Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eva G Simmons Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

Great school with teachers that care about the students. I have seen my son grow so much in his learning and he loves going to school because he has a great teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2013

I have had three kids in this school for two years and we love it. The office staff is caring, teachers are engaged and administration is excellent. I had concerns about one of my child's teacher this year. My concerns were addressed and I felt heard, even though they didn't switch classes, I was okay with it. There is a lack of parent help, but other than that, an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2013

I love Eva Simmons Elementary School. The Asst Prin rocks! I volunteer there and he ALWAYS has a positive outlook on any and all situations. He is always out and about while the students are on campus ensuring a safe and nurturing learning environment ....


Posted August 15, 2013

Awesome! My oldest daughter attended Eva Simmons and it was the best school she has yet to attend! Everyone was great, the teachers, staff and parents! Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2012

This is our 2nd year at this school.. I think this school is great... The people in the office are very friendly & kind... Some teachers are very caring... I've never met the principle through (couldnt even tell you what she looks like) the only thing I dont like about this school... They never send out papers to let you know things or if things have changed... Just a heads up for you parents.. This school doesnt celebrate the following due to religious reasons; Halloween, Christmas, Valentines Day, etc.. Found out today Birthdays are not allowed... Now I'm stuck with 24 cupcakes... Wish I would have known this in advance.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2011

The principal ('10-'11 school year) is not a nice person and lacks adequate management skills. The high rating of this school is misleading as some of the reviews are by office staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2011

There are much better schools out there. Parental involvement is average. Administration is poor. You can do better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

Eva G. Simmons is a great school in our North Las Vegas neighborhood. There are caring teachers and the administration is supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2008

I have been at Eva G. Simmons for 3 years now and coming in from a different school the staff and the pta members we're very welcoming i have also been in the pta for 3 years the teachers are great the staff is great. overall i love this school and would recommend it to anyone.


Posted February 12, 2008

As a parent and someone who works in the office I can honestly say the teachers are caring and expect the best from the students . I feel my daughter is in a safe enviorment when she is at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2007

Simmons is an excellent school. When we moved here two years ago my son was in 4th grade and the first day his teacher said he needed to be tested for gifted and talented program. The teacher continued to make sure he was challenged throughout the year. They also have an excellent peer mediation program. It is always hard proving yourself at a new school so I was very pleased. Now I have two in kindergarden and they are loving it. The teacher is very enthusiastic and loves to teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2007

This is the first year my boys 4th and 5th grader have attended Eva G Simmons. This is actually the first year we have ever attended any school in Nevada. Coming from and excellent school district in California I was a little skeptical about my boys coming to a new district. So far I love it the teacher are very helpful and patient the staff is very friendly and my boys a enjoying there new school. My boys have had the opportunity to try different sports in P.E. they both have art and music, I really like this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2006

My daughter has been at the school for 2 years now and we LOVE it! The teachers are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
33%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

123 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
32%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female67%
Male76%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian80%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch66%
Full price80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English79%
Not migrant72%

Reading

All Students62%
Female69%
Male54%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian71%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch55%
Full price71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English71%
Not migrant62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
Female68%
Male66%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian74%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch60%
Full price76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities69%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English68%
Not migrant67%

Reading

All Students69%
Female78%
Male61%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian68%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch66%
Full price74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English71%
Not migrant69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female65%
Male62%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian82%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch57%
Full price71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English69%
Not migrant64%

Reading

All Students64%
Female72%
Male57%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian76%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch56%
Full price74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English68%
Not migrant64%

Science

All Students52%
Female55%
Male49%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian73%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch37%
Full price69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities57%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English57%
Not migrant52%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 34% 40%
White 31% 37%
Black 14% 10%
Two or more races 10% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2328 Silver Clouds Dr
N. Las Vegas, NV 89031
Phone: (702) 799-1891

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




University Baptist Academy
North Las Vegas, NV


Eva Wolfe Elementary School
North Las Vegas, NV


Addeliar Guy Elementary School
North Las Vegas, NV


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT