Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Minden Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 418 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 26, 2013

I have had one son go to this school from K-6 and my second is in 2nd grade, having gone there for Pre-K until now. The teachers and staff are FANTASTIC and go out of their way to help and assist you. Both of my sons have IEP's and we get consistant and caring attention from both teachers and administration. My oldest son was bullied physically in 5th grade for a few months without us knowing it. We told his teacher that night at a school event, and by the next evening, the boy and his parents had been spoken to and everyone was involved in actively stopping the activity. It never hapenned again. To the parent who gave the school a 1 out of 5, directing emails "to whom it may concern" is not much help. Have a personal relationship with your childs teachers and the staff. If another child physically touches your child, it should be addressed immediately, and will if you actually take a moment to speak to those who can help you. First is the teacher, second is the principle. He is amazing. Mr. Stohl would never allow a child to be bullied if he knew anything about it. I love this school and will be so sad when we leave it forever. LOVE YOU MES!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2011

We have 3 children attending M.E.S. The teachers, leaders and administrative staff are all outstanding - both in professional ability, and in their genuine interest and warmth towards their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

The community is small, so not many choices as far as school. So my son had to go to this school. The first year was fine with no problemes at all. Little did i know that was about to change. Next two years weren't great at all and my nightmare started two years ago. My son has been bullied and physically assaulted all the time by one student. I tried to keep my cool and talked to whoever was in charge, i did lot talking and sending e-mails to whom it may concern and still, and i am still and so is my son going through the same ordeal and no light at the end of the tunnel. I wish i can home school. I feel so bad for my son, he is a good boy and unfortunatelly he is learning that it is ok to be violent and get away with it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2011

I have two children at Minden - and have mixed opinions about our experience. My youngest has had an excellent experience with a phenomenal teacher and is thriving and excited about learning. My oldest has had a hard time staying challenged and seems to get bored easily. We have also had some (minor) issues with bullying that I do not feel were addressed well by the teacher and we were not given tools as parents to deal with the matter on our end. That said, I have faith that this experience is unique to this teacher and that if it were to escalate that the principle is available and willing to help. Over all I am happy with Minden, and understand that it is staffed by humans who can't be perfect 100% of the time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

The teachers go above and beyond to help the children grow. Some even come to their students sporting events and spend their own time to tutor .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

The teachers and staff make Minden Elementary a fabulous school. My daughter started there when she was in 2nd grade and still have two boys who attend. One of my son's has Down's and the special ed program in Douglas County is top rate. It is why we chose to move to Mindeb from Southern California. Finding a wonderful special education program was our first priority. The special ed teachers and aides are great with all the kids. With all of the standardized testing, the teachers must keep up with acedemic exellence. Helping all of the children to succeed is their first priority as well. There are many activities including art and music. Our art teacher is there half the year, but is so good. Just take a walk through our school. It's a gallery. Parent involvement could always better. It's the usually same ones who volunteer and help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2004

the principals aprroach is pro-active. the teachers are diverse in teaching approaches with the students best interest always a priority. the entire staff is open and friendly and helpful. the school environment is outstanding. the lunch program leaves a lot to be desired though. nutritious maybe? taste and desirability is lousy. i have personally tried to eat and like--no luck. the school library is outstanding with a wonderfully helpful librarian.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2004

Wonderful, that's what I/we think of MES. I have only great thing's to say of this school. Four of my kid's have been in this school. The Principal, teacher's, and overall quality is the best. My thank's to them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2004

My children have been at Minden Elem. for 2 years now. We have lived in three different countries around the world and have lived in four different states in USA. Minden would rate in the first three of all the schools my children have been to in the world. Well done staff! Your great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2004

Minden Elementary is great! It's where I would send my kids if I had any. I worked there in some capacity for about 3 years. The only reason I left was I became a substitute teacher. Everyone from the principal Ken Stoll, the teachers, and the playground aides are top notch!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

65 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female81%
Male81%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian81%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English83%
Not migrant81%

Reading

All Students66%
Female78%
Male48%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian64%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English67%
Not migrant66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female83%
Male85%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian87%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch80%
Full price87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English85%
Not migrant84%

Reading

All Students79%
Female80%
Male78%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian83%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch60%
Full price89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English82%
Not migrant79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
Female55%
Male63%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian57%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch50%
Full price64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities63%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English60%
Not migrant59%

Reading

All Students70%
Female76%
Male63%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian70%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch62%
Full price75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities78%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English70%
Not migrant70%

Science

All Students69%
Female74%
Male63%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian73%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch58%
Full price75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English69%
Not migrant69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female75%
Male68%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian70%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch59%
Full price79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English72%
Not migrant71%

Reading

All Students83%
Female94%
Male75%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian81%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch72%
Full price91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English85%
Not migrant83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 37%
Hispanic 22% 40%
Two or more races 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Black 0% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1170 Baler St
Minden, NV 89423
Phone: (775) 782-5510

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Faith Christian Academy
Gardnerville, NV





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT