Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

D L Dusty Dickens Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 20, 2014

I've had a good experience with Dickens elementary and the office staff is really great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2014

5th graders are out-of-control and believe they can do and say what ever they want. More parent involvement is needed here.


Posted October 3, 2013

My sons are in 1st and 2nd grade and have wonderful teachers. They show their concern about their students and welcome parent interaction. I have sat down with them and it shows they really pay attention to their students. The office staff are very helpful as well and it shows on a daily basis. I am looking to move within the next few months and I am only looking in their school zone, why change a good thing?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2012

My daughter has attended Dickens since Kindergarten and she is now in 4th grade. I also have children in Kindergarten and the Preschool program at Dickens. I love the principal and vice principal and the office staff. The teachers are good, but the stress of their jobs always being on the line shows in there mood towards the children. I also would like to see more parents care about their children and participate at the school. Clark County is a tough place to raise children the schools have limited funding and so many children do as they please without parental discipline. If you are a parent that is involved your child s education this is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2011

I love Dickens. My daughter went to Kindergarten last year and I was soo worried because I had to leave my baby at school, alone, without me. It was shortly after meeting her teacher that I knew I had nothing to worry about. Miss Bratland was a joy and my daughter LOVED her, I loved her, my son loved her! We are thrilled that my son will now have her as his teacher this year. I really can't think of anything bad to day other than their award ceremonies need to be better organized so that there is not so much crowding... other then that.. my daughter learned alot, did great, loved school, and we loved it too... We are all looking forward to the year ahead for them... I can only hope that all the other teachers are this wonderful! Everyone in their staff is so kind and just willing to go above and beyond for your kids....Miss Pam is amazing! THANKS DICKENS for making a scary thing so easy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2011

Not very happy with the kids at this school. teachers are great but the kids are just out of control . fights happen here more then alot of the parents know of i believe. i seen fights in the morning and in the afternoon . Along with the kids fighting we also have adults fighting . i seen cops here 3 times in one month. i think its time for the school to do something about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2010

My son also has attended this school since it opened. The staff and principals are great knowing every childs name and a caring attitude. The teachers are the most outstanding and the students show it. However they also have been put in a position to deal with students that have diciplinary issues. This problem has been spread out to the various classes of the students grade level so one teacher doesn't get them all in her class. This is disruptive to the rest of the class. The students are always on alert when their only focus should be on the current lesson at hand. These problem students intimidate the other students and are at times violent. There is a tolerancy for this behavior beyond what our students should have to put up with. These children are special needs children and should be in special needs class of their own.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2009

Currently there is a PTa at Dickens. We are such a new school that there is a growing period as well as needed parent participation to make a PTA visible. Please keep posted and look at all the notices that come home! We are trying to build a community with the administration too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2009

For Clark County being what it is, this is by far a diamond in the rough! Dickens Elementary is a wonderful school with a caring principal and dedicated staff. My daughter has been in kindergarten and first grade here and we have witnessed remarkable learning in both classrooms. Although the class size is on the high side, my daughter is already reading chapter books as she goes into 2nd grade. I attribute here abilities to her excellent teachers. I recommend that if you are moving to North Las Vegas, you purchase/rent a house that is zoned for this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2009

Great Teachers and Great Staff.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2009

My son has attended Dickens since it opened...our experience has far surpassed his previous school that is also in the Clark County School District. The staff is always polite and I never feel unwelcome when I volunteer. So far every teacher we have had has been excellent and I would not hesistate to recommend our school to anyone new in the area
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

I have just enrolled 2 of my children into this school. My daughter began her first day in a brand new 5th grade class, and at first left me wondering if this is the right move. She had felt so out of place, I had began to see tears fill her eyes. However, as her new teacher had come up to introduce herself, I had noticed that she had brought one of the students with her. She introduced the 2 of them, and I then noticed an instant change in my daughters mood. I cant say for sure that this will be a perfect school. But I had never seen a teacher make that kind of effort to make a child feel comfortable. Usually your name is announced at the start of class, and it is up to you to find yourself a nice comfort level. Definately impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
38%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
31%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

127 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
Female63%
Male58%
Black/African American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch54%
Full price78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities64%
Students with limited English proficiency54%
Proficient in English62%
Not migrant60%

Reading

All Students47%
Female54%
Male41%
Black/African American35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch43%
Full price58%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities51%
Students with limited English proficiency33%
Proficient in English50%
Not migrant47%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female70%
Male59%
Black/African American44%
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch65%
Full price64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities71%
Students with limited English proficiency52%
Proficient in English67%
Not migrant65%

Reading

All Students60%
Female66%
Male55%
Black/African American51%
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch56%
Full price79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
Students with limited English proficiency29%
Proficient in English66%
Not migrant60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
Female80%
Male76%
Black/African American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian90%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch73%
Full price91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English78%
Not migrant78%

Reading

All Students62%
Female63%
Male61%
Black/African American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian75%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch58%
Full price74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities64%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English66%
Not migrant62%

Science

All Students55%
Female50%
Male60%
Black/African American35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian65%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch52%
Full price68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities55%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English56%
Not migrant55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 38% 40%
Black 30% 10%
White 19% 37%
Two or more races 6% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5550 Milan Peak St
North Las Vegas, NV 89081
Phone: (702) 799-3878

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

John Tartan Elementary School
North Las Vegas, NV







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT