Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lou Mendive Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1033 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 7, 2013

I truly want to date this girl there named Kayla Powell I think she is so Hoyt she is beautiful and I love her with all my heart also best school in the world


Posted February 24, 2010

The school was great & then the new principal came, the quality is terrible the teachers dont care, education is NOT #1 at that school & as long as Ms Greene is their is never will be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2010

My child is happy, he has become a dedicated student, and as a parent I am proud of having him at Mendive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

i think this school is very organized and does excellent in academics
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2009

mendive middle school is a great school with great teachers and awesome sports your child can feel welcome here and has a neighborhood by it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2009

This School is Great!!! They're fun and educational at the same time!! Mendive provides great study proceedures!! This school makes sure that all kids have everything on track!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2009

Mendive Middles School, is the greatest school you could ask for. There are great teachers, with a fun personality, who work with students on their academics. We keep our school clean, and in the best shape possible. With our PTA, and Leadership students, Mendive is able to raise money for extra curricular activities. But not only does Mendive have a great academic program, but our school dominates in sports. Basketball, Volleyball, Track, Cross Country, we show our school spirit with spectacular sportsmanship, and skills. Here at Mendive, we think of excellence, and achievement. Overall, Mendive Middle School is the best school there is!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 20, 2009

As a student,i walk the halls of mendive middle school and i cant be more happy with how perfect it is!students are great and the teachers are the best,seriously!! If you are considering sending your child to this school you have my recommendation!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2009

THE BEST SCHOOL IN THE WORLD! great classes,wonderful facility, just a over all great environment for all students! Currently ranked the #1 middle school in the county, for teachers, facility, education, wealth, and one of the most positive environments! The teachers work with the students and really give quality it to there teaching. I have to say that my favorite teacher I have ever had is Mr. Barbey my Us History teacher! He's funny and keeps me wanting to learn without boring me out of my mind! I'm going to miss him very much when I take the next big step to high school, he definitely made me smarter and I feel like i grew up a little in his class, that gos for many of his students! Good luck to the up coming 7th graders to Mendive! What a wonderful school I really enjoyed my time here! Thanks!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 16, 2008

The teachers are really fun. I am learning a lot in that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

I love this school! it provides a GREAT learning enviroment! my teachers are awsome and really pull me in to the subject! the school is well maintaind, has no drafts, leaky roffs, exc. I have emence school spirt! the school can be slightle over-crowded but not really that badly. really all i have to say is... MENDIVE ROCKS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 29, 2008

Love this school! Great atmosphere and wonderful staff. I am glad to be a parent with a child that attends this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2008

Great school with great curriculum. My daughter attended the school and really received a great education to prepare her for high school. The teachers are great and they make the students feel really appreciated. This is the best middle school in all of Reno-Sparks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2008

This school is absolutly awesome. I love it. The caring teachers, clean environment, and the people are amazing. I wake up, and actually I want to go to school. I never get bored learing,because our teachers interact with us. The activities and sports afterschool are really fun too. I think this school is one of the best school ever! :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2007

This is my school, and I love it already! The teachers are didcated and funny. What I like most about this school is that the teachers actually interact with the kids instead of talking non-stop for like 45 minutes. (Thats about how long classes are) Although I would like more time to get into our lockers. Thats it! The teachers, Staff, Students, and Parents are amazingly friendly and dedicated to everything that needs to be done. The principal is sweet and caring to anyone no matter who it is. There have been some problems but even on the WORST day, the principal comes to school and has a positive attitude. I love my school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 7, 2005

This school is the BEST! Its staff are truly caring and professional. They are supportive and concerned about every aspect of your child's life. My child was a special ed student and they welcomed him with open arms. On a bad day, the PRINCIPAL came to have lunch with him. How many Principals are willing to do that? The teacher quality is superb, most have Masters degrees. They train regular student advocates (who volunteer) to help out the special needs students mainstreamed in regular classrooms. It is a win-win situation. The trained student advocates develop leadership and empathy, while the special ed student has a peer role model and feels a part of the group. The staff at Mendive all work together in the welfare and best interest for the child, this makes it the BEST school anywhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2005

it's the best school in washoe county.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 14, 2004

It is overcrowded, as are all the schools within the washoe county school district, but the administrative staff and teachers have been excellent. They truely do care.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

481 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 62% in 2013.

482 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

504 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

505 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2013.

503 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

464 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students97%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian96%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price97%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities97%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English97%
Not migrant97%

Reading

All Students100%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian100%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price100%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities100%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English100%
Not migrant100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
Female70%
Male64%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian75%
Hispanic59%
Multiracial56%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian72%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch59%
Full price70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)27%
Students without disabilities71%
Students with limited English proficiency15%
Proficient in English69%
Not migrant67%

Reading

All Students73%
Female80%
Male67%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian75%
Hispanic63%
Multiracial72%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian77%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch61%
Full price77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)24%
Students without disabilities79%
Students with limited English proficiency0%
Proficient in English76%
Not migrant73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students43%
Female43%
Male43%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian66%
Hispanic37%
Multiracial39%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian45%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch34%
Full price47%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
Students without disabilities46%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English44%
Not migrant43%

Reading

All Students59%
Female66%
Male52%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian72%
Hispanic49%
Multiracial58%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian63%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch50%
Full price63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
Students without disabilities64%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English61%
Not migrant59%

Science

All Students63%
Female60%
Male65%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian69%
Hispanic53%
Multiracial58%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian67%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch50%
Full price69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)21%
Students without disabilities67%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English64%
Not migrant63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 37%
Hispanic 24% 40%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
Two or more races 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 1%
Black 3% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (775) 353-5994

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1900 Whitewood Dr
Sparks, NV 89434
Phone: (775) 353-5990

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT