Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Earl Wooster High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 4 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 2, 2014

he escuchado que esta escuela no es muy buena porque no cuidan alos estudiantes de que su vida no peligre y aparte que hay mucha droga distribullendose y los maestros no dicen nada para parar la delincuencia o la distribucion de drogas. mi hija estudiara aqui y me da mucho miedo que los demas grupos mas grandes de ano la molesten o le agan bulling. el peligro me aterra si algo pasaria asi la saco y la pongo a clases en la casa. pero bueno ojala sea mejor este ano nuebo en esta escuela gracias y espero mas vigilancia y control y mejores comidas saludables. gracias
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2011

As a class of 2000 student, the school facility is very outdated, concrete structures, very dark halls, no skylights, very open campus that is hard to survey for staff and easily targeted by common gangs and graffiti, only 2 of the 7 teachers in any given school year I had were great and highly involved with schools, the rest of the staff is by-the-curriculum and seems somewhat uninspired, the private teachers offices are highly cluttered. Physical Exercise often consisted of running and walking laps, aerobic exercise and rarely ball games, floor hockey, archery there is a great deal of unused equipment. The school placed more importance on their football and basketball teams than any other area of education that would be valuable to the city of Reno and state of Nevada. Cafeteria food is extremely poor and daily offers poor nutrition pre-processed and reheated meal franchise outlets, soda and snack machines are common in the school. Sodas, donuts and pizza were served A La Carte for breakfast. This school has no interest in your child's internal health, energy and motivation is low. There are no open gardens, there is plenty of wasted space for non-productive lawns and gravel.


Posted February 5, 2011

This is one of the best schools in Reno or Nevada for that fact. The teachers are highly knowledgable and also the JROTC program is one of the best in the nation.


Posted March 7, 2010

Great school spirit, poor teacher/student interest. Tired of seeing teachers give up at the very first sign of help needed. Will be glad to move my child away this summer and never return to this school again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Great spirit and energy with excellent teachers.


Posted September 15, 2009

My daughter has started her 4th year at Wooster as an IB student. The teachers, staff and athletics dept. have been a huge help in her success and positive attitude. GO COLTS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2009

I have two students that go to this school and I think it's a wonderful school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2008

What can we say about this school accept wow. With as little as it is given the staff and faculty and admin. do an absolutely wonderful job. Our kids are given the best of all worlds around here. Thank you Wooster...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2008

I am a student at Wooster and i am very proud to be a Wooster Colt, and a active participant in Wooster's JROTC program. I love Wooster!!!!<3
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2007

As a parent I have to say I am sad but impressed at the same time. Because the school district doesn't distribute the money fairly we have a school that doesn't get the funding needed to give these kids the same opportunity as in the other schools in the district. The science labs are a disgrace the students use run down computers if they work, old desks etc. For a school that isn't at full capacity they had to turn their autoshop into a weight room. This is the only High School that doesn't have a marching band. With this, the administration is doing a wonderful job with the students. My daughter feels very safe here on campus. I can bring my younger children here without fear of danger. My daughter is receiving a wonderful education and will be able to succeed in College. This school is a hidden secrect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2007

The International Baccalaureate program sets Wooster High ahead of and better than every other high school in the district. It gives students an opportunity to achieve anything they wish to by receiving the best eduction, public or private, possible. It allows gifted children to actually learn something. The downsides of Wooster: the ignorance of the administration, the lack of respect for some of the best teachers in the state, and the lack of maintenance of the buildings and school supplies. For example, it's hard for gifted children to learn college-level chemistry in a broken and under kept lab. There is a major lack of money and alumni/parent support.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 10, 2007

As an employee of the district this is probably the most under-rated school in the district. Wooster has a diverse student body but it also has high acedemic standards. I've known students that have transferred to other high schools in the district and have said that their honors/ap courses don't compare. They find the other schools honors programs easier. I currently have two boys at Wooster and will have another child go there in a few years. While the administration/counselors could use more experience, the teacher's are great. My kid's feel that they have personal attention and they all strongely agree that their teacher's are the best and truly care about them. This school offers great music and sports programs but it lacks the kind of parent/monetary support these programs need to compete at 4A levels. While Wooster may not appear desireable, it's truly a diamond in the ruff.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted September 18, 2006

Academic programs for the more advanced portion of the school are just great. I feel though that this is so because classes for the rest of the school is neglected. Teachers also seem to find it hard to go beyond their call of duty with the exception of a few teachers. Another thing, Wooster has one of the least amount of elective classes or classes overall that I have seen. Wooster doesn't even have an autoshop! Next to that is parent interaction. Parents are very involved during events. Benches in the gym and the field are ususally full on sporting events, and parents always attend the registration meetings. The music classes are great with band and strings classes from beginners to child prodigies. Plus the school has a great amount of clubs and honors.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 5, 2005

I have a child at Wooster High School and I believe it is the BEST school in Reno! The academics are wonderful and the curriculum challenges the kids. Also, the kids are great and I recommend all parents get involved in the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

372 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

371 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

366 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

366 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female82%
Male79%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian93%
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian96%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch75%
Full price85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)25%
Students without disabilities85%
Students with limited English proficiency27%
Proficient in English85%
Not migrant81%

Reading

All Students81%
Female82%
Male79%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian78%
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian96%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch76%
Full price85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)25%
Students without disabilities85%
Students with limited English proficiency23%
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant81%

Science

All Students75%
Female74%
Male78%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian89%
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian97%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch65%
Full price84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)22%
Students without disabilities80%
Students with limited English proficiency21%
Proficient in English80%
Not migrant76%

Writing

All Students77%
Female82%
Male70%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian82%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian91%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch70%
Full price82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)14%
Students without disabilities82%
Students with limited English proficiency4%
Proficient in English83%
Not migrant77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 50% 40%
White 33% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 6%
Black 3% 10%
Two or more races 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (775) 333-5108

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1331 East Plumb Ln
Reno, NV 89502
Phone: (775) 333-5100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT