Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


George Westergard Elementary School 5

Posted September 06, 2014
- a community member
My elementary school days here was nothing short of wonderful. I hope for nothing but the best for this school. If you're looking for a good elementary school in the area, I highly recommend Westergard and its amazing staff.

George Westergard Elementary School 4

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
The staff works well together to offer the students a well rounded education. They follow the common core standards to ensure that students are meeting or exceeding the grade level requirements. If an individual student is falling short, they have a great support system in place to help that student catch up to the rest of the class including school counselors, speech pathologists and one-on-one educators to assist them in class. I love that they offer PE, music, library & computer lab to all students during their weekly class schedule. And the PTO is amazing! Their fundraising efforts have provided additional resources that the school would otherwise not be able to afford.


George Westergard Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a community member
My Granchildren are new to this school & they love it! My oldest is in 2nd grade & he says his teacher really interacts with all the kids & makes learning fun! She doesn't give too much homework either. My youngest is in Kindergarten & she is having a lot of fun learning & meeting new friends. She also really likes her teacher & new school. Thanks to the entire crew there!?

George Westergard Elementary School 5

Posted July 09, 2012
- a parent
What a GREAT school with a wonderful new principal who really is making a positive diferrence. Every teacher we have had so far has have really showed a great interest in the students! The front office staff is A+ and the PTO is very active as well as lots of parents!

George Westergard Elementary School 4

Posted January 31, 2012
- a parent
We have a great new principal who has brought along a whole new wonderful positive feel to the school- HIGH praises to Mrs. Bain! We love our first grade teacher this year, although the actual classroom size is tiny- really tiny. Full day Kindergarten was wonderful, but enrollment NEEDS to change- standing in line in the middle of the night is ridiculous. How about a lottery system like other schools/districts? The half day K teacher is great, too- perhaps she and the full day K teacher could alternate annually to create more fairness to the community... it seems to be the general consensus of many parents. Very active PTO and lots of parental involvement in all areas of the school. We are very pleased overall with Westergard and look forward to many more fun years of learning there.


George Westergard Elementary School 2

Posted April 04, 2010
- a parent
Our child is in 1/2 day Kindergarten. The teacher teaches almost 60 kids a day (2.5hrs) without an aid--the largest kindergarten classes in the area! In contrast, there is an all day K class next door. This class is much more 'priveldged'. The prinicipal fully supports the parents, teacher and children of this class. In additon to the all-day/9-3 advantage, there is a full time teachers aid, and the class is capped (the 1/2 day classes are flooded as a result). In order to get into this class, you need to register the year prior and stand online very early in the am. The full-day K class has a weekly fee$, so it functions like a semi-private school. If you want the best for your child, consider getting a variance, or, private school. Private options: Lion and lamb and Goddard School.. All public school students should receive an equal education.

George Westergard Elementary School 5

Posted March 31, 2010
- a parent
We are very pleased with the level of instruction, the teachers and staff at Westergard - it is easy to sing its praises. The principal is very visible and has set a positive tone based on respect, learning, kindness and rules. The full-day kindergarten is highly sought after as well. With strong involvement from parents, an outstanding staff and committed teachers, Westergard is an ideal school in northwest Reno. We are very pleased with our son's education and his experience at Westergard has been extremely positive

George Westergard Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 29, 2009
- a parent
We have been so happy with our childrens experience at Westergard. The teachers are top notch and truly care about the children. Our youngest child is now in second grade with Mrs. Rich and Mrs. Kass; they do amazing things with the children. We so are impressed how much fun the children have while they are learning. This is our second child to enjoy these two teachers. We can't say enough positive things about Westergard


George Westergard Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2009
- a parent
I am very happy with the education my child has received at Westergard and I am thirlled with his kindergarten teacher (Mrs. Pennington). Everyone at the school is very welcoming, involved and truly cares about each and every student. The school itself is also very clean. I could not ask for more from a public school.

George Westergard Elementary School 5

Posted January 13, 2009
- a parent
What a Great team Westergard is! They work as one big family. The students respect each other, the teachers treat each child as a champion, the staff is very friendly, great parent involvement, and the principal is very interactive. My children come home everyday with smiles on their faces.

Nearby schools

George Westergard Elementary School
1785 Ambassador Dr, Reno, NV  89523
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (775) 746-5800
Last modified George Westergard Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top