Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sarah Winnemucca Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 3, 2014

Love this school! Teachers are great! My son lirves going to school, he loves the principle & staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2014

The staff at Sarah Winnemucca have all been excellent to my daughter and I. They are responsive and take time to make sure your concerns are answered. I know that this is going to be a great year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2014

Horrible place with horrible staff. They segregate disabled students and lock them in scream rooms. My child has regressed academically since being here. Can't wait for this school year to be over and get my child out of this place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2014

My step son went to this school for one year only. I had to involve my attorney when I was registering him because the office staff didn't want to work with me. My son is hyperactive and got in trouble for everything hi did. You cannot go to your child's class room and pick them up after school even if you sign in at the office. The staff is very rude and his teacher acted like it was a huge imposition for her when I would want to meet with her in regards to his behavior. I will never sent any of my other children to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

My daughter loves this school and the teachers! I only wish that they had a grass field! But luckily there is a very nice park about a block away!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

My daughter really likes this school a lot. However, I really wish their office staff was friendlier. Whenever I need to visit the school I walk away with a really negative feeling. I often feel as though I am being scolded. Seriously, staff needs to realize that they are often the first face people see when entering a school and with that being said, they have a big part in representing their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2010

My son just started 1/2 day Kindergarten here and loves it. I am a teacher myself and am very pleased with his teacher and the staff. most importantly, my son is loving school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

My son has had many great teachers at his school! Mrs Prouty is one of the most caring teachers he has had in his school career.. Thank you Sarah Winnemucca
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

I am a teacher at this school and it is a wonderful place to work. The teachers are friendly and hard working; the students are eager to learn and respectful. I have been at this school since it opened, and plan to retire from it, as there is no other place I would rather teach children.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 10, 2009

I love this school my daughter went to Melton for her Kindergarten year and her teacher was horrible and would yell at the children. My daughter loves her school now and her teachers have been teachers for many years and it shows. I love all the parent involvment as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2006

Sarah Winnemucca has been and continues to be a good school for my children. Parent involvement (which is probably the best indicator of a quality school) seems high as evidenced by the always packed rec center on performance/event nights. Although this is also a testament to the lack of a large enough rec center. The teacher/student ratio also appears under control. I have high regard for the quality of teaching at this school. They seems to ask a lot but not too much of the students while encouraging - in fact, requiring parental involvement in some homework and such. A negative is definitely the lack of a daily, structured P.E. time; although this may be a district or state issue. The meal quality is also generally of poor quality; causing many parents to feel compelled to provide home lunches. Overall a good quality school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

84 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female69%
Male66%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian82%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch57%
Full price76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English72%
Not migrant68%

Reading

All Students59%
Female62%
Male55%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian68%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch47%
Full price68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities65%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English61%
Not migrant59%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female82%
Male79%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian89%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch72%
Full price86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English85%
Not migrant80%

Reading

All Students84%
Female85%
Male83%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian91%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch75%
Full price91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English90%
Not migrant84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female78%
Male61%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian72%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch50%
Full price81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English72%
Not migrant70%

Reading

All Students72%
Female85%
Male59%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian72%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch60%
Full price79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English75%
Not migrant72%

Science

All Students70%
Female76%
Male63%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian75%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch47%
Full price83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English72%
Not migrant70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female58%
Male58%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian66%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch38%
Full price69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities69%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English61%
Not migrant58%

Reading

All Students71%
Female70%
Male71%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian78%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch62%
Full price76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English74%
Not migrant71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 37%
Hispanic 23% 40%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 6%
Two or more races 6% 5%
Black 4% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1349 Backer Way
Reno, NV 89523
Phone: (775) 746-5810

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT