Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Great Brook School 5

Posted May 22, 2014
- a community member
Great Brook is an amazing school! So amazing it is now New Hampshire's middle school of the year for 2014. The students and faculty get to know each other on a personal level and there's a friend for everyone. The academics are personalized to insure every student a good experience. Eighth graders are available during "Target Block" to tutor fifth graders who need a little extra practice or help with work. This school also has a variety of sports and other co-curricular activities. I'm sad to be leaving Great Brook this year, it's truly an amazing place!

Great Brook School 4

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
The school completed its annual trip to Washington DC this spring. This was a week long trip and brought them to museums, Arlington Nation cemetery, the Capitol, and other places. Great guidance and rules and expectations were set. Money was raised for the trip by the kids themselves (to a large extent). In Spring, sports teams flourished, and homework assignments continued. I see a lot of parents watching the sports and frankly it seems to me that this is not a bad place to send your kids to school. It is not a private school, but it doesn't cost private money school MONEY either. There are a number of classes offered and teacher's have raised the alarm for us when they notice issues or problems. Most of the time the alarm gets raised perhaps a little too early and there is often more than just the teacher's side of the story to be weighed, but better that than not raising the alarm at all! Kudos to the leadership at the top. They are sensitive and they are trying.


Great Brook School 4

Posted August 17, 2012
- a parent
I have a son currently in this school and he excels in sports, but also is pushed to get good grades by us, his parents. He gets A's and B's consistently and that is the expectation if he want to remain here as opposed to being sent to parochial school On brief period saw some pretty drastic fall off in grades over a short period of time and so we as concerned parents went to see if the teachers thought he needed to be evaluated for potential ADD. The school has a special committee that deal with such evaluations and we met with them and a special ADD counselor Quite honestly they were shocked, though pleasantly shocked, that we were even there and they expressed the sentiment that most of their parents do not have the desire to track their child's progress against assignments and school expectations and that only when it gets to the point of a real issue do the parents, if even then, get involved. My take is that the framework is there at this school. There are teachers that care and parents need to get involved-become chaperones, go to kid's musical performances, attend parent's workshop nights, call the teachers - the lines are open here. they need to be used

Great Brook School 1

Posted June 16, 2012
- a parent
Very disappointed in this school system, although there were a few great teachers the majority of them as well as the principles,were quite disconnected as to connecting with the parents and students in matters that concerned us. We had several encounters with possible bullying but there was no attempt to help out our son, his grades were great until something would come up and we saw his grades slipping, we reached out to the teachers and office however they never took action. Our son also had a very high state testing scores throughout his schooling years there, however he was never challenged at GBS he continued to state he was board in his class room. Very glad we are moving on to high school. Our daughter attended GBS as well several years ago and the problems were then too.

Great Brook School 5

Posted February 11, 2012
- a parent
As the name implies, this is indeed a great school with the vast majority of staff excellent and dedicated. Both my sons came through in great shape.


Great Brook School 5

Posted December 10, 2009
- a student
I go here and it's a great invirerment

Great Brook School 1

Posted August 20, 2008
- a student
Terrible school no time, money or effort are put into this school. I'm moving this year and I'm pretty glad.

Great Brook School 2

Posted March 16, 2005
- a parent
Completely agree with previous review. My eldest child graduated GBS 7 years ago and had so much more opportunity than his siblings. The school is totally non-competitive and has two tracks....special needs and everyone else. My son tested at high school and college levels in both math and language arts in 6th grade...but the school fails to provide and honors classes; or to even offer individual advanced work within the classroom. Thanks to the advice of his 6th grade instructor (who is one of a handful of 'rebel' teachers who actually do challenge the children at this institution), he is in an algebra correspondence course. We are considering a private school for his final year however, due to the weak academics. I feel this is, in large part, due to the school's principal as our 'sister' middle school in neighboring Peterborough, NH has both stronger academics and sports programs.


Great Brook School 1

Posted February 23, 2005
- a parent
Great Brook was a superior school 7 years ago, unfortunately, administration has lost it's interest in the general student body and has focused mainly on special needs students. High achievers are held back in this school to make sure that non-college bound students feel equal. I had 2 children attend for 7 years. The high school compensates for the high achievers delay.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Great Brook School
16 School St, Antrim, NH  03440
(603) 588-6630
Last modified Great Brook School is a Public school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Great Brook School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top