Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Fredric W Watson Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
When the classrooms get larger the less individualized time kids get. Teachers don't go the extra mile anymore.

Fredric W Watson Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Special Education at this school lacks empathy. The Autism teacher pulls, drags and yells at her students. Everyone is aware and it is allowed because from an educational stand point she delivers.


Fredric W Watson Elementary School 1

Posted November 25, 2014
- a parent
My daughter goes here and I am not a fan yet but hope she ssttsls in soon..... teachers are nice....

Fredric W Watson Elementary School 4

Posted September 05, 2014
- a teacher
The greatest asset of Watson is our amazing students. But the heart of the school is our Principal. Mrs. Holloway holds all of us to being committed to being the best we can be every day. She mentors us as educators and always tempers each decision she makes with kindness. Yes, our scores are not as high as some other schools. Test scores don't show the students excited about learning or teachers there every day because we want to make a difference for these kids.

Fredric W Watson Elementary School 5

Posted August 23, 2014
- a parent
3 of my kids attend Watson and have for the last 3 years. We absolutely adore all the teachers and principal. They've made such an impact on my children that they cannot wait to go to school. It breaks my heart that this school gets such low ratings because of grades. I have one accelerated child who they have definitely done what they can to challenge her!! Love the music teacher, and all the specials teachers!


Fredric W Watson Elementary School 5

Posted July 19, 2014
- a parent
My daughter MISSES Watson so badly!!! She has been depressed since moving from this school to another school near our new home. This school could get unlimited stars if it was allowed. The office staff need some work but the principal and the teachers are the best ever. Both my daughter'a kindergarten and first grade teachers went above and beyond to teach my daughter well & when she needed a shoulder to lean on, they were there. I'm so happy that this school enforced the No Bully program and enforced safety for the younger students. I'm holding back tears as I write this. Watson is the best school hands down.

Fredric W Watson Elementary School 5

Posted February 12, 2014
- a parent
It is sad for me to see that this school has such low ratings! All 4 of my kids have gone (or are going) to this school. My oldest in just about the graduate High School (honors programs). My youngest is in 1st grade so I have seen the changes this school has gone through. When my oldest started at Watson, there were definitely some issues. However I have seen the Principal & teachers work so hard over the last several years & have seen a HUGE parent involvement as of late. The school has added several extracurricular activities for the kids, basketball, flag football, cheerleading, Choir projects - they are currently doing Annie Jr. And the Music Teacher! Wow, the impact she has had on my kids. She is honestly one of the most caring & involved teachers I have ever seen. Overall, this is a great school. I can easily email any of my kids teachers & receive a quick response.

Fredric W Watson Elementary School 1

Posted September 12, 2013
- a parent
We Just moved here and the neighborhood that we moved into is great so we thought that the school would be great. NOT!!! The first day we got to her school there were children cussing as well as parents. Their Parking Lot and Drop off system is so scary and the biggest nightmare I have ever experienced. I absolutely hate this school if there were a negative 5 star thats what they would be rated at. The parents are the most ghettoist people I have ever met and their children are the same way! How Sad. :(


Fredric W Watson Elementary School 4

Posted August 17, 2011
- a parent
This will be our second year attending Watson and I am very excited to see if we have another wonderful year. The office staff are very sincere to the students and parents. The school all around is GREAT!!

Fredric W Watson Elementary School 4

Posted February 18, 2011
- a teacher
We are very fortunate to have such wonderful administrators at Watson. They both sincerely care about students, families, and staff. They are approachable and are always considerate of students' needs. We have also been blessed with a wonderful, new office manager! The atmosphere in the front office has completely turned around since she took on her VERY demanding job. She makes it look easy and has handled her duties with tact and grace. So happy to see so many positive changes at Watson this year!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fredric W Watson Elementary School
5845 North Commerce St, N. Las Vegas, NV  89031
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (702) 799-7040
Last modified Fredric W Watson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top