Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Theron L Swainston Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

My son has been attending this school for the last 2yrs. Some of his teachers are great others in the pass not so great. Ms. Brown and Ms Westfall has been the most helpful with my child needs in education i appreciate all their help! The kids at the school are not so great. I'm a parent that believes in it starts at home first! Lots of fighting at this school. Needs more supervision!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

I am a student that attends this school, Swainston Ms is the worst school I have ever attended. I came from a charter school in Colorado, and it was extremely high class. The principal has shown a lack of interests when it comes to here school, my advice to parents and students, do not attend this school if your looking for the top education and stff, I shall be posting more reviews


Posted March 4, 2014

This school is so Ridiculous. I am a current student at Swainston. And I so upset. Te dean at this school RPCed my friend for something she didn't do, she wasn't even involved. This is so unbelievable. The dean is very picky when it comes to RPC and Suspension. I'm just DONE with this school.


Posted August 28, 2013

My school is awesome all the teachers are awesome and very kind 10000/1000 I am so happy I go to this school.. YAY GO THUNDERBIRDS!!!!


Posted August 5, 2013

If you are in good classes, you will most likely have a better experience at Swainston. The teachers I have gotten through out all my three years there were mostly pretty good. They mostly attempted to teach me what I needed to know, while still cracking in a joke here and there. I used to think I was bad at math, until I got a teacher in which taught me in a simplistic way I could actually comprehend. Although there are some cons, I mainly enjoyed my experience there.


Posted May 6, 2013

This school has some good teachers like Mrs.Tetlow and Mr Bradley but the school is not a good place to send your kids to. Everyday I take my kid to school and what do I see a ambulance just because a kid is injured in a fight.There is no presence of school staff around to keep the kids safe at all.My kid has been bullied now twice this year and there is a report done but the dean has done nothing to resolve it at all.The kids that go to this school do not behave and the teachers could care less about the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2013

I feel this school lacks teacher conduct. Rarely does the principle intervene when the teachers are having issues with students. I feel they are overloaded and under staffed. The after school tutoring is overloaded. Not really a good school overall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2012

Alright for those of you looking to put your kids in a "good" school it should not be this one. I'm a student at this school school and recently moved here from another.Some things like dress code arent so bad and I understand why they would apply it but other things like teachers and their "ways of teaching" are in my opinion a lot worse than the school i used to go to.Not only were most of my teachers ahem...... douche bags but they would spend more time finding exuses to get that one kid to admit hes doing something wrong then the actual lecture.For the parents who came in here thinking it looks nice and cheery i can tell you otherwise-thats why im writing this.Why would a student write this is a question people reaading this might ask; because its summer and right now I'm trying to find a decent school fr myself right now to prevent from going to swainston this next year again (going to 8th grade).You might be thinking who cares what this kid thinks because its probably because he just doesnt like school. Well yes some things we learn in school i see completly uselles but its not because of that (a litte shallow).


Posted March 27, 2012

I am the parent of a sixth and an eithth grade student. Their teachers are all wonderful. When I walked in the school i immediately felt welcome by the officer manager, the principal and the student aid sitting at the desk who all greeted me with a hello and a smile. I would recommend this school to anyone who asks, regardless of what others say
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2012

Swainston is one of the worst schools I have ever sent any of my children to. Mr. Bickmore is probably the only person there that really cares about the students and the parents. All the others simply don't have the students best interest in mind. I have 3 middle school aged children and and they are zoned for this school but I enrolled 2 of them at a different school because I feel they deserve a better environment than Swainston can provide. The 1 child of mine goes there because he a special needs child and the special ed program seems to be good for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2011

I am a student in 8th grade currently attending swainston middle school. I like all the teachers i have this year. they are all supportive of my education. The administration could be better. the teachers who really care are Ms.McClaurin, Ms.Meadows, And Mrs.Webb.I Thank Those teachers greatly. Althought i have been having some problems with the administration Which i hope will be soon resolved.


Posted November 30, 2010

I am a student at Swainston and i HATE this school!!!!! Im in seventh grade and i do not like the teachers!


Posted April 27, 2010

Swainston MS is a great school. Mr. Bickmore is the best administrator I have ever dealt with as a parent. He truly cares, is at each event, and knows all the kids. Great job Swainston!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2009

This is a good school. Adults are visible throughout. Everyone is greeted in a friendly fashion. The teachers and administration is very helpful and goes out of thier way to stop everything to handle a concern.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

Thia is the best school. i have been to many others but this has the best teachers and the office people are very helpful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2009

I love this school. Most of the teachers are really nice and it really shouldn't matter what school you go to because it's what you make of it. I got a good education, like I was in algebra honors :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 22, 2009

I am a 7th grade student at sms and there are good things and bad things about the school. The best thing is the assistant principle mr. bikmore. He always talks to us kids and is funny and makes school fun. he is always fair. there r some kool teachers and some teachers that just like to yell at you all the time.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 22, 2009

I am a parent and agree with the comments about the assistant principal, Mr. Bickmore. He is simply the best but can only do so much. If you need help, go to him. He always got right back to me when I left a message. I do appreciate the facility always being clean and nice. The office staff is wonderful. My son has good teachers and not so good teachers but I guess that is at most schools. I do feel comfortable with the school and what it has to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2009

The absolute worst subbing experience I have ever had. The place is the Wild West where the kids run the place. There is no discipline, and as a matter of fact when you send a kid to the dean - the kid doesn't even go because they know there are consequences! Things were thrown at me, all classes were the model of disrespect. After the school I spoke to principal about the day and there was no surprise - she knows the kids are out of control. To be quite fair, one of the contributing factors was class size - big classes - 38 in one - makes for more of a challenge. I will never go back there!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 26, 2009

only because I feel they have no respect for there students or teachers nor parents
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

386 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

385 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

364 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 62% in 2013.

363 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

411 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

414 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2013.

412 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
28%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

411 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students30%
Female29%
Male32%
Black/African American18%
Asian68%
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian38%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch27%
Full price44%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
Students without disabilities33%
Students with limited English proficiency10%
Proficient in English34%
Not migrant30%

Reading

All Students46%
Female48%
Male44%
Black/African American32%
Asian73%
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian58%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch41%
Full price64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
Students without disabilities50%
Students with limited English proficiency10%
Proficient in English53%
Not migrant46%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students41%
Female51%
Male35%
Black/African American28%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian62%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch36%
Full price55%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities47%
Students with limited English proficiency12%
Proficient in English45%
Not migrant41%

Reading

All Students45%
Female57%
Male37%
Black/African American35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian59%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch42%
Full price52%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities51%
Students with limited English proficiency0%
Proficient in English51%
Not migrant45%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students29%
Female34%
Male25%
Black/African American17%
Asian42%
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian36%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch24%
Full price38%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities33%
Students with limited English proficiency9%
Proficient in English30%
Not migrant29%

Reading

All Students33%
Female41%
Male27%
Black/African American19%
Asian53%
Hispanic34%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian39%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch26%
Full price47%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
Students without disabilities38%
Students with limited English proficiency6%
Proficient in English35%
Not migrant33%

Science

All Students41%
Female41%
Male41%
Black/African American26%
Asian53%
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian47%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch38%
Full price46%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
Students without disabilities46%
Students with limited English proficiency12%
Proficient in English44%
Not migrant41%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 46% 40%
Black 28% 10%
White 17% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
Two or more races 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (702) 799-4806

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3500 West Gilmore Ave
North Las Vegas, NV 89032
Phone: (702) 799-4860

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

University Baptist Academy
North Las Vegas, NV







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT