Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Marvin M Sedway Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 6, 2014

Look people this is not a bad school but its not a good school either. Yes there are a lot of stupid kids but a lot of smart ones to and its not the teachers fault your kids are failing it your kids fault because they get to lazy and don't do the work I should know I am a student at sedway


Posted May 24, 2012

I went to Sedway and i loved it so much. Great school, their music program is outstanding <3 the teachers actually care about your learning abilities! I love the teaching skills .I learned a lot there. It was A GREAT experience. Their GIRLS basketball TEAM is BEASTY! They win every game , BUT they LOST the playoffs , but great school , just to many fights


Posted April 29, 2012

This school shouldn't even have a rating. It is the most ugliest, despicable school I have ever been to. I finally left that dump last year, and I am currently a freshman in highschool. I hated that place. That place is so.. there is no words to describe that school. Bullying and fights happen every other day, and to the point where some kids just never come to school. I have the worst experience, that I needed therapy. I never want to to return to Sedway, I hate it with all of my being. No one cares about you, your education, your future. They treat you like garbage. Please parents, don't take your kids to Sedway.


Posted March 9, 2011

I go to this school and the kids are horrible. There always so-called fights and this place is a dump. The kids are rude and have vulgar language. They do not care about academics or education. They do not act right and are focusing on other things beside school. These other things are not appropriate. They have no respect for the teachers.


Posted March 24, 2010

This school needs to have more fun for the kids that go to that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2009

This is one of the best schools ever i went to this school and omg u learn alot.(=
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2009

We are a growning school,we love are 'Ravens',but we never get a break,we have alot of tuff kids,and we are viewed because of that.We would love just the chance for a change.Are kids are kids that need an up for a change..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

This cool is failing. I thought is was my son but I see that it has graded low in many other aspects. I hope the administrators step in and do something about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

I miss this school and its awesome curriculated statis for teachings and all of the above they have really friendly people and i wish that i was back at sedway middle school! :) ( i am not at sedway anymore)
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 13, 2008

am a student a sedway right now and i hate waking up in the moring to go to school they have way to much rules the teachers yell at you fo nothing and the place is a mess if i could i would change schools right away kids are always tryin to fight other kids for no reason i would not put your kids in this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2007

This is the most awesome middle school ever! I attended here my 7th and 8th grade year in 05-06 and they were both great years. Mr. Allen is an excellent principal and so are all the other administrators and others that I got to know while working in the office as an aide. Sedway is definetly a great school and I really suggest this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 15, 2007

Great school, the best teachers!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2007

this is a school involving great academics and teachings. My child absolutely loves this school.the teachers are very helpfull. It's a great learning environment for her. I hope if you enroll your child ,she/he will like it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2006

Sedway has many electives to choose from us.the we can take part in any thing we are interested in.A few of the electives are Beg.art,guitar, orchestra,and band.All of those go up to intermediate and advance.They also have Technology,spanish,french,Spanish/French,Drama, P.E(for 7th graders), and many more! They also have many after-school clubs that help us out the with academics. But the we have fun at the same time.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

471 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

471 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

462 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 62% in 2013.

467 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

456 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

459 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2013.

445 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
27%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

423 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students25%
Female29%
Male21%
Black/African American18%
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracial29%
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian35%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch23%
Full price44%
Students with disabilities (IEP)2%
Students without disabilities28%
Students with limited English proficiency7%
Proficient in English29%
Not migrant25%

Reading

All Students43%
Female50%
Male37%
Black/African American31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracial57%
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian57%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch43%
Full price49%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
Students without disabilities47%
Students with limited English proficiency9%
Proficient in English52%
Not migrant43%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students31%
Female33%
Male30%
Black/African American20%
Asiann/a
Hispanic34%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian33%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch30%
Full price40%
Students with disabilities (IEP)8%
Students without disabilities34%
Students with limited English proficiency18%
Proficient in English34%
Not migrant31%

Reading

All Students43%
Female52%
Male35%
Black/African American32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian48%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch41%
Full price53%
Students with disabilities (IEP)14%
Students without disabilities46%
Students with limited English proficiency10%
Proficient in English50%
Not migrant43%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students19%
Female23%
Male15%
Black/African American13%
Asiann/a
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian29%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch18%
Full price26%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities22%
Students with limited English proficiency4%
Proficient in English21%
Not migrant19%

Reading

All Students39%
Female46%
Male32%
Black/African American27%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian46%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch37%
Full price47%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities44%
Students with limited English proficiency2%
Proficient in English44%
Not migrant39%

Science

All Students36%
Female38%
Male34%
Black/African American22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian61%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch33%
Full price47%
Students with disabilities (IEP)2%
Students without disabilities40%
Students with limited English proficiency4%
Proficient in English40%
Not migrant36%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 61% 40%
Black 26% 10%
White 6% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
Two or more races 3% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (702) 799-1785

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3465 Englestad St
N. Las Vegas, NV 89032
Phone: (702) 799-3880

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Jim Bridger Middle School
North Las Vegas, NV



Maranatha Academy of Las Vegas
North Las Vegas, NV




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT