Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Reno, NV
Students enrolled: 583
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Fred W Traner Middle School 4

Posted June 19, 2014
- a community member
Traner is a good school to go to. People say its bad because of the kids being bad a school but its not. Some kids at traner don't ask for help when needed and affects there learning if they asked for help when needed the school would have better testing scores but overall its a good school to go to but effort is needed to succeed and get good test scores. I like that the traner staff work hard to teach there students to succeed in life and using variety of methods to teach there students.

Fred W Traner Middle School 5

Posted August 23, 2011
- a parent
Traner Middle School is what you and your student make it. The teachers and administrative staff are wonderful. It is imperative that students have strong parental support and discipline at home to make challenges at school minimal. The teachers/staff do care at Traner and that does make a difference;however if they are spending their days taking care of discipline issues, it creates an environment that is not conducive to strong learning from strong teaching - every student must participate 100% in their education in order to learn - their responsibility, along with their parents.


Fred W Traner Middle School
no rating

Posted April 09, 2010
- a student
traner is an amazing school to go to for those parents that say that the teachers are making them fail are crazy those kids dont listen pay attention and dont care fortunatley theres only around 2percent of students her that are rude u all should reconsider this marvolous school

Fred W Traner Middle School 1

Posted August 31, 2009
- a parent
My child went to traner, it was the most miserable thing he has ever incountered, the teachers are lazy dont take time with the kids and get in trouble for the most stupidest things you can imagine, i took my child out of it, wouldnt recommend this school to any parent.

Fred W Traner Middle School 4

Posted December 19, 2008
- a student
everybody worries about traners reputation i was scared too,but just because it has a bad reputation doesnt mean its bad now.their is cameras everywhere most of the electives are fun the teachers and students are always fooling around with each other


Fred W Traner Middle School 5

Posted November 24, 2007
- a student
Traner Middle School is a wonderful place, sure, it does have its ups and downs like any other school, but it is only normal. The teachers at Traner are marvelous, They help students if they need help, and they make all the boring subjects (math, Science, Language Arts) Exceptionally fun. Plus, they are the only middle school to have Creative Writing and Photogrophy as electives. I think Traner Middle School is one of the best schools i have gone too, and that more kida should go there. the only issue i have is that the Honers Language Arts is a bit overcrowded. Other than that, it is, in my eyes, a perfect school. A bonus, Students never get picked on, no matter what they look like.

Fred W Traner Middle School 1

Posted October 25, 2007
- a parent
This school is doing alright with the ciriculim. The only thing is that this school should definately disipline thier kids a little more then average. My daughter is getting into to trouble because of it, and it is causing her to get distracted from her work. School is supposed to be a fun and safe place to learn. But Traner doesn't seem to be making an effort on keeping it that way.

Fred W Traner Middle School 4

Posted October 24, 2007
- a parent
This school has 20 electives for students, most middle schools in this district have between 5 and 8. I was worried about enrolling my student here, but my fears have been put to rest. The campus is safe (there are cameras everywhere, and the move them from time to time so the students have no idea when they will be on camera). This school is under-enrolled, so the ratio of children to teacher is low. Next year they will be offering the only tech elective available to middle school students. I have met most of the faculty here and have been impressed with how much they want our children to succeed. I now believe that you can't judge a school by it's neighborhood. We are moving to another zone in the next semester 'a better neighborhood' but we will be getting a varience so our student can continue here.


Fred W Traner Middle School 5

Posted April 18, 2007
- a student
Very good school I love it. It is not like the reputation it has. It is a very good school the teachers are marvelous they help out the kids and if they need help they are there for you. everyone knows about our bad reputation but we are working hard to change it

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fred W Traner Middle School
1700 Carville Dr, Reno, NV  89512
(775) 333-5130
Last modified Fred W Traner Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fred W Traner Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top