
Not migrant66%

Reading

All Students48%
Female47%
Male49%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch46%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities48%
Students with limited English proficiency37%
Proficient in English61%
Not migrant48%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female73%
Male73%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch73%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Students with limited English proficiency60%
Proficient in English84%
Not migrant73%

Reading

All Students61%
Female66%
Male55%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch60%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
Students with limited English proficiency43%
Proficient in English75%
Not migrant61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students47%
Female45%
Male48%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch46%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities52%
Students with limited English proficiency24%
Proficient in English64%
Not migrant47%

Reading

All Students38%
Female36%
Male39%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch38%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities42%
Students with limited English proficiency15%
Proficient in English56%
Not migrant38%

Science

All Students37%
Female29%
Male44%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch38%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities38%
Students with limited English proficiency18%
Proficient in English51%
Not migrant37%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 67% 40%
Black 10% 10%
White 8% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 6%
Two or more races 5% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 92%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (702) 799-5916

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2900 Wilmington Way
Las Vegas, NV 89102
Phone: (702) 799-5910

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Wassell Academy
Las Vegas, NV



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT