Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lucile Bruner Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 734 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 23, 2013

I'm a high school Graduate from the class of 2013. I attended Lucile Bruner all throughout Kinder to fifth grade and it was honestly a great school. Though I do remember the constant immaturity of the other kids. I did have one rude teacher and after that, it went great. The teaching system was also balanced fairly well throughout he years though I personally felt that the lessons were taught to slow. Now I baby sit my friend's sister and she tells me she says she likes the environment overall. I have encountered some rude staff and can say the only reason parents will have an issue is the lack of parents educating their children at home not to harm or pick on other children. The parents should be more involved in the lives of their children.


Posted December 21, 2012

HOW DARE A TEACHER TELL HIS CLASS MY SON IS A PIECE OF TRASH! ENOUGH IS ENOUGH! THIS HAS GONE TO FAR!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2012

by the beginning of september 2012, my son was telling me about this kid in his class that had hit him on several different occassions. i told him to tell his teacher. after my son continued to tell me that this kid had escalated her assaults, i wrote letters to the teacher and the principal. i even spoke with the teacher and principal myself. after 3 months, i really had expected positive results. on 11/05/2012, at approximately 10 am, i personally went to the principals office again. she told me that she had spoke with my son and the bully that morning and the bully admitted to assaulting my son on several occassions. the principal further stated that she did not believe the assaults would stop. i asked the principa what would happen if the bully assaulted my child again. she replied, well, if it happens again, you might want to consider moving your child to another class. i was appauled. when i picked my son up that same day from school, he told me that after the principal talked to him and the bully, when they went to PE, the bully responded by picking up a pine cone, throwing it and hitting him in the face. the principal resolved the issue by moving my son, not the bully, hmm
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2012

Both my husband and i work for the school district. We had a son enrolled in Bruner last year. Our son on several different occassions told us about him being mistreated physically by other kids. Our son is small for his age. On a few occassions, i went to the school to observe. Being a known employee, i was never questioned about my prensence. I noticed my son being picked on by kids, and my son would not hit back. Anonomously, i called the school and reported these incidents to the principal. The principal told me, she would take care of it. I waited approximately six weeks. My son continued to complain about being abused. Once again, i went to the school and observed the same behavior, the other kids in fact were still abusing my son. At PE time, i spoke with his teacher and asked her when did the principal speak to her about this subject. The teacher looked at me with a puzzled look and said, the principal has never spoke to me about this matter. I politely said thank you, went to the front office and removed my son from bruner. There appears to be a pattern of the principal allowing certain groups of students to be allowed to have free reign of her school without ant dicipline
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2012

This school has a really good teaching staff, however, their office staff needs improvement. They speak to you from there desk across the room, they are not informational, they are rude, and they are lazy. The office staff lacks the ability to be personable to parents and over looks items in children's files. The office staff needs some new faces. As far as my child's education. He improved tremendously after enrolling here, he was more confident, and it showed through the improvement of his grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2012

my opinion of this school doesnt matter really, but if you ask my son.....this school lacks warmth, understanding, honesty, sympathy and most of all it lacks teachers who try to relate to each child individually according to that childs circumstance. NOT ALL CHILDREN LEARN THE SAME OR HAVE THE SAME BEHAVIOR PATTERNS......AS TEACHERS YOU WOULD THINK THIS WOULD BE CONSIDERED!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2012

This is a great school. I have three children enrolled here and volunteer to help as much as possible in the classroom. It is sad that many will not look past this supposed ranking of 2 out of 10 based on test scores...not due to the teachers. Being in the school as much as I have been for the past 5 years, it seems the parents do not take their children's education very seriously. Absenteeism is high and kids move around the school district at the drop of a hat. How can one expect a child to learn and then translate this to state test scores when they simply don't show up or never have a chance to adjust and are pulled from curriculum to curriculum because of families moving around the county for a variety of reasons? I get to see first-hand the caliber of teachers at this school and they are second to none. I am well-educated myself so my standards are high..It would be nice to see more parents stepping up and realizing the integral role they need to play in educating their child. Please don't determine the greatness or lack thereof of a school on a standard that is very difficult to uphold when families don't do their part..volunteer and see for yourself. GET INVOLVED!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2012

I am a high school student who attended Bruner for six years. Every year was amazing and unforgettable. My peers, every year, became almost like a second family to me, and my teachers became a part of this family. They were like my best friends. Mrs. Howard was the principal then during that time period. We still go back to go to the multicultural festival every year... The teachers were always kind and patient with the students, and aimed to teach subject matter and responsibility with equal weight. I always looked forward to going to school, to seeing my teachers, to learning something new, and to see me friends' smiling faces and knowing they felt the same. I can't express the gratitude I have for every staff member and former student alike, and I can only hope it hasn't changed a bit. From my friends' younger siblings' stories, I don't doubt my faith in this school's future, at all.


