Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Legacy High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 4 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 17, 2014

My daughter has been at Legacy for 3 years now. Teacher's here care about the students and those who are willing to learn. One of the main problems at Legacy is the OVERCROWDING of students!!! Sometimes my daughter doesn't even eat lunch either because the lines were toooo long or all the seats were taken. Class sizes are HUGE, she has both regular & honors. NOW there are little to no fights as administration has taken that into control. At least 50% of this school is african american if not more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2013

My son graduated from Legacy this past August. He always loved attending Legacy and was very involved in athletics and activities. He qualified academically and athletically to get a scholarship to compete at the college level. He has just completed his freshman year of college and he did well. The teachers and academic programs at Legacy prepared him for his college experience. Way to go Legacy! Longhorns for life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2013

this school is horrible period. I've attend Mojave , which is right up the street before moving a little ways down. I must say I AM NOT A LONGHORN, I definitely miss Mojave. Here at legacy fights break out on a daily , i feel unsafe, there are so many arguments in the class room between kids i barley able to learn. Its funny because the reputation that Mojave has doesn't fit it all , ( the one about Mojave being ghetto and dangerous) When in reality legacy is the bad school. I've talked to my parents and we decided we will splurge on gas to take me up the street every day to learn at Mojave because Legacy Is A HORRIBLE school. I would NEVER send any family here to learn as long as i live.


Posted February 8, 2012

Let me start out by saying that this school has to be one of the best schools in the valley. I have been going to legacy for two years now and have had a blast. Legacy has tons of clubs, and our theatre program is beyond amazing. We also have tons of challenging courses and countless honors and AP options. There are also many courses that most schools dont offer. The rumors of too much violence on campus is way over exaggrated. There are fights, but completly normal ones that would'nt harm a fly. Campus is definatly safe, and the fact that it is inside is a bonus. Moreover, the teachers accually teach and dont take any crap. I would definatly recomend this school over any other school in the valley.


Posted March 2, 2009

The best school i've been to in the North Las Vegas. With such a high clark county safety control by having school officers inside and out constantly monitering yet respecting students and staying out of the students path, to any aspects of the school through the academic opperunities the school offears by it's wide assortment of classes, and vast exxterecullar activities. The school is indoor, and although allows much-less freedom as school's like cheyenne did before it cleaned up, offears a safe-friendly enviorment. Leagacy's a much better school than other's, the feeling is much better, people get along much better, and people like it. Although, it's standards are alot higher, many student's prefear it over any. But it's not perfect; just good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

This school is very nice and makes you feel great when yoou are if people who care about you and want you want to be.. The teacher care about their kids.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 5, 2008

I have been to 3 other high schools in my life, and so far this has been the best i've been to. Everybody is always talking about legacy not being safe, but i think it is. If you compare it to other schools around it, i guarantee you will not find one any safer. And i think the most important thing parents should be looking for in a school is education. An by far none, Legacy offers great classes to all students. They have the most diverse languages and challenging classes one can have. I really would recommend this school. Especially because it's the cleanest one and best for education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 21, 2008

My daughter is a junior at Legacy. The staff and principal are the worst, not the worst in the Clark County school district but horrible. With all the fights that break out almost daily how can the students concentrate on education when all you have to think about is violence in the school. I can't wait until my daughter is out of this gun infested school district. I would not advise any parent to send their child to this school or any school in Clark County district, this town is a education disaster!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2008

I am currently a student at Legacy. Parents can say all they want that our campus isn't safe but when you look at the other high schools, ours is kept safe as much as possible. This school in my opinion is one of the best. It offers classes no one else does and challenging courses. They also have some good teacher in here, ones that actually teach you and make you understand it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 30, 2008

This is an excellent school for students who want to be challenged in their education. It offers many honor classes that actually qualify as an honor class. Students here are above average students. There are many opportunities for involvement of both parents and student to participate in this school. While this school may have a fight or two, it is nothing like those in the valley. It's a very nice school to visit, parents are welcomed at all times. I love the layout and it couldn't be more safer than others. Parents need to be more responsible in their students life to help fight the problems within the schools. I've raised children in 3 other high schools and Legacy by far is a choice selection for education, cleanliness, participation, and student involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2007

This school does not take the responsiblity in making sure the campus is safe for all students. There are to many fights on campus during school hours and this is unexceptable. There should be more consequences these students have to face if they cannot respect each other or staff. I do not recommend this school to any parent or student.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

692 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

686 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

683 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

686 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female72%
Male70%
Black/African American58%
Asian76%
Hispanic66%
Multiracial85%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian90%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch65%
Full price76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)25%
Students without disabilities76%
Students with limited English proficiency33%
Proficient in English72%
Not migrant71%

Reading

All Students74%
Female77%
Male71%
Black/African American61%
Asian87%
Hispanic69%
Multiracial82%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian91%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch67%
Full price80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
Students without disabilities80%
Students with limited English proficiency19%
Proficient in English76%
Not migrant74%

Science

All Students77%
Female75%
Male79%
Black/African American64%
Asian78%
Hispanic74%
Multiracial85%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian95%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch73%
Full price81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)27%
Students without disabilities83%
Students with limited English proficiency35%
Proficient in English79%
Not migrant77%

Writing

All Students75%
Female81%
Male70%
Black/African American62%
Asian84%
Hispanic72%
Multiracial87%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian89%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch71%
Full price79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)21%
Students without disabilities81%
Students with limited English proficiency15%
Proficient in English77%
Not migrant75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 31% 10%
Hispanic 30% 40%
White 24% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
Two or more races 6% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (702) 799-1701

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

150 West Deer Springs Way
North Las Vegas, NV 89084
Phone: (702) 799-1777

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Mojave High School
North Las Vegas, NV


University Baptist Academy
North Las Vegas, NV



Cheyenne High School
North Las Vegas, NV



Desert Rose High School
North Las Vegas, NV


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT