Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

John Tartan Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 670 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 4, 2014

I am as substitute teacher,The staff at this school is very rude & have negative "attitude" problems. Which is why I will never go back! In addition, Tartan starts at 7:25am which is ridiculous for elementary kids. MANY, MANY,MANY of my students were extremely late and few coming in an hour after bell rings!!! All of the kids are yawning and having trouble, they should go back to starting at 9am like all the other schools if anything 8am .It is in the best interest of the students Tartan changes their start time!!!!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 25, 2013

Upon my daughter entering kindergarden things were rocky and I didn't like this school at all. I had to deal with one rude staff member in the front office. I love the teachers and staff. If you care and invest in your childs education and get involved there should be no problems. Yes theres kids and parents who have little to no brains but the decent outweighs the garbage. The parking situation is horrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2013

This school has teachers who care, and it is a nice clean school. My kids have enjoyed going there this past year, and their reading and math is improving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2013

This school is run about as poorly as you could run one. The principal is rarely available if she is on the property at all. Not all, but many of the front office staff are rude. play ground supervision is poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2013

I am appalled this school and the principal employ a teachers aide named Elizabeth Gaeta. She is a rude young girl who doesn't respect parents or the children she is suppose to be caring for. I have seen her yell at a little boy for not walking fast enough for her liking. I have also been told by other witnesses she has hit a child if they do not do as she tells them. Sadly she works with disabled children whom cannot speak up for themselves. My child went to this school for less then a year. Once I found out this girl was going to be assisting in their class I spoke my concerns to the principal. They were ignored and dismissed. The staff of this school do not care if they are putting your child in danger.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2011

I had my Daughter enrolled in this school 2010 and 2011. The teachers have no concern for safety within the black top. - I have found several times where my daughters class room was left outside in the heat because the current teacher was in a parent teacher conference. " At least send someone to get your class ". - My wife has had numerous encounters with the front office staff answering rude, not answering the phones or even talking down to student in school. - We both have experience rude parents who also have no sense in safety. Cutting you off in the cars when your walking or even taking over 2 car spaces. I don't know if this is a race / ethnic reason.. I would hope not but yet to this day we still experience parents that just don't care. - We just could not do it anymore... I feel my child doesn't need to be around all this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2011

This school is getting a bad rap that it does not deserve. There are many great teachers and the principal is actually quite caring. There are a lot of opportunities for children to shine. The pricipal allows parents to be as involved as they want to be. People want to blame the school for their kids problems when really they need to blame themselves for not doing their part to make the school successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2010

I would just like Tartan Elem. School to update its official website. I can't hear update report from teacher about my son's development in the school often, I am just relying on its website that I could get update on the school activities, events etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

I was told by the teacher and Asst Principal that they don't give out homework, because they want them to be kids and "it doesn't get turned back in". plus, they won't let the kids bring home books; might get lost. Can't the books be numbered and signed out at beginning of yr and you are responsible for them? You need some homework to reinforce the work done in school. The teachers and administration are poor at best. The principal told me " if your son gets in trouble again I will have the other kid's family press charges against him; he was 9. My son doesn't go to this "school" anymore and I am sooooooo glad. I feel sorry for the rest of the students that have to go there. You would be better off getting the computer/online school for your child then putting them through this waste of time
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2010

My daughter is in the fifth grade and she doesn t get any Homework at all. She is not going to be ready for the 6th grade. This school is below average. I really hate they we had to go through 4 years of inadequacy. The only good teacher I have experienced was Ms. Jessica Graham. She really motivated her class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2009

I have noticed several times when I took my son in Tartan, The teachers and Principal were not reall devoted to guide parents, traffic to proper places. Some were there outside, but just observing and standing. ABOUT HOMEWORK, the teacher doesn't give enough homework. Most of the time, none. No very much motivation they're giving to students. Not very much activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

This is one of the worst schools i have ever expirenced. The principal does not care about what goes on with her very rude and inapropriate teachers who instead of uplift students they tear them down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2009

The principal is unaware of what goes on in this school. Isn't it a requirement that when you become principal you need to know what goes on in 'your' school?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2009

Too many inadequate teachers, principle doesn't work with parents to resolve issues. Have had to move both my kids' teachers and tracks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

Ms.Curth is my sons teacher and she really cares about every student in his class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2008

This school is a joke. The teachers are below average. The principal is uncaring of what happens in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2008

We moved here about a year ago and I tried my hardest to see the good in this school and I just can't!! Not only was my son math facts champ, we didn't get notified untill I see in the February bulltin that his name was on the list! I call the school and their answer is 'We notified.' Yeah right! Now my daughter is in Kindergarten and her teacher is just the greatest. My biggest fear is if I am not on top of my game, somthing will happen. I don't feel any parent should feel like this when sending their kids off to school. n Oh and I feel in Kindergarten the classroom shouldn't have 33 kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2007

This school is not what it is cracked up to be. Sure it's beautifully landscaped and newly built, but the quality of teachers are not good. It seems as though the teachers feel any child who has any type of behavior problem, no matter how minor, they label your child as ADD or ADHD. They never follow through with implementing startegies that they themselves put in place for the students. I do not recommend this school for any child or parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2007

I have found this school to have one of the best quality teacher's and I feel my kids are very safe attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

Too many kids in the classes, teachers don't seem to know what is going on. I offered to volunteer & the teacher never followed up on it. It seems chaotic in the classroom the times I have been there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
34%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

128 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
29%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students62%
Female54%
Male70%
Black/African American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian62%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch54%
Full price77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities64%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English63%
Not migrant62%

Reading

All Students47%
Female47%
Male47%
Black/African American23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian48%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch40%
Full price62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities51%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English51%
Not migrant47%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
Female68%
Male53%
Black/African American39%
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian58%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch54%
Full price74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities65%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English59%
Not migrant60%

Reading

All Students62%
Female67%
Male57%
Black/African American39%
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian71%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch55%
Full price77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities67%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English62%
Not migrant62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
Female54%
Male65%
Black/African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch53%
Full price73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities64%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English60%
Not migrant59%

Reading

All Students56%
Female56%
Male56%
Black/African American42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch50%
Full price70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities62%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English59%
Not migrant56%

Science

All Students51%
Female45%
Male57%
Black/African American28%
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch42%
Full price73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities55%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English54%
Not migrant51%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 34% 40%
Black 27% 10%
White 23% 37%
Two or more races 9% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3030 East Tropical Parkway
North Las Vegas, NV 89081
Phone: (702) 799-4701

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT