Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Riddle Brook School

Public | K-4 | 590 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 26, 2013

Very poor leadership from the current principal and vice-principal. Any issue with staff at the school the buck is passed, and they are unable to control their school environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2011

As a parent of two children who attend this school and two more who will attend in the near future, I would like to say how much we love it. My kids have received a great education from teachers who care. There are programs in place for the child who excels and the one who lags behind his peers. The teachers are top notch and really give their all. We moved here for the school system and have not been diappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2010

I loved this school! I'm now in 6th grade and I went here from Kindergarten to 4th grade. The teachers are great. Great discipline and the care and worry about your needs.


Posted June 5, 2010

As a parent of 2 children that have attended Riddle Brook, we have been extremely pleased with their education. The teachers and staff are a pleasure to work with and were very helpful in identifying the individual needs of my son. Wonderful school in a very family oriented town!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2010

Cold, defensive, fixated on tests, lacks an open dialog with parents. The school lacks a creative learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2009

Riddle Brook is simply an outstanding school. The teachers are excellent and go beyond what is expected. They engage, challenge and make learning fun for the students - and expectations are high. There are superior services for special needs students in place, and the entire atmosphere is child-centered and welcoming. Parent involvement is encouraged and is a strength. Principal McCarthy sets a terrific tone and there are lots of special touches that make elementary school magical for the students who are lucky enough to attend. I can't say enough about this school, the faculty and staff and the administration. The kids perform well in standardized testing for a reason. My children love this school and we are 100% behind it! And Bedford, as a district, puts its money where its mouth is - it is well funded and guided by terrifically smart people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

Great school! Organized staff, informative teachers, friendly faculties, caring voluteers, clean place, secured school..can't say enough, just love it! I love the structural activities and the way teachers has their own special ways to enhance the kids in academic. It's great that teachers show the kids that learning is fun not something they must do. My kids can't get enough of the place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2007

Caring teachers, excellent facilities, varied extracurricular activities, and an involved community. Can't say enough about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2007

My son has attended Riddle Brook for 1st and 2nd grades and we could not ask for a better experience. Caring teachers, wonderful communication, and a smarter kid are what we've gotten. Great place!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

133 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2012.

133 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
98%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

126 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2012.

126 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
92%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
Female98%
Male94%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
White (non-Hispanic)98%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability63%
Without educational disability100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Non-migrant96%

Reading

All Students92%
Female96%
Male88%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
White (non-Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability54%
Without educational disability96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Non-migrant92%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female87%
Male93%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability54%
Without educational disability93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Non-migrant89%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a

Reading

All Students92%
Female97%
Male90%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability82%
Without educational disability94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Non-migrant92%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 90%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Asian 1% 3%
Black 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 3%N/A25%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

230 New Boston Rd
Bedford, NH 03110
Phone: (603) 471-1082

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Memorial School
Bedford, NH



Parker-Varney School
Manchester, NH




Gossler Park School
Manchester, NH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT