Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Silver Lake Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 4, 2014

My daughter has attended this school for two years now. We moved over from Sparks and specifically chose this school because of the results and we have not regretted this choice. They have been able to challenge her and then, when she was going into third grade they tested her for GT. We will miss this school and the staff. The teachers are there for the children and the principal was amazing for the time that we had her. We are sad to be going, but it is time to move into the next phase of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2013

Two of my kids attend Silver Lake. I love this school!!! The teachers are all wonderful. My kids and I have loved every teacher they have had. The principal, Mrs. Dickson cares about each student. She is always helping in the cafeteria and on the playground. Any time you need to talk to her, she is always there to listen. I would highly recommend this school. There is a lot of parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2013

my daughter has attended Silver Lake from kindergarten until now a 5th grade. We love our school and admin. My son is now in kindergarten and is thriving in speech therapy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2011

My daughter went here and was bullied by a student and No body did anything about it, so we pulled her out. Her new school is wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

Everyone there is friendly. They are helpful and supportive. The teachers appear to enjoy what they do and are here for the children. Currently, my only concern is the school year's schedule for breaks, but we have not gotten there yet, so it may not be as worrisome as I am anticipating. One never knows until one gets there what a situation may or may not be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2009

Teachers and staff are pretty good. The caring of education starts at the Kindergarten level. There is teacher longivity and a good mix of incoming teachers with innovative teaching that deals with NCLB and all the random testing that takes place. I had a child in speech a few years ago and the IEP, though simple, was handled appropriately. I did not even know he had speech issues. I have seen schools with partents begging teachers to evaluate their student but they are overloaded. School does a good job with a diverse population. There is a flux of spanish speaking and billingual aides are made avaialble at an early age. School pride is important and a healthy clean school is apparent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2009

Terribly unprofessional communication between teachers, special education team, and principal (a lot of eye rolling and backbiting at the other groups and finger pointing discussing faults - those types of arguments/confersations should occur privately - not in front of a parent as if we are supposed to choose sides). I pulled my son out and placed him in a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2004

This is a good school that does provide a quality education for my two youngest kids. The teachers are nice and they care about the kids. My kids have received a lot of help since starting there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

99 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female82%
Male80%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian86%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch81%
Full price81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English81%
Not migrant81%

Reading

All Students67%
Female72%
Male64%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian79%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch59%
Full price75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English73%
Not migrant67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female87%
Male85%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian84%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch77%
Full price95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English91%
Not migrant85%

Reading

All Students79%
Female92%
Male71%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian84%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch77%
Full price82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English84%
Not migrant79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female61%
Male74%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian78%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch58%
Full price78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities69%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English72%
Not migrant68%

Reading

All Students74%
Female78%
Male69%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian83%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch65%
Full price84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English78%
Not migrant74%

Science

All Students68%
Female64%
Male72%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian81%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch51%
Full price87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities74%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English71%
Not migrant68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 37%
Hispanic 33% 40%
Two or more races 8% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
Black 3% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8719 Red Baron Blvd
Reno, NV 89506
Phone: (775) 677-5400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT