Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Double Diamond Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

Mrs. Long is a marvelous teacher. She is responsive and dedicated to her students. Fabulous teacher! Unfortunately, it seems that there is a disconnect with the principal. Student needs do not appear to be a priority with her. Health needs are not addressed in a helpful manner. However the office staff is helpful and friendly.


Posted September 26, 2013

The school is great with loving teachers, supportive parents and great community! With Keller Williams Group One, Inc. Reno we organized a project to improve the school and were overwhelmed with the help of the staff and parents.


Posted September 23, 2013

It is a very good school... All the teachers and vice and principal are very great at their job
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

My daughter had spent her first grade in Double Diamond Elementary School and she has been missing it ever since we came back to Beijing. She missed her teachers of not only red track, but also other tracks and school staff. She missed the happy time she spent with her classmates both inside and outside the classroom. She missed the pizza she shared with the school's principal. She missed the bushes beside the school she ventured to cross during winter. She missed Mt. Rose, which is just around the school's corner. She missed everything. But as for me, her Dad, I missed the fairness and knowledge she received in DDES. We will cherish our memory in DDES and we hope to visit it in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

This is my son's first year at Double Diamond Elementary. The faculty and staff have really gone out of their way to welcome him and make him feel comfortable at a new school. His teacher is fantastic and has already gotten him more interested in reading. As a parent, I have had great communication and support. I am really happy with this school and so is my son!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

We have been at Double Diamond for four years now and couldn't be happier with the level of communication, staff competency and overall vibe from the school. We feel very lucky to be here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2013

My children have thrived at this school. We have had wonderful teachers who have gone the extra mile for their students. We feel fortunate to be a part of this community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2012

This school has been horrible for the past few years that my child has gone there. The office staff in not friendly at all, and the administration does not work well with parents. At times their tone of voice is very rude when speaking to parents as well. I would not recommend this school. They are overcrowded and no accommodations are made to help support students and/or parents. The one good thing I have to say are most of the teachers I have dealt with have been pretty good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2012

Horrible school. Teachers do not know how to deal with bullying. Teachers just let the kids do whatever and too much homework is being sent home than actually teaching. My child is very sad in that school. The Administrator is every where and the principles usually never show up but only once or twice a week. And by the way, the Administrator is very abusive and yells all the time at kids and gives them a citation for talking to her with a bit of attitude. Parents are very frustrated with grades there. Only a couple of teachers are kind and should get a job somewhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2012

2nd grade may be a complete waste for my step-daughter due to a teacher who could not control her class enough to teach them anything and we can only hope that She does not start 3rd grade behind. I'm very frustrated with everyone at the school and my concerns fell on deaf ears.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2012

Our children have attended schools in three different states. I find double diamond to be the worst school yet. The staff is rude and the teachers spend most of the day texting instead of teaching. There is far too much homework sent home. My kids went from loving school to hating school. There is a large proportion of students with behavior problems and the staff doesnt seem to know how to handle it. The school is clean and seems safe. It is on a track system, 3 months on one month off year round
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2010

I feel this school needs to have higher standards for their students. Last year, I mentioned my concerns to the principal that the kids I read with had trouble with simple phonetic blends. The students were late first grade. I was told that it was okay if they didn't know their "blends" because these blends are "really hard for them" and that "they would get them eventually". Unacceptable to me. In my opinion a late first grader should know these sounds by heart and be reading simple stuff fluently. I really hope the new principal sees it differently and raises the bar for these kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Despite a high transient population, this school has a dedicated staff for the children, and strong parental involvement.


Posted March 31, 2009

I've never been to a school before where all the teachers and staff are so happy. Teachers from different schools in WC have told me that DD is one of the happiest schools in the district. I feel very fortunate to have my children in such a positive place. I am proud to be a mom in a classroom full of kids whose parents are constantly volunteering. Bottom line, teachers, kids, parents at Double Diamond are doing it the right way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2008

The comment from March 25, 2008 speaks to the now minority of parents who refuse to get involved with the school. It's not about money donation but it is about time. Your kids are not 'in' as the reviewer accused if a parent donates their time, they are just better prepared. Is that unfair? No. Double Diamond has wonderful, caring, well versed teachers and a principal who shows leadership and a level of committment that goes above and beyond. There is no reason to 'complain too much for a better education' (I was hard pressed to even understand that comment). That level of 'better education' is already there. And there is no bully issue. On the contrary, there is an awareness level through on-duty teachers on the playground as well as peer monitors to make sure play is a safe and fun time for everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

Double Diamond is a GREAT SCHOOL! The parents are wonderful, the teachers are great, the principal is even better and the kids are well rounded (not too many of any single class).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2008

I agree that the kids get pushed through the cracks by this school. If your student is class pet then they get a somewhat decent education. The criteria at this school is too vague and the teachers don't really teach, they touch on this and that and say that if the kids don't get it they will. If you donate time and money to this school the your kids is in. If you complain too much for a better education then your child gets pushed aside. The bully problem in the school is never addressed appropriately either. The teacher's discriminate against kids they don't like. It depends on who your teacher is. There are some good teachers. Doesn't matter who the principal is. Do we really need to be spending money on trees? Education is where the money should go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

This is my son's first year here as a sixth grader and I am very comfortable with the teaching staff and prinipal. They are caring, knowledgeable and positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2007

I think the kids get pushed through the cracks and the teachers don't really know what each student is capable of. The personal touch has disappeared from schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2007

We have had nothing but great experiences attending Double Diamond. My children have loved their teachers and have been learning so much it amazes me. The school is clean and welcoming with all of the interior murals and the landscaping is MUCH improved. Just keeps getting better.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

129 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female86%
Male76%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian87%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch69%
Full price88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English83%
Not migrant81%

Reading

All Students78%
Female85%
Male72%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian82%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch63%
Full price87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English83%
Not migrant78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female93%
Male86%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian91%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch84%
Full price91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English88%
Not migrant89%

Reading

All Students87%
Female93%
Male82%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian88%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch87%
Full price88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English89%
Not migrant87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female74%
Male82%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian83%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch62%
Full price84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities81%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English81%
Not migrant79%

Reading

All Students83%
Female86%
Male81%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian90%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch62%
Full price91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant83%

Science

All Students76%
Female77%
Male75%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian84%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch53%
Full price84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English80%
Not migrant76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 37%
Hispanic 22% 40%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 6%
Two or more races 6% 5%
Black 2% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1200 South Meadows Parkway
Reno, NV 89511
Phone: (775) 850-6212

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT