Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

George L Dilworth Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 558 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 8, 2013

My son's 8th grade teacher is very effective no non-sense instructor. When he did not do his homework she informed me and made sure he still had to do it. She was very caring and only interested in his advancement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2012

Students heckled opposing team's players as administrators looked on, one even smiled and smirked approvingly. I recently attended my daughter's 7th grade volleyball game at this school and left in disgust after my daughter's A team game because a group of Dilworth students sat in front of my daughter's and heckled them the entire time. While such despicable and immature behavior from middle school students is not surprising, what was surprising was the fact that 2 administrators (male and female) were sitting less than 12 feet from these students and neither did anything for a very long time. It was not until minutes into the B team's game (more than 45 minutes after the students had heckled the A team and begun doing the same to the B team) that the female administrator walked over to the students and said something to the students. Of course, that did nothing to change the students' behavior as the male administrator had smiled at them just minutes before. What an awful experience! I now understand why there are bars on the hallway entrances ... I can only hope that at some point, Dilworth students are taught how to NOT be rude and immature. Awful, just awful!


Posted November 30, 2009

The teachers really seem to care about the students and the fact that they do well in school, my son had gone to Mendive and they said they cared but never acted on it so he didn't get the extra help he need! my daughter is now going to Dilworth in the 8th grade and the teachers made me aware she was having problems and are giving her the extra help she needs to succeed! Kudo's to all the wonderful staff there!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Ive only been at this school for 3weeks for 7th grade but its bloody awesome its got great teachers and they realy care if you learn and if you dont get something they will personaly make sure you do.And other than acedemics and stuff like that they have lots of stuff planned like games and dances and partys.Overall its an awesome school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 11, 2008

Both my children attended this school and we found the entire teaching staff that they each had to be exceptional in seeing that our children made the most of their experience there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2008

Both our children attended Dilworth & it was an excellent experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2008

Dilworth is a wonderful school. My son went to 7th grade at Dilworth and is getting ready to start his 8th grade year there. His teachers were very proactive in spotting trouble last year with homework issues so we as parents could address them before they got out of hand. I think Dilworth is a wonderful, and is doing a wonderful job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2005

My son has been in Dilworth Middle School since 7th grade, now 8th grade. Anytime I have had a question for the teachers or the principle, they have gone into immediate action to take care of my concern or problem. Between the schools teachers and counselors, I think our kids have a wonderful head start toward adulthood as well as getting them ready for high school. I am a proud parent of a Dilworth Middle school student.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 62% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2013.

281 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
17%

2010

 
 
25%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

298 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students44%
Female40%
Male48%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian53%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch40%
Full price63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)10%
Students without disabilities50%
Students with limited English proficiency17%
Proficient in English50%
Not migrant44%

Reading

All Students47%
Female56%
Male38%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian58%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch44%
Full price63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities54%
Students with limited English proficiency6%
Proficient in English57%
Not migrant47%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students36%
Female36%
Male36%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian44%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch33%
Full price47%
Students with disabilities (IEP)8%
Students without disabilities40%
Students with limited English proficiency9%
Proficient in English40%
Not migrant36%

Reading

All Students47%
Female53%
Male42%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian53%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch43%
Full price61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities54%
Students with limited English proficiency6%
Proficient in English53%
Not migrant47%

Science

All Students50%
Female48%
Male52%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian63%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch46%
Full price66%
Students with disabilities (IEP)8%
Students without disabilities57%
Students with limited English proficiency9%
Proficient in English56%
Not migrant50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 65% 40%
White 25% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
Two or more races 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Black 2% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (775) 353-5584

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

255 Prater Way
Sparks, NV 89431
Phone: (775) 353-5740

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT