Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Reno, NV
Students enrolled: 1,820

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Robert Mc Queen High School 1

Posted August 14, 2014
- a community member
Don't be deceived by the high ratings -- they were posted YEARS ago and are OUTDATED. The fact that this school has such a high rating is ridiculous. One thing you must know about this school is the order of their priorities. First, they care most about sports (especially football). Then they care about music, like band, orchestra, and choir. Lastly, they care little about academics. Don't get me wrong, many of the teachers are fantastic educators, but overall the school is very sports-oriented. You just don't get the vibe that their top priority is academic success. The counseling department is weak as well. It's hard to reach them, and most of the time, the answer to your question is no. The senior counselors are the most helpful, but are exclusive to the seniors only. The administrators are very strict on rules like dress-codes and tardies, but they're super inconsistent so some kids get away with what others cannot. You also get the vibe that parent involvement is unwanted. They are often turned away or given little "help," if that's what they even call it. If you are considering this school, please spare your child and take him/her elsewhere. There are far better options.
2 people found this helpful

Robert Mc Queen High School 5

Posted March 25, 2013
- a parent
I've had two graduates from McQueen and two are there now. They have an excellent group of teachers and they offer great honors and AP opportunities. The music programs are top notch, probably the best in the state. Like many big high schools, there are challenges, as it feels less of a community than did my public high school with 125 per grade. However, there are efforts made to address that.


Robert Mc Queen High School 5

Posted July 25, 2012
- a community member
I went to this school my Freshman year, and i HATED it ! Mainly because i wanted to go to school with all my friends at north valleys (Big mistake). This school is fast paced, but the teachers are really easy going and understanding. After i changed schools, I noticed a BIG difference in my education. I'm a Junior now, and i'm going back. McQueen is an amazing school! i took it for granted, but I think it's a good fast paced school, and i'm ready for the work load :). I'd be proud to say i graduated from McQ!! Their sports are fantastic, and their band is outstanding! McQueen is one of the best schools in Nevadda!!! great school, nice people. If your kid goes here, they're guaranteed a good education, while still having a good time!

Robert Mc Queen High School 5

Posted November 14, 2011
- a community member
This is by far the best school in Nevada. Not only does it have the top number of students that pass their AP exams, but all the teachers there seem to really love their job and to care about these students. Many of them are involved in extracurricular activities, whether it'd be band, yearbook, the school newspaper, sports, choir or language programs, as well as other fun things. They are both academically and athletically blessed. They've won state on numerous sports, as well as many awards on their published work and on their academic talents. The students are nice, and they care for their school, as it's always clean and well taken care of. Their rules can be a bit "tough" or "strict" but they definitely teach discipline to the teenagers. By far some of the best counselors, and the principal is very nice, as well as involved, although the V.P. seems to be more involved in community events. Excellent school. If I had a chance to do it all over again, I wouldn't think twice about going back to the academy on the hill.

Robert Mc Queen High School 5

Posted November 14, 2011
- a community member
McQueen is by far the best school in Nevada. Everything they have is great. They are always very good at sports, and they are always very good with their academics. Although the students can get a bit overwhelm with their school work, it does what a high school is supposed to do: teach the students in an effective way, and get them ready for college. Very close school, supportive of each and every program they offer.


Robert Mc Queen High School 5

Posted November 14, 2011
- a parent
My first kid went to Reno High and didn't like it so he wanted to get transferred to McQueen. They have a great band program and a great selection of AP classes. The teachers are great, and the principal is very nice, as well as a leader. McQueen High School ROCKS!

Robert Mc Queen High School 5

Posted December 13, 2010
- a community member
Robert McQueen High School is one of the best high schools in all of nevada they have the best staff and faculty. the rules are strict because they want you to succeed. i graduated in 2009, but i think all the teachers there did an excellent job at teaching. as they continue their quest for excellence mcqueen is still number one in my book!!!

Robert Mc Queen High School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
McQueen provides great opportunities for its students to be able to succeed through out their lives


Robert Mc Queen High School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a community member
Best academics! Opportunities for holistic development.

Robert Mc Queen High School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
McQueen High School has great teachers, one that is dear to me, and I've gotten to know a lot of the staff from volunteering forever, since 1995. Had 4 children graduate from there and they are great people.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Robert Mc Queen High School
6055 Lancer St, Reno, NV  89523
(775) 746-5880
Last modified Robert Mc Queen High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Robert Mc Queen High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top