Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Theron H & Naomi D Goynes Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 20, 2013

This is our first year at this school. We were very fortunate to be placed in a class with an amazing teacher. I regularly volunteer in the class. However, I can't give the school 5 stars because at our very first meeting they cut my Childs IEP in half and then proceeded to tell me that he wont qualify for one next year because he isn't struggling enough. He has high functioning autism. My only other concern is the front office. The first time I volunteered I just walked right in the front door, signed a book, took a sticker and wandered off into the building. No one spoke to me, checked my ID, asked where I was going, etc. That is a little scary. Traffic in the morning is just a ticking time bomb. Cars go in every which direction. Kids and parents running across the street. Cars don't stop for crossing guards. Its scary. I don't allow my child to walk alone and we live directly across the street. someone is going to get run over. They need to do something. FAST.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2013

This will be my son's 2nd year at Goynes ES and overall school has good reviews since I volunteer during school hours twice a week.I felt welcomed by my son's teacher and by office both school years, but as I ask information about my child's homework, I always experience office manager having private whispering conversations about other teachers and staff! Be professional and do your job. Mr. Hybarger always seems unavailable and never on campus to know what's going during dismissal, there are cars driving the opposite way while leaving parking lot. School needs improvement by administration!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2013

My son has gone to this school for the past 3 years, at first the school was great. But this year I'm not very happy with the pairing of the teacher with my child, and I've come to find out that parents are not allowed to request a teacher for next year. They don't seem to care about helping the children that need more help with a teacher that will be beneficial to that child. They just care about statistics and good school ratings. If your child is in the top 20% of testing then no problem if not they get screwed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2013

I have found the staff to be very responsive to concerns expressed in the classroom. We especially love the principal's involvement at every level in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2012

We moved here towards the end of the school year but my child's transition to this school has gone very smoothly. The school is very large but the class are spread out evenly so the children still get a smaller classroom setting. Mrs. Batista has been wonderful and communicates very well with parents. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2012

Goynes Elementary has been a great school for our son. He attended both Kindergarten and first grade. We've had great teachers both years and they have been fantastic in addressing my son's special needs. The on staff OT & Speech therapists were great and my son's IEP was carefully crafted to fill his needs. Ms. Rennie & Ms. Batiste are AWESOME teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2009

My children have attended Goynes since it opened. I love this school but have found in the last 2 years the quality of education my son is receiving is on the decline. This has nothing to do with his teacher, it's the fact the school has grown to be the largest elementary school in the district. My children have been in portables for most of their years, the class sizes in the upper grades are too large. When we moved to Aliante when it was first being built, we were told the school was for the children of Aliante. CCSD obviously had other ideas. Now we have children from out of our school zone who attend, swelling the school population even more. Yes, Goynes is a great school but it may not be for much longer if the growth doesn't stop.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2009

I agree with previous positive reviews. We just moved to Goynes from N. Virginia schools and have a kindergartener and 1st grader. The teachers have gone out of their way to help our children successfully transition mid-school year. While they are required to teach the baseline, they have plenty of supplemental activities to test and challenge students above the average. Goynes is a year-round school with 5 tracks - one track is always on a short break. Next year, the school is re-zoning and we will move to a new school, Triggs. One area for improvement would be visitor security. While teachers are very open to parent involvement in the classroom, the front office does not require you to sign in or ask for your ID even though you have to pass through there before accessing any part of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

Goynes Elementary is a wonderful school. Mrs. Medina and Ms. Tabar are wonderful teachers that care. Unfortunately, we have moved from the area and my children can no longer attend, but they certainly had a great experience while they were there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2008

This school merits way more than a 6! As others have stated, the principal really makes the school a great place. Great extracurriculars - a hip hop dance troupe, chorus, and musical theater! Great focus on technology - my 1st grader was already learning to make powerpoint presentations and do internet research! Accelerated reader program is nice, too. This school was recommended to me by another principal in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2008

I love this school. The principle is wonderful and is always encouraging his students to do better and the teachers are very happy and hard working. My children have attended this school for two years and I love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2007

My son has gone to his school since it opened it's doors 3 years ago and he is now in the fifth grade. We moved here from a top rated school district in San Diego CA. and it does no even come close to this school. Goynes has been awesome. They go above and beyond what the child needs. My son has struggled with math and writing and every teacher he has had every year has helped temendously. He loves going to school so much, and in San Diego he never wanted to go. All his teachers have made learnig sooo much fun, and they have all been very accesible. Most of all the principal Mr. Hybarger is amazing. He is very accesible. Overall it is just the most amazing school and I cant' say enough great things about it! We will miss it so much when our son gradutes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2007

As a parent of an older child who attended a highly ranked school in Texas, I am profoundly impressed with this elementary school. I can't speak regarding other teachers, but my daughter's first grade academic ability is well above what my son was capable of in the second and even third grade in some subjects. The students have been challenged consistently. I have also seen students who were struggling receive the extra attention when necessary. The atomosphere at this school is welcoming and well organized. There is also a tremendous PTA that truly works together with the administration not just as a fundraising organization. A great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2007

We just moved here 6 mos. ago and my son has been welcomed with open arms. He loves his teacher and has made many friends. The office staff always seems helpful and courteous. The school is always hosting great family night fund raisers. Security seems to be adequate. The school grounds always seem to be clean and well maintained.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

146 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students74%
Female78%
Male69%
Black/African American52%
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian89%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch65%
Full price79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities81%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English75%
Not migrant74%

Reading

All Students67%
Female70%
Male64%
Black/African American45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian75%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch49%
Full price78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English69%
Not migrant67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female92%
Male88%
Black/African American79%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian90%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch82%
Full price93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English90%
Not migrant90%

Reading

All Students83%
Female89%
Male76%
Black/African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian85%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch73%
Full price87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English84%
Not migrant83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female74%
Male76%
Black/African American54%
Asian91%
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian83%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch69%
Full price77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities78%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English77%
Not migrant75%

Reading

All Students75%
Female72%
Male78%
Black/African American50%
Asian91%
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian83%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch65%
Full price81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities78%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English78%
Not migrant75%

Science

All Students64%
Female52%
Male76%
Black/African American46%
Asian81%
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian68%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch53%
Full price70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities67%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English67%
Not migrant64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 40% 37%
Hispanic 25% 40%
Black 14% 10%
Two or more races 11% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3409 Deer Springs Way
North Las Vegas, NV 89084
Phone: (702) 799-1770

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




University Baptist Academy
North Las Vegas, NV


Eva Wolfe Elementary School
North Las Vegas, NV



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT