Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Theron H & Naomi D Goynes Elementary School 2

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
There are some great teachers here. But the principal and faculty are fake nice. Not open minded at all for special needs students prefer to push through the system and make them someone else's problem rather than do what's best for the kids. Horrible experience with some of the faculty at this school.

Theron H & Naomi D Goynes Elementary School 5

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
2 years now and we love this school. I really like their program for GATE and higher learning students. I would recommend this school to everyone.


Theron H & Naomi D Goynes Elementary School 5

Posted October 20, 2014
- a parent
I was surprised to read the negative review about the office staff, as they have always been very friendly and helpful for us. My kids have had great experiences here at Goynes. They love their teachers, haven't had any issues with bullies, and are doing well academically. We are very happy with all of our experiences here!

Theron H & Naomi D Goynes Elementary School 3

Posted October 07, 2014
- a parent
Are any other parents having a high level of difficulty with this office staff? Where was this group assembled from? It is reaching the level of horrible. Not sure if it is us or what however the complete lack of care or professionalism is astounding. I cannot believe we are the only parents having trouble in the admin office. Word of advice to them ...if you hate your job and are just here collecting a check ...please ask for a transfer.

Theron H & Naomi D Goynes Elementary School 3

Posted December 20, 2013
- a parent
This is our first year at this school. We were very fortunate to be placed in a class with an amazing teacher. I regularly volunteer in the class. However, I can't give the school 5 stars because at our very first meeting they cut my Childs IEP in half and then proceeded to tell me that he wont qualify for one next year because he isn't struggling enough. He has high functioning autism. My only other concern is the front office. The first time I volunteered I just walked right in the front door, signed a book, took a sticker and wandered off into the building. No one spoke to me, checked my ID, asked where I was going, etc. That is a little scary. Traffic in the morning is just a ticking time bomb. Cars go in every which direction. Kids and parents running across the street. Cars don't stop for crossing guards. Its scary. I don't allow my child to walk alone and we live directly across the street. someone is going to get run over. They need to do something. FAST.


Theron H & Naomi D Goynes Elementary School 3

Posted October 05, 2013
- a parent
This will be my son's 2nd year at Goynes ES and overall school has good reviews since I volunteer during school hours twice a week.I felt welcomed by my son's teacher and by office both school years, but as I ask information about my child's homework, I always experience office manager having private whispering conversations about other teachers and staff! Be professional and do your job. Mr. Hybarger always seems unavailable and never on campus to know what's going during dismissal, there are cars driving the opposite way while leaving parking lot. School needs improvement by administration!

Theron H & Naomi D Goynes Elementary School 3

Posted April 23, 2013
- a parent
My son has gone to this school for the past 3 years, at first the school was great. But this year I'm not very happy with the pairing of the teacher with my child, and I've come to find out that parents are not allowed to request a teacher for next year. They don't seem to care about helping the children that need more help with a teacher that will be beneficial to that child. They just care about statistics and good school ratings. If your child is in the top 20% of testing then no problem if not they get screwed.

Theron H & Naomi D Goynes Elementary School 4

Posted February 08, 2013
- a parent
I have found the staff to be very responsive to concerns expressed in the classroom. We especially love the principal's involvement at every level in this school.


Theron H & Naomi D Goynes Elementary School 5

Posted May 08, 2012
- a parent
We moved here towards the end of the school year but my child's transition to this school has gone very smoothly. The school is very large but the class are spread out evenly so the children still get a smaller classroom setting. Mrs. Batista has been wonderful and communicates very well with parents. Great school!

Theron H & Naomi D Goynes Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2012
- a parent
Goynes Elementary has been a great school for our son. He attended both Kindergarten and first grade. We've had great teachers both years and they have been fantastic in addressing my son's special needs. The on staff OT & Speech therapists were great and my son's IEP was carefully crafted to fill his needs. Ms. Rennie & Ms. Batiste are AWESOME teachers.

Nearby schools

Theron H & Naomi D Goynes Elementary School
3409 Deer Springs Way, North Las Vegas, NV  89084
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (702) 799-1770
Last modified Theron H & Naomi D Goynes Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top