Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Huffaker Elementary School 5

Posted December 07, 2015
- a parent
We just moved to Reno and started our daughter in Huffaker this year. We love the experience so far. She has a great teacher who is focused on educating each child. We also appreciate the friendly and helpful staff.

Huffaker Elementary School 5

Posted March 01, 2015
- a parent
Huffaker is without a doubt one of the best elementary schools in WCSD. Both of my daughters, now in 5th grade, have been enrolled since KG. With very few exceptions, the teachers are excellent while the Principal is experienced and professional. Superior parent involvement. It doesn't get much better than Huffaker for an elementary school experience for children!


Huffaker Elementary School 5

Posted January 17, 2015
- a parent
I have a preschooler and a kindergartner , I was very nervous about the transition from being home and not being in a structured environment to school but it all turned out very well. So far Huffaker has exceeded my expectations far and above. My girls feel right at home wonderful teachers and administrators personnel .

Huffaker Elementary School 2

Posted September 18, 2014
- a parent
Horrible! We didn't realize how bad of an education our kids were receiving until we moved recently and enrolled our children. They are so very far behind. We don't claim to have genius kids by any stretch. They received As and Bs but are at least 2 grades behind. The teachers and administration just don't care.

Huffaker Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
Great school. Great leadership. Great teachers. Great parent involvment. My daughter who has been at Huffaker for 3 years loves this school.


Huffaker Elementary School 5

Posted February 19, 2013
- a community member
I attended Huffaker for 2nd-6th grade and graduated in 2000. Like all of the other comments posted here, it is by far the best elementary and probably any school in the entire Washoe Country School system. Every teacher I had was outstanding. My parents, as well as other parents, were very involved in the school. While I was there I had no idea how lucky I was to have gone there and for tuition free. Unfortunately we moved out of state and I went from a rated 10 school to about a 2. I miss this school.

Huffaker Elementary School 5

Posted April 07, 2012
- a community member
I attended first grade at Huffaker Elementary School in 1957. I remember it fondly. I learned to read there and I had many friends. I had a wonderful teacher, but I forgot her name. I have some of the most beautiful memories of childhood at this school, but I think it was located at another address. I Loved it!!!

Huffaker Elementary School 5

Posted February 20, 2012
- a parent
We are moving to Reno from Oklahoma, my granddaughter is learning delayed and has health issues that do affect her school/classroom involvement. What programs do you offer for learning delayed students. Do you have good counselors on staff


Huffaker Elementary School 5

Posted November 28, 2011
- a parent
I cant say enough wonderful things about tis school! My daughter has been in four schools this one is by far the best ,maybe in all of Washoe County!

Huffaker Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2009
- a parent
I can't say enough good things about this school. We have two daughters attending since Feb '09 and both are doing very well with lots of teacher involvement. 10 months ago, our daughters were adopted from Ukraine and only spoke Russian; now both are mostly mainstreamed in their classes. I see the Principle involved in daily activities and interacting with both students and parents. Let me just say that I commute 18 miles every school day so my daughters can attend this school. I would hope that speaks for itself.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Huffaker Elementary School
980 Wheatland Rd, Reno, NV  89511
(775) 689-2510
Last modified Huffaker Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Huffaker Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top