Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Darrell C Swope Middle School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
My daughters were transferred to Swope from another school and there has been an immediate improvement in my older daughter academically and socially. They want to be more involved in school programs. The school offers assistance for families. The staff is very helpful and friendly and take of things right away. Very glad to have transferred my children here!

Darrell C Swope Middle School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
My son just started 7th grade and he loves swope he doing very well o far


Darrell C Swope Middle School 3

Posted October 20, 2010
- a parent
Swope is a friendly and welcoming place for students and parents. Despite its size, it maintains a warmth that is often found in smaller school. What Swope is lacking is rigor in its academics, even in the advanced classes. Teachers don't provide enough challenge for students which hinders students when they attend Reno High School.

Darrell C Swope Middle School
no rating

Posted April 26, 2010
- a community member
Swope is awesome!! It's the best academically, and there's very little drama or cliques.

Darrell C Swope Middle School
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
The school is full of great kids and the administration is wonderful.


Darrell C Swope Middle School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Good middle school - in spite of too many students they manage bvey well

Darrell C Swope Middle School 3

Posted August 18, 2009
- a student
I went there for 7th grade and im going back for 8th it was ok the teachers are fun but it does get boring there is no challange if ur in an average class advanced math 7-8 in 7th was callangeing though. over all crappy food(average),cool teachers( great) super small school witch means halls are crowded (bad) so i average it 2 be ok = )

Darrell C Swope Middle School 4

Posted June 08, 2009
- a parent
Swope seems headed in the right direction. The inherent issue with middle school is that it can become a waiting room for a lot of kids who are undergoing the most awkward and uncomfortable growing transitions in their lives. Against this challenge, Swope staff and parents are doing their best to direct kids towards the positive and to encourage a healthy learning environment and sense of community. As with all schools, the staff makes all the difference in the world. Overall we're finding that the majority of teachers are qualified and relate well to the kids. This isn't true in all cases, but compared to when my other child attended a few years ago, it has improved a lot.


Darrell C Swope Middle School 5

Posted June 07, 2009
- a student
I love this school! We have lots of fun and great teachers!

Darrell C Swope Middle School 2

Posted March 02, 2009
- a student
Swope is a very diverse middle school. We have great teachers, and the school is very fun, maybe a little too fun. Unfortunately you don't learn anything! It's pretty much just a review of what you have learned in Elementary school.

Nearby schools

Darrell C Swope Middle School
901 Keele Dr, Reno, NV  89509
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (775) 333-5330
Last modified Darrell C Swope Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top