Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Nevada Connections Academy 1

Posted June 23, 2016
- a parent
I had three children enrolled this year. The elementary school teacher was very involved in my sons education. She even took the time to help when she didn't have too. My middle schooler and high schooler didn't have the same experience. The main issues they had was some teachers didn't get back to my children when they had questions. My children had to figure everything out by themselves. The teacher gave short answers if they even got a message. We couldn't understand what the teachers wanted and would get short emails back but no answers. I emailed the administration about these issues and they just emails short answers. I had to call the principal and still he showed no concern and didn't solve the problem. The communication between students, teachers, administration, and parents is the main issue. I was told they would help us every step of the way and the truth is your on your own. I was grateful to have an great elementary teacher who really cared. My experience with Connections Academy was not a good one. I will be sending my children to another school.

Nevada Connections Academy 1

Posted April 26, 2016
- a parent
WE are an Active Duty Officers who have experienced nothing but complications with this school. After a conference call with 1) Superintendent 2) Principle 3) Tier 2 Customer Support It was determined that Connections Academy is UNABLE to meet educational needs of Active Duty Military or Gifted students resulting in immediate dis-enrollment that day.. Contact with other Parents has shown the greatest selling point of NCA is getting a free computer and a monthly stipend to pay for Internet access. Their is also the false sense of accomplishment as many parents "Help" their students get higher scores on assessments they would have gotten in a classroom taking tests without their "help".


Nevada Connections Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted April 26, 2016
- a parent
The only subject that accomplished projects on a weekly basis through LiveSesson was Art. Student had contact with Homeroom Teacher only once and that was after the Student initiated the contact to resolve a problem. At the end of which the Teacher declared that the phone call will count as the bi-weekly telephone call instead of her calling him later in the week..

Nevada Connections Academy
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted April 26, 2016
- a parent
The the 8 weeks it too to enroll and be placed in classes the Student had not received any textbooks or workbooks from NCA. However it seems NCA takes the typical approach that the smarter a student is the MORE work they need to do not less.

Nevada Connections Academy
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted April 26, 2016
- a parent
From the standpoint of the amount of persistence, grit and determination is needed for a student to resolve even the most minor issue then yes.


Nevada Connections Academy
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted April 26, 2016
- a parent
If leading by example if a measure then a school that recommends dis-enrollment of its honor students cannot possibly foster respect for the academic environment.

Nevada Connections Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted April 26, 2016
- a parent
When confronted with problems the Principle Connections and the Superintendent engaged in nothing but finger pointing and blame shifting to the student. Literally calming that they are 100% blameless and Everything is either the Student's or Parent's fault. This followed by the Principle recommending immediate dis-enrollment of the Student from the school despite the Student being in the Gifted Program.

Nevada Connections Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 26, 2016
- a parent
Neither Nevada Connections Academy, Connections Academy LLC Nevada Superintendent Accepted any responsibility for the situation attempting to blame all academic issues on the Student. Even though it was established that NCA made no attempt to contact the Student's previous school for academic records. Fact, in 6 weeks the Student had not been contacted by a single teacher by phone or email.


Nevada Connections Academy
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
With a child with an IEP, I feel this school was not able to offer what was needed to help him be successful. My two other children who are honor students struggled with the material being boring and not challenging enough.

Nevada Connections Academy 1

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
I have enrolled 3 of my children in NV Connections Academy. When we recieved the box full of supplies and computer, my kids were very excited. 1st day of school was very hectic, trying to get everyone on schedule. Then on day 3 and 4 Connections computers went down. There was no access. When they came back up on Monday morning, all of my kids were behind. Instead of allowing them to start where they left off, my children were not stressed out about catching up. They were starting school at 8 am an finishing for the day at 5 pm. at the end of the day they were wore out and still not caught up. We are now in day 7 of Connections Academy. We have tried multiple times to get a hold of Admin, Vice Principal and Counselors, but continually get voicemails. Teachers are fairly easy to get a hold of, but upper admin and counselors are virtually impossible. They then respond with emails instead of returning phone calls. We have unenrolled our children. Connections is very disorganized, and seems to run off of teachers and staff that work out of their home and do not take education seriously. We felt like our children deserved better.

Nearby schools

Nevada Connections Academy
555 Double Eagle Ct., Reno, NV  89521
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. (775) 826-4200
Last modified Nevada Connections Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top