Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Jo Mackey Elementary School 3

Posted November 03, 2015
- a student
The teachers are not always the nicest to the kids. I have experienced walking the halls and heared them degrade kids in their tone and language. I think they can do a better job with communication amongst the staff and students. The kids do have good experiences, but also feel they cannot talk openly with their teachers.

Jo Mackey Elementary School 5

Posted August 25, 2014
- a parent
Jo Mackey has a positive environment and school culture. Special accolades to Ms. Modesitt (excellent 3rd grade teacher), Ms. McClinton (art specialist), and Ms. Sigmond (Special Ed/resource teacher).


Jo Mackey Elementary School 4

Posted June 18, 2013
- a parent
I am very satisfied with my son's 1st grade progress...coming from private pre-k & k I was a little worried about the area but, it was great! Mrs. Washington has a no nonsense policy which is awesome fir creating JoMackey leaders!

Jo Mackey Elementary School 2

Posted May 23, 2013
- a parent
We were not impressed by the school at all, as a parent I wouldn't recommend it. Some teachers do not have adequate experience or training, and...teaching and learning environment is not child-friendly.

Jo Mackey Elementary School 5

Posted September 14, 2012
- a parent
My two kids are attending Jo Mackey and they love their school. My daughter is a 5th grader and she is into the Robotics team. Also she participate in School Choir and this week she perform as the News anchor. My son attends 2nd grade and his teacher is very qualify in science and math. This school is great, the teachers masters the subjects and made the school time very enjoyable for the kids. I recommend this school to everybody!


Jo Mackey Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 09, 2010
- a parent
I have received numerous notes and flyers sent home with spelling mistakes. I have received notices with incorrect dates for teacher in-service. In addition, if you are pro-Obama, this is this school for you. This is an academy of democratic and progressive politics. If the school we are zoned for had a traditional school year like Jo Mackey, and not 12-month, I would have pulled my child out of school mid-year and sent him to a public school. There is no way I will let him attend 2 years in a row.

Jo Mackey Elementary School 5

Posted January 09, 2009
- a parent
This is a great school! They have a broad band of teaching. Not a cookie cutter school. My son loves going to school for thje first time! the fifth grade teacher Mrs. Miller truely must love children and teaching. She is my son's favorite teacher so far in his educational process.My son is ADHD. This school is well informed about children with ADHD and teaching them.

Jo Mackey Elementary School 4

Posted December 19, 2008
- a parent
Teachers in this school is providing adequate training students. They have computer lab and other facilities to enhance the knowledge of students. Attitude of teachers towards the students and their work is very positive. I recomend this school to other parents


Jo Mackey Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 20, 2007
- a parent
I was not impressed with this school!!! My daughter never had an agenda for what she was going to be learning from week to week.

Jo Mackey Elementary School 5

Posted May 12, 2007
- a parent
This school just won the Magnat school of excellence award this year. They have a lot of extra activities and the leadership theme is wonderful. The Principal and all of teh teacers are so friendly and helpful. This is the best school I have seen here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jo Mackey Elementary School
2726 Englestad, North Las Vegas, NV  89030
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (702) 799-7139
Last modified Jo Mackey Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top