Posted December 16, 2011

This school was realy wonderful. I am sad to say we unfortunately had to move and I was tired of driving my child so far away. Goynes Elemmentary is such a terible school. Below, I will list the trachers my child had: Kindergarden:Ms. Tavernini 1st Grade: Ms.Martin 2nd Grade: Ms.Stoll 3rd Grade: Mrs.King MOVED DURING 3RD GRADE Goynes Elementary school teachers: 3rd Grade: Mrs. Brodus 4th Grade: Mrs.Richards 5th Grade: Mrs. Jackson THEN Mrs.Bennet Unfortunately, Mrs.Jackson became a drama teacher in a diffrent department. I felt realy bad for my kids because they had the meanest substitudes for over 2 months.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2011

BRUNER IS THE BEST ELEMENTARY SCHOOL EVER YOU SHOULD GO HERE,BECAUSE THE TEACHERS ARE VERY NICE AND THE PRINCIPAL DR.CONGER AND MS.SIKMIRE IS NICE TO I DONT KNOW HOW TO SPELL HER NAME HAHA BUT YOU SHOULD COME TO BRUNER MY TEACHER MS.HUFFMAN IS VERY NICE WE DO A LOT OF PROJECTS


Posted May 20, 2010

I like the school , I have my 9 year old daughter enroll , my only concern is that they had been changing principals tree times for the last 2 yrs wich is not good for the kids and staff..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2010

This is my 17th year teaching and is the best school I have ever taught at.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 19, 2009

I had two of my three children enrolled in Bruner years ago. Failure of assistance from the Principal in a serious threat, provoked me to pull the children out and homeschool for 2 years. I am now searching for a public school and willing to give the school system another try and I will definetly NOT be enrolling them at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2009

My students attended Bruner last year and had a great year. Mrs. Stoll and Mrs. Hrdina are wonderful teachers, and my children had a wonderful experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2008

I have 4 kids enrolled in this school from 2nd grade to 5th grade. Our 5th graders have attended Bruner since Kindergarten. The teachers are great and our kids love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
37%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

113 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
22%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students39%
Female42%
Male35%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch37%
Full price48%
Students with disabilities (IEP)14%
Students without disabilities45%
Students with limited English proficiency36%
Proficient in English42%
Not migrant39%

Reading

All Students42%
Female45%
Male38%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch37%
Full price61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)14%
Students without disabilities49%
Students with limited English proficiency34%
Proficient in English49%
Not migrant42%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students47%
Female46%
Male48%
Black/African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch36%
Full price69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities53%
Students with limited English proficiency32%
Proficient in English51%
Not migrant47%

Reading

All Students57%
Female64%
Male48%
Black/African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch45%
Full price80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities62%
Students with limited English proficiency45%
Proficient in English60%
Not migrant57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
Female65%
Male59%
Black/African American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch60%
Full price64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities65%
Students with limited English proficiency41%
Proficient in English67%
Not migrant61%

Reading

All Students50%
Female56%
Male45%
Black/African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch47%
Full price58%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities52%
Students with limited English proficiency19%
Proficient in English58%
Not migrant50%

Science

All Students47%
Female43%
Male51%
Black/African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch42%
Full price64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities49%
Students with limited English proficiency15%
Proficient in English56%
Not migrant47%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 48% 39%
Black 22% 10%
White 21% 39%
Asian 5% 6%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A50%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4289 Allen Ln
North Las Vegas, NV 89032
Phone: (702) 799-0620

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Addeliar Guy Elementary School
North Las Vegas, NV


University Baptist Academy
North Las Vegas, NV


Eva Wolfe Elementary School
North Las Vegas, NV



Steve Cozine Elementary School
North Las Vegas, NV


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT