Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Mesquite, NV

3 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Virgin Valley High School 2

Posted May 21, 2014
- a student
My school is not a necessarily the best school in the world. I think the staff is very biased and though it's great to encourage students to participate in school activities, I think that the students who don't are looked down upon. Though it's understandable to reward students who excel in activities, the students are often utterly favourited meaning they get away with nearly everything just so they can "play in the next game". And it also often goes by unnoticed by teachers that there are students earning grades they do not deserve. There is a mass load of cheating that goes on in this schools and certain laziness attributed by the students. Kids who would on their own be down right getting D's and F's are making the honour roll, held up high with the students who ACTUALLY earn it. The teachers aren't too bad, in fact there's a lot of really awesome quality teachers, obviously there are some bad ones, mostly the ones who double as coaches or sport fanatics. Not because of sport but because they tend to be the ones who let dishonest students sit up high with genuine honour roll kids.

Virgin Valley High School 5

Posted September 28, 2011
- a community member
Im not a student here anymore ' buh i gotta say this is a great skool i miss skeets and playing soccer . wayy way i repeat my self way fun . this skool aint like the one in wendover withh uhh messed up teachers !!! besttt skool everr keeeppp up the great workkk <3 (:


Virgin Valley High School 4

Posted May 23, 2010
- a student
I am a former student of VVHS. I felt the quality of education was great. If you are an Honor student you will get an outstanding education. Most if not all of my honor teachers were very educated and taught well. I felt that the extra. Cric. activities could have been better. I have two children now and I am looking forward to the moment that they get to attend VVHS, as there father and I did!

Virgin Valley High School 5

Posted February 05, 2009
- a parent
The new administration has made a tremendous impact on student achievement and community pride. It is hard to believe that such a significant difference can be brought about in such a short amount of time

Virgin Valley High School 5

Posted January 13, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Virgin Valley High School 2

Posted November 05, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Virgin Valley High School 0
no rating

Posted August 19, 2008
- a community member
As a graduate of this school i can say that this school is very lucky to have a change in the administration. the teachers do an awesome job of pushing there students and helping them excell. but it was difficult with the previsous 'administratiors.' they did extremely poor jobs at interacting with the student body and staff. it made it difficult for teachers, stressfull for coaches, and down right boring for students. the school spirit dropped to an all time low and it was sad to attend sporting events and have them discouraging the students from cheering on their peers. Thank goodness we have a new pricipal here! things have already improved exponentially and will only continue to improve. things are really looking up from here! this good school is going to get much much better...

Virgin Valley High School 0
no rating

Posted May 21, 2008
- a community member
There is very little teacher support from the administration. School policy for students who do not do homework, fail to bring text book and other materials to class, and do not participate in learning objectives is 'Let them fail'.


Virgin Valley High School 1

Posted October 12, 2007
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Virgin Valley High School 4

Posted June 21, 2007
- a student
I am a student at Virgin Valley, and I believe that that the school isn't bad at all. In fact, the teachers and curriculum are much better than some of the leading Vegas Schools. I have taken Calculus AP at the school, and all of the students that I know who go to school in Vegas are not allowed to take such a course in their Junior Year. The teachers are hard working and dedicated to their students at all times. On the administration, we must remember that V.V. is a rural school, and therefore recieves not only less funding, but also less conideration and slack from CCSD. And so, the administration does a constant balancing act between keeping the students happy and CCSD happy on a tight budget. The only problem at this school is the students- students who don't care about getting an education and just wasting thier time.

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Virgin Valley High School
820 Valley View Dr, Mesquite, NV  89027
(702) 346-2780
Last modified Virgin Valley High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Virgin Valley High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top