Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Public
Reno, NV
Students enrolled: 137
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Davidson Academy Of Nevada 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
The Davidson Academy is a very fine school that caters to extremely bright kids who are eager to learn. It is one of the only such places in the country. I believe that its founders were very interested in helping an unrepresented minority, which are the profoundly gifted. Few seem to think that very bright students need an institution such as DA. However, unless bright kids are given challenges and kept motivated, they can soon lose interest in education. Differentiated learning, which caters to the abilities of the various degrees of the students' ability to learn, is a rare thing these days. DA has some extremely excellent teachers who seem to really care about the welfare and education of their students. They are very accessible and willing to meet with students before or after class. The environment is very conducive to learning. There is also no bullying here that we have experienced. The kids respect each other and it is a wonderful place. Our child is extremely fond of the school. Can't say enough about it.

The Davidson Academy Of Nevada 5

Posted January 04, 2014
- a parent
Dear Parents , we are prospective parents of a very hard working gifted student. Can anyone plz give me some pointers.My son will be taking the EXPLORE test ( for 6th gr) in Feb. It sounds an amazing school to send our kids to !


The Davidson Academy Of Nevada 5

Posted November 23, 2013
- a parent
We moved our family ( 2000 miles) so our son can attend this school. To hear my son say "Thank you dad.I don't have to be different anymore" is priceless. He is excited to go to school. He is with his peers who think like him. He is able to progress in his subjects at his own pace. He is growing up socially as well. The community ,composed of teachers,administrators,students and parents , are very protective of the kids. Everybody is working hard to shape these kids so they can be the leaders tomorrow. We couldn't be happier.

The Davidson Academy Of Nevada 5

Posted February 05, 2013
- a parent
Where else can you find a place your child can find age peers who can better relate to, who can understand the uncommon topics of discussion, and who challenge each others to excel? Both our two children attended since 2011 moving across from country, and we tried private schools, public schools for gifted and talented as well as homeschooling for years so they do not coast academically. But more importantly, their social and emotional needs are met in this school, which is increasingly urgent for the teens at this age. Look them up and research about the school and its founder and DITD.

The Davidson Academy Of Nevada 5

Posted October 15, 2012
- a parent
We moved across the country so that my son could attend this school. We couldn't be more pleased with the level of education, the staff and the leadership. Kids are allowed to flourish here by running at their own pace.


The Davidson Academy Of Nevada 5

Posted June 11, 2010
- a parent
My daughter has been at the Davidson Academy for 3 school years. As a profoundly gifted student her needs for rapid progression through material have finally been met!

The Davidson Academy Of Nevada 0
no rating

Posted November 17, 2009
- a student
This school is great because kids can take challenging courses with older peers but still be friends there own age.

The Davidson Academy Of Nevada 5

Posted November 17, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


The Davidson Academy Of Nevada 5

Posted November 17, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

The Davidson Academy Of Nevada 5

Posted February 22, 2009
- a parent
Both of my children attend the Davidson Academy. This school is stimulating and challenging for the highly gifted student. One of the best qualities of the school is that the students can progress at their own pace, without having to wait for the slowest kid to 'get it', as it is done in regular schools. While it is a new school and still developing, we have not been disappointed.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Davidson Academy Of Nevada
Jot Travis Building 048 1164, Reno, NV  89503
(775) 682-5800
Last modified The Davidson Academy Of Nevada is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
The Davidson Academy Of Nevada Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top