Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rollan D. Melton Ellementary School

Public | PK-5 | 580 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

Excellent school with excellent teachers. Mrs Stark, my son's 5th grade teacher makes an effort for my child's educational growth and she goes out of her way for her students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2011

This school is absolutely fantastic- GREAT teachers and overall great support staff in the office. HOWEVER, the school counselor is severely lacking in people skills and manners that one would expect at a school of this standing. I have both witnessed and experienced her disdain and disrespect towards parents on several occasions. It disturbs me that a counselor, one whose job it is to help our children, treats parents as such. I'm sure her skills are amazing, however such skills are ineffective if one cannot treat others with courtesy and respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2010

I am afraid my son will be horrended by his bus driver Mrs. Tiffany. Mrs. Tiffany has made them stay late on the bus and made them tardy, she has talked with parents about their family and made them late for piano class and volunteer work, but she gives away candy so my son comes home with a happy smile
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

I feel that Rollan Melton has provided the unconditional care and education that my children need. The staff at Rollan Melton is so careing. My children have always loved that the teachers like to give hugs to there students. Nice to know that we can depend on the staff to not only educate but with care. Thank you Rollan Melton for your impecable care
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

The teachers at Rollan Melton are the best! I can't say enough about how much they care and love their students. I have two kids at Melton both have had different teachers and are doing great. And the best compliment is... They Love School! Good job Rollan Melton!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2010

Kids are happy and learning. Postive leadership at top-level makes a difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2010

Rollan Melton Elementary is a wonderful school. The Rollan Melton families have come together to raise money to pay for our PE teacher. I think it is great that Rollan Melton values physical health just as importantly as educational learning. I can't say enough good things about the Principal and the staff at Melton. I'm happy that both my sons were able to attend Melton. Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2010

I love the teachers at Rollan Melton Elementary and how dedicated they are to making sure the kids learn to the best of their individual abilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

In the last year the school has had an obvious decline with the socio-economic turn of the neighborhood. Parents aren't willing to pay for supplies to help their children. The PFA doesn't have very good fund raisers. Parents are TERRIBLE in the parking lot, almost hitting my chidren several times. There isn't any kind of cross walk guides or anything! The Boys and Girls Club barely watches our kids and they can come and go as they please. I've loved our teachers, but have been very disappointed in what I thought was supposed to be an amazing school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

Office staff seem cold and disconnected and the Principal seems very distant and unavailable to parents. There are some amazing teachers, but there are also teachers that don't want anything to do with the parents. You get the feeling as though you are 'intruding' even though it is your child's school! They say they want parent support and help, yet slap away hands that try to offer. The PFA seems more like a high school club than a parent organization.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

Loved this school. Especially the teachers! All day kindergarten option was excellent! The administration could have been more friendly but overall, very good!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

Great caring staff that makes sure your child is in a great learning atmosphere!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2005

Hopefully the introduction of a new principal will help this school. It is overcrowding is a major issue - there were 33 in my son's kindergarden last year with no aide for almost 6 weeks. The kindergarden parents feel like they are the 'loney step-child' with notices and school info getting to them last and not being included in a lot of school activities. The former principal was very aloof and was not open to parent's involvement in the classrooms. Kindergarden parents should be the first 'line of attack' in parent involvement - make them feel ownership in the school from their child's first day. Instead, Kindergarden parents at Melton had no clue what was going on, including where and when school meetings were, as well as the PFA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2004

There is no security upon walking into the school/playground. No one questions you why you are there. The closet in the back of the cafeteria is filled with clothing & lunchboxes that are stilled filled with food/drinks. Very smelly! My son's 6th grade teacher was great-Mrs. Kitchener. My second grader needed extra help with reading and there was no extra help available for him. He was caught taking a extra sandwich from the cafeteria and was suspended for this for a day. Created a conflict since I am a single mom and had to work. Had to take his brother in 7th grade out of school to take care of him. It would be nice if other options were available through the school and there was more support for the students. R. Melton is a beautiful campus in a great neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

102 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female83%
Male80%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian84%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English84%
Not migrant81%

Reading

All Students76%
Female78%
Male76%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian83%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English79%
Not migrant76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
Female94%
Male98%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian97%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities99%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English97%
Not migrant96%

Reading

All Students93%
Female92%
Male93%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian93%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English94%
Not migrant93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female80%
Male73%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian78%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English82%
Not migrant76%

Reading

All Students79%
Female82%
Male76%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian91%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English88%
Not migrant79%

Science

All Students74%
Female74%
Male75%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian82%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English83%
Not migrant74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 6%
Hispanic 11% 40%
Two or more races 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Black 2% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6557 Archimedes Dr
Reno, NV 89523
Phone: (775) 746-7440

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT