Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brown Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 29, 2013

My two older children went to Brown School and it was ok. My youngest son went to Brown for P-k and Mrs. Spanier was the best. Now he is in kindergarten and his teacher Mrs. O'Connor and her aid Mrs. Roeder have given us a horrible experience. They were rude and very disrespectful. The new principal tryed to help better really acted like she could care less. Want to move him, looking for new opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2013

The principal (Ruth Williams) and administration are terrific. They are very receptive to concerns and questions, and have an open door policy. We are thrilled that Brown has just switched over to a traditional school year term (instead of a track system) and are looking forward to that in the fall. Some of the teachers are not our favorites, and some we love, but that's the way it was when we were in school. Brown Elementary holds kids to high academic standards. My only suggestion would be that the PTO attempt to be more inclusive and transparent, emailing all PTO parents about meetings and such, and that at recess, more supervision could be provided. Thanks for the wonderful times at Brown.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

My son has one of the best teachers; Mrs. Leonard. She has made a huge impact on my son and his personal growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

The relatively new principal, Ms. Arrascada, can be negligent of the parents of students. I find the communication coming mostly from the vice principal, Ms. Ricci, rather than the principal. Teachers are for the most part pretty dang good. There are a few morons but the are few and far between. The school has a great PTO and lots of parent involvement. There is room for improvement, but it is still far ahead of almost every other school in this way. There are certain teachers that are totally fantastic and support the kids and their parents in the classroom. The office staff is literally the greatest! No other school comes close!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

This is our third year at this school and we have had the best experiences. Our child is reading above grade level and it's thanks to the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

We have been at Brown for almost 5 years now. Our family thinks Brown is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2009

I hate the new founded opinion that boys cant be boys and that there is no tolerance for children. This is not a military school yet it functions in a vary militant way, let kids be kids and get off your power trip. my son is in 2nd grade and has been going to Brown since preschool so I can only hope my opinion might be respected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

This is the worst school we have ever been to. I took my children out of this school. Mr. Maye was not helpful at all and the secretary is rude. From our first day there, we had nothing but problems. One exception: Ms. Hutson did a wonderful job with a large kindergarten class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2008

Of the many teachers that my three children have had, I can say whole-heartedly each deserves a 'teacher-of-the-year' award. The school's newly retired principal, Mr. Maye was excellent at bringing the best out of his staff. Our new principal has big shoes to fill. With a new year-round schedule, loss of the accelerated reading store, closed kindergarten drop-off zone, and end in participation in the yearly science fair she had the odds clearly stacked against her. Brown elementary still owns bragging rites to an excellent art program (including a kiln), an amazing music teacher (including band and orchestra), and a PTO paid P.E. teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2005

Brown School is a great school with caring, hard-working teachers and staff that care daily about the safety and learning of each student. There is a friendly atmosphere and parents at Brown volunteer to work with teachers to ensure the best potential of learning and success for their chld. Brown School definitely has a caring staff that works with parents and students to ensure success each year!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 26, 2005

My daughter is in 2nd grade, she has been at Brown since K, she has won science fair for the second year in a row, gets good grades, etc. I know this is because of the wonderful, teachers and staff at Brown. She has an active dance competition life. With out the support of her teachers and school staff, she would not be able to compete and also succeed in school. Dancing is an important part of her life, but without good grades I will not allow her to dance. I truly believe the exceptional teachers and staff at Brown contribute to my daughter continuing to dance. If they did not give 110%, she would not be able to spend the amount of time in the dance studio that she does. To date, her grades are wonderful and she has ALWAYS brought home gold from competition. That says a lot!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

110 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female91%
Male90%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian90%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English91%
Not migrant91%

Reading

All Students86%
Female85%
Male86%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian90%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female96%
Male93%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian96%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities97%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English96%
Not migrant94%

Reading

All Students86%
Female89%
Male82%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian84%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female94%
Male91%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian93%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English93%
Not migrant92%

Reading

All Students89%
Female90%
Male87%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian91%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English90%
Not migrant89%

Science

All Students88%
Female92%
Male84%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian89%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English88%
Not migrant88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 37%
Hispanic 14% 40%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
Two or more races 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13815 Spelling Court
Reno, NV 89511
Phone: (775) 851-5600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT