Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fredric W Watson Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Saturday, July 19, 2014

My daughter MISSES Watson so badly!!! She has been depressed since moving from this school to another school near our new home. This school could get unlimited stars if it was allowed. The office staff need some work but the principal and the teachers are the best ever. Both my daughter'a kindergarten and first grade teachers went above and beyond to teach my daughter well & when she needed a shoulder to lean on, they were there. I'm so happy that this school enforced the No Bully program and enforced safety for the younger students. I'm holding back tears as I write this. Watson is the best school hands down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2014

It is sad for me to see that this school has such low ratings! All 4 of my kids have gone (or are going) to this school. My oldest in just about the graduate High School (honors programs). My youngest is in 1st grade so I have seen the changes this school has gone through. When my oldest started at Watson, there were definitely some issues. However I have seen the Principal & teachers work so hard over the last several years & have seen a HUGE parent involvement as of late. The school has added several extracurricular activities for the kids, basketball, flag football, cheerleading, Choir projects - they are currently doing Annie Jr. And the Music Teacher! Wow, the impact she has had on my kids. She is honestly one of the most caring & involved teachers I have ever seen. Overall, this is a great school. I can easily email any of my kids teachers & receive a quick response.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2011

This will be our second year attending Watson and I am very excited to see if we have another wonderful year. The office staff are very sincere to the students and parents. The school all around is GREAT!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2011

We are very fortunate to have such wonderful administrators at Watson. They both sincerely care about students, families, and staff. They are approachable and are always considerate of students' needs. We have also been blessed with a wonderful, new office manager! The atmosphere in the front office has completely turned around since she took on her VERY demanding job. She makes it look easy and has handled her duties with tact and grace. So happy to see so many positive changes at Watson this year!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 18, 2010

I think that there have been big changes at Watson since Ms. Newton took over. She has worked hard to ensure every student feels welcome. This school made AYP for the 2009-2010 school year! Most of the teachers that were a problem have moved on. We only had a few teachers leave this past year due to moving out of state. The school is also going 9 month this year!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 19, 2009

Communication between Parent and Teacher is poor at best. Parents have to intiate all communication and 'roll the dice' to see if they get a response from their childs teacher. In todays era of texting, email and internet homepages, why is it so hard for teachers to put forth the effort to enhance the communication within in thier school district let alone in their classroom? More parents need to comment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2009

Poor communication between parents and teachers. Adminstration staff are rude and unprofestional, argue infront of parents and students alike and show dislike for any parent that dares ask a question or even walks through the front door. glad that i no deal with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2008

The school's leadership, the administration, has been poor for several years and consequently high teacher turnover year after year. There's no PTA, lousy community involvement, and awful communication between the principal's office and students' parents/families. Theres' been an unwritten and unspoken systematic containment of parental involvement and thus their support. Negative student behavior is rampant because of little or no consequences, thus teachers are policing the classrooms instead of teaching. It's a sad situation that I'm glad I'm no longer a part of.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

127 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students38%
Female39%
Male38%
Black/African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch30%
Full price67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities43%
Students with limited English proficiency15%
Proficient in English46%
Not migrant38%

Reading

All Students34%
Female41%
Male29%
Black/African American26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic19%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch28%
Full price54%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities39%
Students with limited English proficiency8%
Proficient in English43%
Not migrant34%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students50%
Female47%
Male53%
Black/African American32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian58%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch45%
Full price66%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities54%
Students with limited English proficiency37%
Proficient in English54%
Not migrant50%

Reading

All Students52%
Female53%
Male52%
Black/African American39%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian58%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch46%
Full price72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities56%
Students with limited English proficiency26%
Proficient in English60%
Not migrant52%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students38%
Female36%
Male40%
Black/African American28%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian44%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch36%
Full price43%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities41%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English39%
Not migrant38%

Reading

All Students45%
Female46%
Male44%
Black/African American45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian56%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch37%
Full price61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities50%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English48%
Not migrant45%

Science

All Students36%
Female30%
Male41%
Black/African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian56%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch26%
Full price55%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities39%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English38%
Not migrant36%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 39% 40%
White 24% 37%
Black 23% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
Two or more races 6% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5845 North Commerce St
N. Las Vegas, NV 89031
Phone: (702) 799-7040

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Don E Hayden Elementary School
North Las Vegas, NV


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT