Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Yvonne Shaw Middle School

Public | 7-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 7, 2013

My school is Yvonne Shaw middle School. This school gives many opportunities to students. I'm a soon to be eighth grader and so far I have had an excellent experience. The teachers help out when I don't understand a subject and really break it down so I understand. The electives at my school are amazing. The Music department is awesome. Choir, Band, and Orchestra receive very high scores at music festivities and students really do flourish in these elective. I cant tell you where to find a more awesome school. Because of the great experience I have had with all my teachers and peers, I ended my seventh grade year with a 4.0 gpa. That's because of my wonderful teachers. I would definitely recommend this school!


Posted August 30, 2011

Apparently this review is for positive feedback only which should be a clue for anyone reviewing this school for their childs possible enrollment. We have not had the best experience with Yvonne Shaw. Now understand that all schools have there downsides but it is most important that our kids receive the best opportunities available as far as education is concerned. If your child is a minority please be vigilant in making sure they receive equal and fair treatment from teachers and the administrative staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2010

best school. i love mrs.tivera. she is awsome. i would recoment theis school 100% overall


Posted January 28, 2010

I have gone to this school for two years, haven't found a single problem for this school. It's a great place to be. I completely love school now!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 26, 2010

Teachers at this school rely on an inaccurate system called ed-line for grading instead of paying attention to what the kids are doing. My son has had too many assignments, had them come back graded, and they show missing on this system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2009

This school is okay.... What i do not like/ respect is most of the teachers. I believe as a student attending my school, that most of the teachers think that all the kids are the same * rude and dont care about school* Teachers need to understand that we are not all the same, and that some fo us are very diffrent and enjoy school. I used to enjoy school, and now i kinda dont because some of my teachers dislike me for some crazy reason. In sixth grade my gpa was above 4.0 I just wish that the teachers at my school would respect of us a little bit more. But over-all the school is wonderful, minuse the teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2009

I give this school 5 stars. My son has been there for two years and is doing great. The staff and teachers are all top notch. The kitchen staff is great too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

Shaw is the best school in Washoe County. I love it there. The teachers are very cool and push you to be your best. The electives are fun also. Munley and Vial are the coolest P.E. teachers there are. Coyotes Rule!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 26, 2007

This school is great! The teachers and principal are not too strict but they believe in rules and helping out. This school is wonderful to be in.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

509 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 62% in 2013.

509 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

555 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

554 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2013.

554 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

540 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
Female66%
Male67%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracial68%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian69%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch48%
Full price72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)22%
Students without disabilities73%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English68%
Not migrant67%

Reading

All Students72%
Female80%
Male67%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracial79%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian74%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch46%
Full price80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)20%
Students without disabilities80%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English73%
Not migrant72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female63%
Male66%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian70%
Hispanic60%
Multiracial59%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian68%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch43%
Full price70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)15%
Students without disabilities71%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English67%
Not migrant65%

Reading

All Students62%
Female67%
Male57%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian70%
Hispanic54%
Multiracial56%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian66%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch46%
Full price66%
Students with disabilities (IEP)10%
Students without disabilities68%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English64%
Not migrant62%

Science

All Students63%
Female61%
Male65%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian63%
Hispanic51%
Multiracial63%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian68%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch43%
Full price68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
Students without disabilities69%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English65%
Not migrant63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 37%
Hispanic 19% 40%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
Two or more races 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Black 2% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (775) 425-7779

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

600 Eagle Canyon Dr
Sparks, NV 89436
Phone: (775) 425-7777

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT