Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rancho High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 2989 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 13, 2008

I graduated in class of 08, this school has greatly improved over the yrs. i had gone there. I had great teachers and my math teacher mr.Corbet who teaches calc a and b does an perfect job and teaching you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 13, 2008

Well i go to Rancho in that school is cool! Am in the maget program the magnet program teach you alot of things but outside of the magnet program there are lots of things to do.You have sports, clubs and many more things to do at rancho. People may say the school is bad but its not this school year we only had about 3 frights that was broking up fast. But wit am saying is let your kids come to Rancho High School!!!!! CLASS OF 2011
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2008

i am 2012 soon to be graduate and think rancho is the best high school in clark county for the medical program
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 23, 2008

The magnet school is not stellar. The coordinator is unresponsive and the administration is not held accountable. This school is a place to lose your kid as it struggles to teach english and has an unbelievable lack of; care, concern and education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2008

This school is two schools; the Magnet Program and as the kids call it the 'general population'. As a parent of a child in the Magnet Program I find it is, at best, an effort to improve the overall test performance of a school at risk of losing federal funding. The administration is not engaged nor responsive a a productive way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

The Magnet program is stellar!! The Coordinator is energetic and is there for my child. Her teachers are also excellent, especially her Geometry teacher. This school is the best kept secret in the city!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2007

I feel this school is an excellant school with incredible teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2007

I attend this school now! It is so great. The medical program is as best as ever. They offer so many AP classes. Don't be fooled about security. We have an indoor school now and most fights occur out of school or in secluded areas. I hope to see you there!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 18, 2007

I love the school so much. I love the Aviation program that I am in. I have fun at school eveyday. The school premises is beautiful. If you saw the inside without seeing the surrounding neighborhood, you would not be able to guess it is in the heart of the ghetto. I have not had any problems with students this school year so far. But I do love the dance team. Go Rams!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 15, 2006

They have the very best medical and aviation magnet programs in the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2006

Rancho High School is considered a bad school beacuse people only look to the outside, they should think about academics not the look of it besides now with the new building and all new, educaution is better. With the new building came new stuff. And if your child is interested in Aviation or Medicine(Medical) you should enroll them in the 4-year Magnet Programs.just go to http://magnet.ccsd.net/ or for Rancho HS go to http://magnet.ccsd.net/high/rancho.html or http://www.ccsd.net/schools/rancho/
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2006

Contrary to popular belief, Rancho High School is a great institution of learning... it just isnt in the ideal location. With a police station 2 blocks north, and Channel 3 news 1 block west, it's virtually guaranteed that any scuffle in the hallways will be heard about on the evening news. As both a recent alumni and older brother to a current student, I can say wholeheartedly that the quality of learning, dedication of staff, and school pride is above reproach. The magnet program in particular at Rancho is nationally ranked as being among the best in the country. And for the 2006 school year, they're getting a brand new campus, books... everything negative associated with the old campus will be a moot point. I couldnt be prouder than to one day have my own son or daughter graduate wearing the colors of my alma mater. Go Rams!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 22, 2006

We are loving the new school building. Security guards is visible. Safety is being addressed by the school. Some of the security guards has kids going to school at Rancho. Now if we can get the state to provide new books we r in business ! I don't mind contibuting to pay for new books and I am sure the other parents feel the same way. I don't mind helping in expenses. Our goal is to have the children learn and have books up to date. Go Rancho !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2006

Rancho is a horrible school. The facilities are dirty and unkept. The whole school should be condemned. My daughter has teachers who curse and yell continuously at the students. She is enrolled in the medical magnet program and I have never had to deal with so many idiotic people in my life. They constantly give you a big run around when it comes to parent meetings with the magnet office. The principal is an arrogant, self-absorbed man who takes credit for all of the students hard work. The art programs are terrible. I'm overjoyed that my daughter is graduating out of this horrible school in a few weeks. My suggestion: don't consider Rancho for your child.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 9, 2006

For those who dont know Rancho has gone downhill big time! Former students from The Ranch would be appalled from the injustice students are made to face each day, From administrators who are quick to implement discipline without gathering the facts,to restrooms that are poorly supplied for the students. If you want the facts check out Rancho for yourself, because I see this everyday with my own two eyes.If you descide to visit The Ranch talk to the students because they have no reason to lie.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted December 24, 2005

My Son attended 9th and 10th grade at Ranco High before we PCS'd from Las Vegas in June of 2003. I was not impressed with the School or the Principal. I worked with one person at that school who seemed to really care about the students and that was Mr Calderone. I can tell you that if your student has a learning problem than you really need to be on top of things. My son Misses that school, but I DON'T! If you can afford to send your child to a priviate school than I would!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2005

For the most part, Rancho is a fair school. It's not in a safe area, the principal is in it only for the sports and some of the teachers are not the best at teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2005

Rancho High School is a great school. It has a great diversity of students which bring in a welcoming enviroment. There are also great programs and activities for Teenagers to enjoy, For example Student council, Folklorico, Band, Diverse sports and Mariachi. It has some wonderful teachers who are not in it for the money but the true satisfaction of seeing your child succeed. In addition it has a great and career fullfiling Aviation and Medical Magnet Program.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 17, 2005

They have a very good magnet school program. However, I fear for my child's safety whenever they have after school activities. There have been problems of safety in the past, not only within the school premises but also the surrounding neighborhood as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2004

Susan Mictcum has been very helpful with problems occuring reguarding scheduling for after school activities associated with the magnet portion. Due to the location of the school and the ethnic student enrollment there have allready been a few confrontations with my white child and the predominant hispanic population. Again the principal is hard to reach and has yet to return 3 messages.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

684 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

686 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

685 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

674 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female76%
Male77%
Black/African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islander88%
White/Caucasian91%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch73%
Full price84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)26%
Students without disabilities80%
Students with limited English proficiency22%
Proficient in English85%
Not migrant76%

Reading

All Students74%
Female77%
Male71%
Black/African American78%
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islander85%
White/Caucasian92%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch69%
Full price84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)19%
Students without disabilities78%
Students with limited English proficiency14%
Proficient in English83%
Not migrant74%

Science

All Students71%
Female68%
Male74%
Black/African American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islander85%
White/Caucasian92%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch66%
Full price82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)25%
Students without disabilities75%
Students with limited English proficiency14%
Proficient in English80%
Not migrant71%

Writing

All Students73%
Female78%
Male68%
Black/African American74%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islander91%
White/Caucasian88%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch68%
Full price83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
Students without disabilities77%
Students with limited English proficiency21%
Proficient in English81%
Not migrant73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 71% 39%
White 12% 39%
Black 10% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
Asian 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A50%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (702) 799-8316

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Cross country
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1900 Searles Ave
North Las Vegas, NV 89101
Phone: (702) 799-7000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT