Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public
Alton, NH
Students enrolled: 538

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Alton Central School (Elem) 2

Posted April 15, 2013
- a parent
This school has maintenance issues, it is in need of someone caring about it's safety for the children who will maintain the school building and grounds. It is an old building which requires a lot of work to have it become safe and sound for our children. There are also issues with bullying which are not being addressed at the student/teacher level. Not enough has been done as a whole to prevent bullying. Naming names is not going to help "Prevent" bullying. A preventive program should be put in place which involves the entire school attending an assembly or meeting as and entire class instead of one classroom at a time. Also teachers should be trained/attend seminars on how to handle bullying in the school/online. I do feel some teachers are lacking the motivation to teach and involve their students in the process, due to lack of interest, burn-out or not enough support from the school staff itself. However, this school does have a fabulous preschool program and from shat I can see children with special needs tend to receive the help/assistance they require.

Alton Central School (Elem) 4

Posted March 21, 2012
- a parent
We moved to Alton this year and our son is in the 8th grade. In his old school he was always viewed as a problem child. We hoped that he would have a different experience in a new school and we couldn't be happier. The teachers notices small things that were happening during class that turned out to be that our son has had a learning disability this entire time and the other school just didn't care. In the half year that their special education department has been working with him we are already seeing large changes in his work and he now likes to go to school. Moving to this town was the best thing we did.


Alton Central School (Elem) 5

Posted November 10, 2011
- a parent
Students receive individualized education and instruction, extra help from the teachers when there's problems, and we've found the teachers and administrators to be very responsive to our questions and concerns. You'd be hard pressed to find a better rural public school and the community should be proud of the students and staff at ACS. To the reviewer that posted statistics about the school - what good are your stats if you don't name your source? Students aren't failing to compete when they reach PMHS. Maybe you should have been more involved as a parent? (Assuming you are a parent.)

Alton Central School (Elem) 5

Posted March 17, 2011
- a parent
To the person who said that Alton Central School was UNSATISFACTORY in the SPECIAL Needs Department. Give me a freaking break Alton has the best ever special needs department around. That is what Alton School is known for across the state. My daughter has CP and the special needs department has done so much for us as a family and just for my daughter herself. My daughter started in Alton in 2009 and 2 years later she is starting to walk all on her own when doctors said she would never be able to. The therapists are all great and they take there time to work one onone with my daughter and they are very personal with her and loving towards all kids. My daughter has had so much progress withAlton I will never take her from this school. Her teacher continues to go to school to learn more about disabilities and such, she is very loving and pationate about her job and her kids in the class.

Alton Central School (Elem) 1

Posted September 05, 2010
- a community member
This school is completely unsatifactory when it comes to dealing with special needs children. They are not equipped or educated in dealing with children who require special needs. They do not take parental demands, suggestions, concerns or requests to heart and feel that parents do not know their own children!


Alton Central School (Elem) 0
no rating

Posted October 29, 2009
- a parent
Alton Elementary has the best staff there is!! Hi Everyone.

Alton Central School (Elem) 0
no rating

Posted August 10, 2009
- a parent
This school has potential to be great because it is small enough to meet individual students' needs; however, it fails to meet adequate academic standards in almost all respects. The teachers (not all) but alot are basically putting in their time for retirement - they and the administration are too intimidated to speak to parents of children with discipline problems so the school has a just reputation for having bullys. Bullys that have been fostered within this school system. Good luck to you and your kids if you choose to attend here.

Alton Central School (Elem) 5

Posted February 23, 2005
- a parent
Wonderful little school in a beautiful New Hampshire town. People who have been residents for a long time don't realize what a great learning opportunity they have here. The staff and administration really try to support individual student needs.


Alton Central School (Elem) 4

Posted October 04, 2004
- a student
Alton is a great town with many things in store. With the new high school it has plently of room. The teachers are very good too.

Alton Central School (Elem) 5

Posted September 27, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alton Central School (Elem)
41 School St, Alton, NH  03809
(603) 875-7500
Last modified Alton Central School (Elem) is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Alton Central School (Elem) Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top