Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lemmon Valley Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 622 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 17, 2014

Let me first say when I drove by the school, I went home and cried. Although the school is not in the greatest of locations, I have three great teachers, my kids have had made great friends, and the staff as a whole is pretty wonderful. There is a sever lack of parent participation but even that seems to be improving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2013

I went here a year ago and I miss all my teachers and friends. I especially miss Christy Fernandez and Rhylee Woods! I now live in Wisconsin and I am gonna move back there soon.


Posted February 22, 2012

My daughter is doing terriffice at this school. As a 5th grader she reads at an 8th grade level. She is engaged in school activities and always encouraged by the staff to do her best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2012

I love this school. I am disappointed to read that another parent would rate the school as a 1 just because she/he did not want uniforms. There was a paper vote and a large number of parentswho voted yes. Having uniforms has lowered our clothing bill and saved the drama of what am I going to wear today. We should rate the school on the the teachers and principals and it is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2011

My child has attended LVES for a few years now. The teachers I have encountered have all been caring and creative. With falling test scores and continued decline in parent involvement we have adopted uniforms. At a parent meeting to vote on uniforms it seemed no was the favored answer. Weeks later we recieved word the vote had come back yes with no totals included. There could not have been more than 50 parents at said meeting to decide the fate of the school uniform policy. To date there has been no mention of how the uniform money was to be spent. Nor the total value of the uniforms. Likely in the thousands range with 500 plus students. No results can be given as far as bullying or improved test scores with new uniforms. I have talked with many parents about many differant issues at our school. The one thing we all share is approach management of the school with caution, and expect no action to assist you with your problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Love the compassion they show for the kids, especially the office and bus driver!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

My daughter is going to be in 3rd grade this year. She has already attended 1/2 of first grade (due to a move) and full 2nd grade at this school. I have found that both teachers are great in communicateing with me on her progress. Although they both seem to be overwhelmed with the amount of students they have in the class. With the new principal, things have improved and hopefully they will continue to improve. I am not confident with the safety of my child. There have been a couple scary incidents happen around the school (not the school's fault:which were handled great by the teachers) and would hope to see a huge improvement/change on that end. If things continue to happen around the school, I will be switching her to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

My daughter is now in 3rd grade at this school. She has had great teachers every year that communicate well. I find that with strong parents involvement children tend to succeed more. I see good things for Lemmon Valley Elementary. I think it's going to keep improving.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
40%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

102 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students74%
Female67%
Male81%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian74%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch72%
Full price76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities81%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English75%
Not migrant74%

Reading

All Students56%
Female58%
Male55%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian54%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch63%
Full price49%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities61%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English56%
Not migrant56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female75%
Male70%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian71%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch70%
Full price79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English75%
Not migrant73%

Reading

All Students65%
Female69%
Male58%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian65%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch60%
Full price75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English68%
Not migrant65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female90%
Male83%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian85%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch87%
Full price88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English89%
Not migrant87%

Reading

All Students85%
Female85%
Male83%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian85%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch87%
Full price79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English89%
Not migrant85%

Science

All Students83%
Female81%
Male87%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian85%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch85%
Full price79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English89%
Not migrant83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
Female48%
Male50%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian55%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch46%
Full price53%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities57%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English52%
Not migrant49%

Reading

All Students72%
Female78%
Male66%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian73%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch59%
Full price88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English77%
Not migrant72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 37%
Hispanic 34% 40%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
Black 2% 10%
Two or more races 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

255 West Patrician Dr
Reno, NV 89506
Phone: (775) 677-5460

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT