Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-8
Public district
Winnemucca, NV
Students enrolled: 463
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Winnemucca Junior High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted August 29, 2015
- a parent
Most of the teachers just want to get through their day & don't want to deal with students that are/may be slower than the rest.

Winnemucca Junior High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted August 29, 2015
- a parent
Very, very few students coming out of these schools have these traits. Only those with VERY active parents that have taught their children values and morals do.


Winnemucca Junior High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 29, 2015
- a parent
Most kids that come out of the junior high have absolutely no respect for anyone.

Winnemucca Junior High School 1

Posted August 29, 2015
- a parent
Unless you have a child who is sports oriented, OR come from the "right name, right money" families, the schools in Humboldt Co. do not care about the students. They just shove them through the system & get them out the doors, not caring if they have even bothered to learn how to read, do math, or learned any basic skills that will help them in the workplace. It's no wonder our graduation rate is in the 50th percentile while the surrounding counties are in the high 80's & 90's. Makes one think, doesn't it...

Winnemucca Junior High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted August 28, 2015
- a parent
Read my other reviews. It all stems to teachers being allowed to single out students and torment them.


Winnemucca Junior High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 28, 2015
- a parent
When Teachers are being ALLOWED to pick and choose who they bully and try to make an example of to their fellow classmates and NOTHING is done about it. WHERE IS the HONESY, INTEGRITY and FAIRNESS?! There ISN'T any!!!!

Winnemucca Junior High School 2

Posted August 28, 2015
- a community member
My child has been miserable in this school science she started : there's not much I can do very sad wat our kids have to endure :(

Winnemucca Junior High School 1

Posted February 21, 2013
- a parent
As an educator, I am appalled at the indifference to student bullying by teachers. Specifically, Mr. Gary Steinman--one math teacher--repeatedly humiliates, intimidates, and shames his students. Counselors are aware of his bullying tactics in the classroom, but continue allowing students to be victimized or traumatized by him. Pull your child out of his classroom, middle school is difficult enough--he does psychological harm to some of his students. Typically, when students ask questions, need more explanation of lessons, and ARE EAGER TO LEARN. Plain and Simple, Mr. Steinman is a bully.


Winnemucca Junior High School 3

Posted July 29, 2011
- a parent
We are moving to Winnemucca shortly, have one daughter that will be at this school, but after the reviews, am seriously considering homeschool or K-12. Why isn't something done if is is really this bad? Will a nice kid survive here? I had to rate to comment although I know nothing of the school.

Winnemucca Junior High School 1

Posted March 04, 2011
- a parent
My children had a very hard time being educated at this school. The attitude here is very poor. the staff makes the students and parents feel as if they should be honored they are there at all.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Winnemucca Junior High School
451 Reinhart St, Winnemucca, NV  89445
(775) 623-8120
Last modified Winnemucca Junior High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Winnemucca Junior High School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top