Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Peter Woodbury School

Public | K-4

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 13, 2013

We moved to Bedford and Peter Woodbury mid-year and I cannot say enough about the school. My youngest is on the spectrum, and he has received so much support. His team of teachers and therapists is just wonderful.They use a social thinking curriculum my Michele Garcia-Winner that is terrific for kids on the spectrum (and those not on the spectrum as well.). The administration is top-notch and I am so pleased that Cheryl Daley (the current AP) with be succeeding Mr. William's as principal after his retirement. She is very approachable and will keep the school running as smoothly as Mr. Williams has. The PTG is very active and helps run a variety of fun programs for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

This is truly an excellent school. I have a chid who is very bright as well as one who needs support and the school meets both of their needs. Unfortunately there is no enrichment program in Bedford for first grade which I wish would be changed. The staff and the parents at PWS have created an extremely positive environment and we couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

My daughter entered first grade this year, and as a ADHD child started off with some difficulty but the teachers, TAs, behaviorial therapist and guidance counselor were all fantastic and keep in touch with me regarding my daughter. My daughter has been there 8 weeks now and is absolutley thriving and her learning capability has increased. We moved to bedford in August because we saw that 3 out of the 10 top schools in NH are bedford schools so bedford must be doing something right! So far, it has been a great experience. I am a volunteer at the school and the parent volunteer ratio is high and I beleive it makes for a much better environment for our children and keeps parents in touch with their children rather than disconnected from their children and their schools. Bedford is the place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

Everything appears to look good at Bedford. Nice people and wonderful teachers. The problem is, when we transferred out children to a private school, they were behind other children. Your child may be at the top in Bedford but they would not be at the top in a private school. Most do not know this unless they make a change like we did. The state tests are a joke.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

This is truly a great school and it starts and ends with the principal and his dedicated staff of professionals. I am very fortunate that my son is attending this school. I would enroll him in a private school in a minute if I thought it would be better. The communications and involvement that they welcome of the parents is wonderful. The national and state achievement scores prove the point. A true 10 out of 10 rating
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2009

I gave this math a chance and I have to say, it's a huge disappointment. My kids are frustrated and I'm now turning to outside tutoring on top of paying taxes to our school. The teachers are great but they have no choice but to use this program. Now my oldest child is in middle school using another math program called Connected Math. Again, huge disappointment. I just read this critique from an e-mail I received from a Bedford parent. It seems that Bedford is using math programs that are geared towards the lowest performing students. http://www.claytonmathmatters.com/connectedMath.html If you come to a Bedford school , be prepared to hire a math tutor for you child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2008

This is a model public school. The staff and administration are dedicated to the students and their families. It starts at the top and is seen in everyone that works at the school. I take great pride in being able to send my son to this wonderful school. It is as good and in my opinion better than most private schools. It is why I live in Bedford, NH.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2008

In a previous review, a parent warned against the Everyday Math Program. Just because the town of Seabrook is at the bottom of the math assessment, does not mean that Bedford students are at the bottom. A 'math program' is not the only thing that makes a superior math program. The quality of the staff, administration, parent involement and instruction is what is the driving force behind a successful program. The previous reviewer should educate themselves regarding the testing scores of Bedford students. Students in Bedford are some of the highest scores in the state with vast improvement noted since the adoption of the Every Day Math Program. As far as PWS, it is a top notch school. It may not look brand new, but it is a safe, caring and welcoming enviorment. The staff is top notch and the administration is fabulous. I am lucky my kids attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2006

Be Warned. Everyday Math was adopted in Bedford recently. This is the same math program used in Seabrook and Seabrook is at the bottom on their math assessment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2005

Not the newest physical plant, but the best 'feel' of the three elementary schools in town.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2005

The staff and the welcoming atmosphere at Peter Woodbury Elementary school is the amazing! Parent/volunteer involvement is greatly encouraged. The academics are above the state standards and every child gets the attention he/she needs and deserves. Mr. Ken Williams is the principal that every parent wishes for. I highly recommend this school and the entire school district. The HS which will open in September 2007 (along with a new middle school to alleviate crowding problems at the current MS) will be top notch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2004

We had a second and fifth grader at Peter Woodbury. We were there briefly from out of state and had a fabulous experience. The administration and faculty were outstanding! They made my boys feel very welcomed and included. The academics were top notch and parents were everywhere. An awesome place! Thank you Mr. Williams and Mrs. Z.!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2014.

134 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

134 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2012.

132 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female93%
Male91%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian94%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability63%
Without educational disability95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Not migrant91%

Reading

All Students95%
Female97%
Male92%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian100%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability82%
Without educational disability96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Not migrant95%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female89%
Male90%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian92%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability27%
Without educational disability96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Not migrant89%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a

Reading

All Students85%
Female88%
Male82%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian85%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability9%
Without educational disability95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant85%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 89%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 3%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 4%N/A26%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

180 County Rd
Bedford, NH 03110
Phone: (603) 622-0431

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Memorial School
Bedford, NH


Parker-Varney School
Manchester, NH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT