Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-4
Public
Bedford, NH
Students enrolled: 511

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Peter Woodbury School 5

Posted June 13, 2013
- a parent
We moved to Bedford and Peter Woodbury mid-year and I cannot say enough about the school. My youngest is on the spectrum, and he has received so much support. His team of teachers and therapists is just wonderful.They use a social thinking curriculum my Michele Garcia-Winner that is terrific for kids on the spectrum (and those not on the spectrum as well.). The administration is top-notch and I am so pleased that Cheryl Daley (the current AP) with be succeeding Mr. William's as principal after his retirement. She is very approachable and will keep the school running as smoothly as Mr. Williams has. The PTG is very active and helps run a variety of fun programs for the kids.

Peter Woodbury School 5

Posted April 11, 2013
- a parent
This is truly an excellent school. I have a chid who is very bright as well as one who needs support and the school meets both of their needs. Unfortunately there is no enrichment program in Bedford for first grade which I wish would be changed. The staff and the parents at PWS have created an extremely positive environment and we couldn't be happier.


Peter Woodbury School 0
no rating

Posted October 20, 2009
- a parent
My daughter entered first grade this year, and as a ADHD child started off with some difficulty but the teachers, TAs, behaviorial therapist and guidance counselor were all fantastic and keep in touch with me regarding my daughter. My daughter has been there 8 weeks now and is absolutley thriving and her learning capability has increased. We moved to bedford in August because we saw that 3 out of the 10 top schools in NH are bedford schools so bedford must be doing something right! So far, it has been a great experience. I am a volunteer at the school and the parent volunteer ratio is high and I beleive it makes for a much better environment for our children and keeps parents in touch with their children rather than disconnected from their children and their schools. Bedford is the place to be.

Peter Woodbury School 1

Posted May 20, 2009
- a parent
Everything appears to look good at Bedford. Nice people and wonderful teachers. The problem is, when we transferred out children to a private school, they were behind other children. Your child may be at the top in Bedford but they would not be at the top in a private school. Most do not know this unless they make a change like we did. The state tests are a joke.

Peter Woodbury School 5

Posted May 18, 2009
- a parent
This is truly a great school and it starts and ends with the principal and his dedicated staff of professionals. I am very fortunate that my son is attending this school. I would enroll him in a private school in a minute if I thought it would be better. The communications and involvement that they welcome of the parents is wonderful. The national and state achievement scores prove the point. A true 10 out of 10 rating


Peter Woodbury School 4

Posted January 27, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Peter Woodbury School 0
no rating

Posted January 26, 2009
- a parent
I gave this math a chance and I have to say, it's a huge disappointment. My kids are frustrated and I'm now turning to outside tutoring on top of paying taxes to our school. The teachers are great but they have no choice but to use this program. Now my oldest child is in middle school using another math program called Connected Math. Again, huge disappointment. I just read this critique from an e-mail I received from a Bedford parent. It seems that Bedford is using math programs that are geared towards the lowest performing students. http://www.claytonmathmatters.com/connectedMath.html If you come to a Bedford school , be prepared to hire a math tutor for you child!

Peter Woodbury School 4

Posted October 01, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Peter Woodbury School 5

Posted September 22, 2008
- a parent
This is a model public school. The staff and administration are dedicated to the students and their families. It starts at the top and is seen in everyone that works at the school. I take great pride in being able to send my son to this wonderful school. It is as good and in my opinion better than most private schools. It is why I live in Bedford, NH.

Peter Woodbury School 5

Posted April 25, 2008
- a parent
In a previous review, a parent warned against the Everyday Math Program. Just because the town of Seabrook is at the bottom of the math assessment, does not mean that Bedford students are at the bottom. A 'math program' is not the only thing that makes a superior math program. The quality of the staff, administration, parent involement and instruction is what is the driving force behind a successful program. The previous reviewer should educate themselves regarding the testing scores of Bedford students. Students in Bedford are some of the highest scores in the state with vast improvement noted since the adoption of the Every Day Math Program. As far as PWS, it is a top notch school. It may not look brand new, but it is a safe, caring and welcoming enviorment. The staff is top notch and the administration is fabulous. I am lucky my kids attend.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Peter Woodbury School
180 County Rd, Bedford, NH  03110
(603) 622-0431
Last modified Peter Woodbury School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Peter Woodbury School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top