Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Don E Hayden Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 604 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 17, 2014

I am a substitute teacher and I always enjoy my time at Hayden Elem. The teachers & staff are awesome. The students are well behaved here when compared to other elementary schools in the area. Overall, a good school.


Posted March 4, 2014

This school is terrible. Their is constant bullying going on at the school, which the staff don't do anything about. The teachers and staff do not care about the kids. They have terrible service when you come in and talk to teachers/principle. It is one of the worst schools my daughter has attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2013

This school is FANTASTIC. My daughter teaches there and the summer reading assignment No Complaints from Ivy the principal was the best read ever. It helped me in my job. I would love to work under Ivy and I am very excited for a great school year for Don E Hayden school.


Posted August 15, 2013

This will be my child's 4th year and every teacher thus for has been great! My son was bullied by a classmate in 1st grade,I spoke with his teacher and it was taken care of.Volunteering is welcomed, more by some teachers than others.I feel it is just as much the parents responsibility to be aware of their child's progress or needs of improvement as is the teachers.If you went over your child's homework daily then you would know how your child was doing in class.At the beginning of each school year the teachers provide their contact info. if you are ever curious then communicate.Hayden Elementary is one of the few schools in Vegas that provide the kids with "specials" (PE, ART, MUSIC, LIBRARY, COMPUTERS, etc.). Many schools don't have an ART or MUSIC dept.Hayden also provides after school tutoring. Hayden is a good school, with a lot of great teachers and EXTRA opportunities.There will always be those inappropriate children no matter which school you choose,even private and charter schools have dysfunction.What we teach our kids starts at HOME.As parents stay involve and communicate.Its not always the specific school either(reference grading and curriculum) its the school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2013

5 weeks. Not 5 years or 5 months, 5 weeks is all it took for me and my wife to decide to pull our child out of this school. Teachers don't have full qualifications, even though we were told they did. Letters, phone calls, and inquiries aren't answered. Complete lack of integrity, professionalism, and work ethic within the staff. Its so bad I've since written NV Congressman Dean Heller to address the problems here. Amazing how haphazard this school and school district are with the education growth of our children. Complete lack of pride and conviction. THIS SCHOOL IS AN EMBARRASSMENT! Avoid it if you can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2013

Hayden Elementary School use to be a good school a year ago theres so much bullying going on and they claim to have a no bully tolerance which is bull many kids are geting hit on the bus and nothings being done about it my childs teacher has also been telling her "dont act like ur so sweet and innocent cuz ur not" who tells a child that smh
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2012

I love this school. My child has improved his reading scores so much. He was in after school tutoring and loved it. He was behind alomost 2 years and is now caught up. Thanks to the hardworking teachers he has had and the free after school help. Thanks to the staff!!! and all the ideas they gave me that I could do at home too. I love how they have afterschool programs. (Soccor, Art class, before and after school tutoring, chorus) I really feel that his teachers care about my sons education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2011

This has to be THE worst school in the history of schools. The teachers care more about their personal problems than the kids. Apparently they don't know how to separate the two and punish the children because of it. What teacher talks about their boyfriend and love life to a bunch of 8 year olds? My child is constantly telling me about the horrible things her teacher says to her class, puts them down, calls them names and embarrasses them in front of other school children.To make matters worse, they've recently changed from A/B report cards to standardized report cards without even explaining what our child needs improvement on. The kids aren't getting any feedback as to how they are doing in school. Even graded classwork and tests aren't being given back to the students. It's as if they actually want our children to fail. The customers service in the front office is HORRIBLE! They do not care about a parents concern BUT are quick to point out small mistakes of an 8 year old. This school needs to be torn down and replaced. A parking lot charging $20 an hour would be better than this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2011

After almost 1 full school year at Hayden (1st and 4th grade) we are pulling our kids and never looking back. From teachers who don't understand nor can explain their own grading procedures to the constant screaming, divulging inappropriate personal matters to students and constant focus on bad behavior, we are done. Entire classrooms get held after school for a few kids not behaving (bad when your kid has to pick up a younger sibling from their teacher) and miss their bus. My kids are military children & have been in gifted programs at every other school. At Hayden they have gotten lower grades and been able to get back up to straight A's only after a teacher finally lets a parent know that things have been in the toilet for weeks. Daughter's first day of class, she was told by a male student "I wanna do you" and shoved into a wall in science class. Every little incident has happened IN class with a teacher present. My 1st grader's class had 1 parent who volunteered (which is NOT encouraged) and this parent wound up pulling her child out of the school and advised me to do the same. Principal is there to back teachers, good luck getting anywhere. This place is a disaster, run away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2011

Please parents DO NOT send your children to Don E Hayden! The bullying at this school is out of hand and not dealt with time and time again. My children have attended Don E Hayden for 4 years now. The first two years I was extremely happy with the professionalism and the overall performance of the teachers. The teachers seemed happy then but a different administration and principal was in charge. The last year especially has been a HUGE let down and I have watched Don E Hayden's performance fall drastically. The teachers are over worked and stressed (not to mention under paid) and MY CHILDREN SUFFER BECAUSE OF THIS. Don E Hayden claims to have a zero tolerence for bullying but this is also untrue. I have to either escort my children in the morning and follow them around until the bell rings OR withdraw my kids well-deserved play time and bring them directly before school commences. This is to prevent my kids from being bullied at recess before school. Administrators and monitors are NOT doing their job and this reflects poorly on the leadership at Don E Hayden. What is my principal doing to protect my children? Nothing. Sad, sad, sad excuse for leadership at Don E Hayden.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2010

Ourchildren have attended for over 3 years now. Impressed woth majority of the teachers. Also love the office staff and assistant principal. Assistant principal cares for the children and does not tolerate bullying, etc. Principal, not impressed with. She has shown no compassion or concern in certain situations and has not notified us of very important happenings that we coud have been better prepared to deal with. Would not recommend school if you are looking for compassionate, caring leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2010

This school is not great. Most of the teachers are not willing to help children who struggle with subjects. There are few after or before school programs to help students advance. The admin. sends letters home about things that happen off of school grounds but fail to notify parents when a knif is brought to a bus stop. My child has attended hayden for 3 years now and I am not happy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2010

I have worked at other schools and in another state. I can honestly say that Hayden Elementary School is a true educational GEM! The administration is true perfection and the teachers are all caring and want only the best for each and EVERY child that comes through the door.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 5, 2009

My child has gone here for 2 years, and he loves it. They have a lot of extra activities for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2009

Both of my kids attend this school since it opened and the staff and teachers are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2008

This is the third year my children have attended Hayden and they love it! We have never had any challenges here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2008

My kids have been going there since its been open. And they love it. The staff is great and there teacher are too. Really no complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

88 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female74%
Male77%
Black/African American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian92%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch69%
Full price87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English76%
Not migrant75%

Reading

All Students64%
Female69%
Male58%
Black/African American39%
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian83%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch53%
Full price85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities67%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English64%
Not migrant64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
Female72%
Male83%
Black/African American66%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian90%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch69%
Full price92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English79%
Not migrant78%

Reading

All Students70%
Female63%
Male76%
Black/African American62%
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian77%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch60%
Full price86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English71%
Not migrant70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
Female65%
Male58%
Black/African American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch59%
Full price64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities69%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English62%
Not migrant61%

Reading

All Students66%
Female70%
Male63%
Black/African American61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch63%
Full price72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities71%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English72%
Not migrant66%

Science

All Students49%
Female50%
Male48%
Black/African American39%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch42%
Full price61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities53%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English52%
Not migrant49%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 29% 10%
Hispanic 29% 39%
White 29% 39%
Asian 7% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A50%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

150 West Rome Blvd
North Las Vegas, NV 89086
Phone: (702) 799-3870

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT