Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-12
Public district
Zephyr Cove, NV
Students enrolled: 233
 

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


George Whittell High School 1

Posted May 16, 2012
- a community member
I was a student at GWHS it is a horrible school I had maybe 30 minutes of homework a night barely, which would be a good thing if it wasn't for the whole college thing. They might prepare you to go to UNR but other than that little to none electives including spanish, art, culinary arts and I cant really think of any other electives. Kids are horribly mean and teachers don't do anything about it. One teacher even partakes in the bullying! I changed schools after a year and a half and dont ever want to go back.

George Whittell High School 1

Posted May 06, 2011
- a parent
Terrible school. All the classes are too easy, there are almost no electives, and they are terrible with handling bullying. My son was bullied for two years at this school (getting shoved into lockers, having his lunch shoved out of his hands, and constantly being harassed). The principal did nothing about it, and ignored all the calls we made. Finally, we had to move just so my son wouldn't be afraid to go to school. Now at Reno High School, he is much happier and more confident.


George Whittell High School 3

Posted July 28, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

George Whittell High School 0
no rating

Posted June 10, 2009
- a parent
Yes it is a small school- ( has grades 7-12 ) but due to its size It doesn't have a variety of electives , they will refer you to do some BYU classes to supplement. My teen did not care for the school and I personally thought it was typical school politics as usual when issues came up. My teen never had any problems with teachers in the past and had an issue with one of them there that I tried to get him out of the class and have him do an online course instead, but they refused , due to ' this is how we do things here' and he ended up wasting 8 weeks of time. and failing the class. Why question a parent's decision regarding their child?
1 person found this helpful

George Whittell High School 5

Posted February 10, 2009
- a parent
George Whittell is a wonderful school. The students are well prepared for college, with may of them receiving the millennium scholarship along with other scholarships. The school is now a 7 - 12 school. I have two children who have graduated from Whittel and one will graduate in 2010. My two older children are attend the University of Reno Nevada and the education they received prepared them for college. Our principal, Mrs. Shannon is a wonderful addition to our school. She is a principal who cares about every single student. The students have great opportunities to participate in the many sports and activities that are offered at Whittell.


George Whittell High School 5

Posted April 27, 2007
- a former student
If you want to learn, you'll learn a lot. If you want to float along, you'll get through. Most of the teachers are really great, but that's about where it ends. Administration actually seems to get in the way more often than it helps, though that was with the old principal. Hopefully the new one is better.

George Whittell High School 4

Posted February 21, 2005
- a former student
Fantastic location and wonderful recreation activities! Could use some staffing improvements, professionalism is not always upheld. Although there are many needed improvements your child is assured an unforgettable experience -- the closeknit community within the school makes for lifelong friendships.

George Whittell High School 1

Posted May 11, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


George Whittell High School 1

Posted May 11, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

George Whittell High School 3

Posted April 23, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

George Whittell High School
240 Warrior Way, Zephyr Cove, NV  89448
(775) 588-2446
Last modified George Whittell High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
George Whittell High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top