Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Souhegan Coop High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 6, 2005

Souhegan is for motivated students. The above average and gifted students are not challenged enough due to heterogenous grouping. The communication with parents from staff is lacking and although they encourage interaction from parents, they are excluded from the inner workings and discussions that actually go on in the school. The sports are good, however the 'Healthy Connections' is of great concern - the recovered 'drug and alcohol' speaker IS NOT what we want our children listening to. There should only be 'positive' 'hardworking (all their lifes)' role models speaking to our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2005

I chose to send my son to a private school rather than send him to Souhegan. Studies dealing with the effectiveness of education reform show the Coalition of Essential Schools to be one of the least effective reform methods. Souhegan seems to have a prejudice against academic achievement. It is an atmosphere where socialization appears to be more important than learning. Souhegan test scores reflect this, especially in math and science. Teachers will impose their liberal political philosophies on the students. It can be a very unpleasant place to be for students who wish to excel. Mediocre students often love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

Souhegan High is not a traditional high school and one we have been very disappointed in. We moved here 9 years ago strictly due to the 'good schools'. We were very pleased with the elementary and middle schools. However, Souhegan is another story. If you want your child attending 9th-12th grade in a school that practices no discipline, no rules, total freedom, teachers who themselves wear jeans then you'll like Souhegan! We did not. We pulled our child out after freshman yr and sent them to private school. If your kid enjoys total freedom, this is for him!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2005

I am currently a senior at Souhegan, and I have a very mixed feeling about the school. I believe that a person who works hard and challenges themself can do very well here. I also believe that I person can skate by without doing very much (myself included). Souhegan is what you make of it. Some people love it. Others hate it. It is so different from the traditional school, that it really is matter of personal preference. But I would never say that this school is a joke, or that it sets kids up to fail in college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 1, 2005

I have a freshman and a junior currently enrolled in shs. My jr. Is an excelled student and is challenged appropriately by both the school and indivual teachers. My freshman is a struggling freshman and i have to commend the entire staff for their 'above and beyond' efforts to help him better himself in school and in his motivation. I have always heard that shs was a 'do it yourself, self motivated' school, and if your child needed extra help it wasnt available at shs. Could not be further from the truth! Wonderful, caring teachers that always keep our family involved. They are afforded opportunities at shs that they would not receive in the surrounding school districts. Job well done shs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2004

Souhegan seems to be a great place for kids with special needs, but not for the kids that should be the next leaders of our community and country. A high percentage of the best and brightest leave to attend and a more traditional high school where there can be better prepared for college and the real working world. Quite a few kids that remain need tutors for math (and probably other subjects). Try to obtain extra help from a teacher in a subject such as math, and instead of explaining the concept, they ask 'what do you think?' That is great for the social sciences, but not for math or the physical sciences. The kids need to learn the basics before they are able to think. They should stand on the shoulders of giants and not reinvent all that has come before.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2004

I have attended Souhegan High school for a total of a year and a half. Transiting mid-way through the school year proved to be difficult, but the friendly laid back atmosphere at SHS really helped with making me feel comfortable to excersize my full potential. The teacher/student relationships are unmatched, and though there are many rich students who attend- they in no way are favored above the not-so-rich. The teachers are very open, honest, and respectful with their students and vice versa. The relationship between students and teachers are personal, and yes, parents are less involved with the students academic life, but this is very good for most students. It gives you a sense of achievement when you accomplish something great without your parent's help. This same concept works when you fail to accomplish the task at hand- you are solely responsible.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 17, 2004

Sougehan H.S. spends alot of time and energy forcing their philosophy upon the students. I'm not quite sure what it is. The focus seems to be on the students to recognize their personal style of learning and adapting to the school atmosphere, yet the teachers do not alter their teaching style to accomodate the student's learning style. Communication with parents is minimal, and confusing because of the 'learning/teaching'language used by the staff/faculty. This school is an average school. Not bad, no where the reputation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2004

Souhegan is a school that works perfectly for the rich. The teachers do their best, but I will never be able to understand how they put up the stuck up pampered students that go through this school system. The administration simply teaches them that if you have money, everything will be made right for you. The students who get the most help are the ones that put forth no effort.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 11, 2004

Souhegan School is different solely for the purpose of being different. The teacher student relationship is great, however, the students seem to spend too much time overanylizing books instead of learning how to write. Granted there are many great teachers at Souhegan, yet the philosophy seems a bit backward at times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2003

I am currently a senior at Souhegan High School and I couldn't disagree more with the previous contributor. Souhegan is a little less structured than the more traditional high school, but then again so is college. If Souhegan is allowing us to be responsible and somewhat independent, why is that wrong?


Posted August 10, 2003

This school sets our kids up to fail in college... The quality of the study skills these kids learn dose not prepare them for there future.. Everything is handed to them, take away their BMW's and help them learn
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2014.

197 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

197 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 33% in 2012.

207 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
37%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 54% in 2014.

196 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students40%
Female37%
Male42%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)42%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Non-economically disadvantaged41%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability4%
Without educational disability45%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English40%
Non-migrant40%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female89%
Male81%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability46%
Without educational disability90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Non-migrant84%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Writing

All Students67%
Female77%
Male57%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability22%
Without educational disability73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English67%
Non-migrant67%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 89%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hispanic 2% 4%
Black 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/A26%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

412 Boston Post Rd
Amherst, NH 03031
Phone: (603) 673-9940

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Summit School
Amherst, NH


The Rsec Academy
Amherst, NH






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT