Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Caughlin Ranch Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 540 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 22, 2014

We are going into our 5th year at Caughlin Ranch and could not be more pleased. My daughter is happy and thriving there. We love most all of the teachers (especially Miss Miller!) and parents are always involved. Go Colts!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2013

This is our fourth year at this school. The staff is very caring and does a great job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2012

Caughlin Ranch Elementary School is FAR beyond just a 5 star rating. Teachers, principal, faculty and parents go above and beyond to ensure a fun, safe, healthy, happy, exciting and exceptional education and childhood for their students. My child started CRES in kindergarten and attended through 3rd grade. She would have continued on through 6th if we hadn't relocated to the southern area of the state. Both myself and my child miss CRES every single day. The new school is fantastic but pales in comparison. Caughlin Ranch Elementary was truly exceptional and I'm thankful we had the experience that we did there. We genuinely loved every single person we came in contact with at that school. My child loved going to school every morning. Each year was a wonderful experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2012

I have two children who attended this school until we moved out of state. Our oldest attended Caughlin from kinder all the way through 6th grade. We currently live in TX and carefully chose the house according to the highest rated schools. I can tell anyone without hesitation that I don't care what the states say about schools and how TX is ranked higher, while NV is low. The education my children received at Caughlin Ranch exceeds the elementary education they are receiving in TX exponentially. I realize the economy has changed, but the teachers that are there are of the highest quality. The staff cares about the children and it is a community there in the Biggest Little City. If we could move back and have my children go to Caughlin, I would in a heart beat. In the state of TX it is all about appearances. Which is not always the reality of the situation. I miss Caughlin Ranch and the wonderful teachers we were so blessed to have in our lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2011

We have two children enrolled at Caughlin Ranch Elementary. We moved from out-of-state about a year ago and really researched schools before purchasing a home that was zoned to CRES. We couldn't be happier that we chose this school. Our children are receiving an excellent education in a very positive, happy environment. The teachers, principal and staff are outstanding. Parent involvement is very high and there is a strong sense of pride and community in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2009

a great school for learnig while having fun
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 7, 2008

I have two children at Caughlin Ranch, second and fifth grade. The teachers are wonderful and the parents are very involved. I feel that my children are getting a better than average education at Caughlin Ranch and am very pleased with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2008

Caughlin is an exellent school where kids have fun but get a great education. Mrs. Tammy Callahan is an exellent 2nd grade teacher that does her job superbly!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

My son is in second grade at Caughlin Ranch. The principal and staff are great! There is plenty of parent involvement! We have had a positive experience at Caughlin. The academics and extracurricular activities have been great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2005

Is school has a new principal. What a difference!! The 4th grade teacher is wonderful, highly qualified. The principal and staff back the parents and the teachers. Washoe couny has a new Superintendant, Paul Dugan. He has been in the district 20 years. He is an asset and has been extremely helpful to my personal situation on more than one occation (this was in the last 3 years before he became super. He resolved the problem for me even though it was not his sphere of schools. The other assistant super was not even available. Had been a screamer yeller) I feel that Washoe county schools are on their way to high acheivements.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

81 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female95%
Male94%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian95%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities98%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English96%
Not migrant95%

Reading

All Students92%
Female90%
Male93%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian93%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English92%
Not migrant92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female92%
Male92%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian92%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English92%
Not migrant92%

Reading

All Students92%
Female92%
Male92%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian92%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities97%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English92%
Not migrant92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
Female96%
Male96%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian96%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price97%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities98%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English97%
Not migrant96%

Reading

All Students91%
Female90%
Male92%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian91%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English92%
Not migrant91%

Science

All Students92%
Female92%
Male92%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian92%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English93%
Not migrant92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female97%
Male81%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian89%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English88%
Not migrant88%

Reading

All Students91%
Female97%
Male86%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian90%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities97%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English91%
Not migrant91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 37%
Hispanic 9% 40%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 6%
Two or more races 7% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4881 Village Green Parkway
Reno, NV 89509
Website: Click here
Phone: (775) 689-2600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT