Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Beaver Meadow School

Public | PK-5 | 396 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 14, 2010

I can not say enough about Beaver Meadow School where my grandson attends he is in 3rd grade and his teachers have been very supportive to him. I really love the fact that the school has family night I think that he has grown socially. His education has been fostered by teachers and staff that truly are compassionate about what they do. I can only wish that he continue to have teachers that have taken an interest in the child and not just a statistic to be judged by.


Posted March 29, 2010

I can't say enough about this school. My oldest son started here in the 1st grade. He couldn't read when he first started. He didn't even know most of his sounds. They worked with him in reading, math, and speech through first and second grade. Once he was able to read, he excelled in math. He also was reading at grade level by the end of 1st grade and at a 5th grade level at the end of 2nd grade. He is now in 8th grade and an honor student. The teachers at Beaver Meadow took the time to help my child reach his potential. When I bought a house my first requirement was that we stay at Beaver Meadow. We didn't even look at houses in other districts. We now have a 4th grader and a preschooler at Beaver Meadow. I would never send my children anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2008

Beaver Meadow is a well put together school but I think that some of the teachers need more improvment, I think that they should choose the consequences more carefully. Honestly the Special ed' classes there are great in gerneral I must say. It's not a perfect school cause it has some flaws, But I would say that this school is generally a great learning environment.


Posted October 31, 2008

This is our 3rd school district and by far the worst. External support for the teachers is minimal so they do not have adequate time to spend with a student if they need it. There is also a lack of collaboration so resources that should be available to students and teachers are not. The student teacher ratio is also not 16. There are 23 students in my sons class and his friends have similar ratios.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2007

Our family was so lucky to have moved to such a great school. We started at Beaver Meadow when our oldest was in the 1st grade. I cannot say enough about this school. Our school has a musical performance every year. Any child who wants to participate can. It's amazing. It's like watching a Broadway performance. My son has come out of his shell because of this. The teachers are wonderful. We hope to buy a house this year. My first requirement is that our new house be in the Beaver Meadow District!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2006

My two girls will be attending beaver meadow. One is in 5th grade the other one is in K's. I have never seen so many great caring staffs. WE moved from a nother town when my daughter was in 1st grade and they discover right away she could not read good. The school spend more time with her and help her improved by 2nd grade she was reading level 5 book. I am truely greatful and look forward to have all my four children attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2005

I have had experience with several other Concord schools and find Beaver Meadow to have the most caring staff and best integrated programs of all of them. Art and music and reading and math are incorporated into all phases of learning, and I have seen countless cases of intervention in cases of bullying, etc. In every school you have a few parents who didn't get their way and bad mouth every part of the school. Beaver Meadow children are encouraged to excel in all aspects of their lives and are very confident, well rounded 6th graders when they move on to Rundlett. Of course there are some affluent children, but there are many, many who are not - ever seen all those apartment buildings? There are many immigrants who are welcomed in to the building with open arms and hearts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2005

This school is wonderful! I have never experienced a school so academically advanced and still arts oriented. My child thrives in this environment where education is paramount and opportunities to nurture talent and individualism are everywhere. The principal is caring and kind, the art and music departments are stellar and renowned, due in every part to the instructors. I would pay to have my child attend Beaver Meadow. And it would be worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2005

I think Beaver Meadow is a great school. My second grader has blossomed over the two years at Beaver Meadow. He has an IEP and gets extra help. I have not had a problem.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 1, 2005

I've had nothing but problems with this school, and it's administration. It would seem that because it's failing so miserably, the hasten to try and fault the 1/3 of the enrollment who are failing. When they score last in langiage arts, and second to last in math, it's an endictment of the faculty, NOT the children. My child is being pulled, along with several others that I know, to attend private school, or to be homeschooled. Pathetic is not a strong enough word for this school. I cannot believe that this behavior is allowed to go on with the superintendant's blessing. My tax dollars at work, and a government school at it's finest. Truly a sad day for Concord, and it's children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2004

Because Beaver Meadow is in an affluent part of Concord, people tend to assume it is a great school. It is not. This school has the highest number of reported bullying incidences and the principle is irrepsonsible. I would definitely not recommend this school if your child needs any type of special education services. Due to recent budget cuts, the school is cutting even more staff, which I imagine would lead to even more of a decline in service. Test scores are not everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

71 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
69%

2009

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2012.

71 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
65%

2009

 
 
60%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

53 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
64%

2009

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2012.

53 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
56%

2009

 
 
52%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

62 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
60%

2009

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

61 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
56%

2009

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2012.

61 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
45%

2009

 
 
55%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female50%
Male64%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
White (non-Hispanic)57%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged67%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability15%
Without educational disability68%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English58%
Non-migrant58%

Reading

All Students56%
Female50%
Male61%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
White (non-Hispanic)60%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Non-economically disadvantaged69%
Title I program (current)20%
With educational disability31%
Without educational disability62%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English58%
Non-migrant56%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female57%
Male70%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability72%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English68%
Non-migrant64%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a

Reading

All Students69%
Female56%
Male80%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%
Non-migrant69%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
Female73%
Male50%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability10%
Without educational disability69%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English62%
Non-migrant60%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students64%
Female73%
Male57%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability20%
Without educational disability73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English65%
Non-migrant64%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Writing

All Students45%
Female69%
Male26%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)44%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Non-economically disadvantaged53%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability10%
Without educational disability51%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English45%
Non-migrant45%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 90%
Asian 5% 3%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Black 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A25%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

40 Sewalls Fall Rd
Concord, NH 03301
Phone: (603) 225-0853

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Shaker Road School
Concord, NH


Eastman School
Concord, NH


Walker School
Concord, NH



Serendipity School
Concord, NH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT